Ratings based on 784 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Va

Anniversary celebration at St Thomas

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Beautiful beach with fine snorkeling.
Cons: Rooms often not cleaned until after 4 pm, food is expensive (but good), out of caffinated coffee packs (in rooms) for entire stay (so had to buy it).
Location: Nothing within walking distance. We rented a car to explorer the island, but liked the Marriott resort the best.
Nice hotel with a beautiful beach and plenty of amenities (multiple pools, restaurants tennis courts, shuttles, and ocean activities). If we ever return to St Thomas, we would likely forgo the rental car and take a taxi between the resort and airport. If we decided to go downtown, we would take the ferry or a taxi. However, I doubt we would leave the resort except maybe for an excursion to St John. We didn't make it to St John this time as the beaches were red flagged due to strong winds and currents (so we didn't bother going). One major benefit to the Marriott was that, while most beaches on St Thomas were red flagged, the Marriott beach was relatively calm (due to its location). We rented a car to explorer the island and most beaches were too rough for snorkling. Just bad timing for us as we love to snorkel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, but service was not great.

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Location, but only if you are in the rooms on the beach (not the main hotel).
Cons: Service and cleanliness.
Absolutely loved the location - we were in the rooms right on the beach. However, the rooms were dated, not very clean and the service was mediocre at best. Great food at the restaurants, but very expensive. Check-in was slow, not friendly and we got our room at 4.15, even though they asked us our arrival time so that we could get early check-in. Intention was there but they did not follow through. Very unhelpful and didn't help us with our cases even though we had to walk up a flight of stairs to our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Second time to the resort best on the island! I will be back in fall!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous property

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Gorgeous property. Looks like Marriott is still renovating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Family vacation

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: The view all day is stunning and at night even better. It is also fun to see the cruise boats go by at night. They seem majestic in the dark.
Cons: They could clean their bathroom floors a little better.
Location: The Island also has many places to visit and restaurants to sample.
There was something to do for all of us. Plenty of choices for breakfast, lunch and dinner that were all a little different depending on your taste at that moment. But our favorite was the Sand Bar's grilled shrimp tacos. Also, many options at the hotel on the beach. There are paddle boats, kayaks and my sons took out the jet skis. It rained every day sometimes more than others but it didn't bother us. The best day we had was renting a boat and exploring St. John with a captain. Great beaches to snorkel, have lunch or dive with turtles. Also, you do not need a passport to visit St. Thomas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC area

We got what we came for: the beach and the food.

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: The beach is the real reason to stay at the Morning Star. It’s beautiful! It is well tended with lots of chairs and umbrellas.
Cons: Service at the resort ranged from surly to spectacular. Service at Coco Joe’s tended toward surly; the wait staff at Blue Havana were all excellent.
Location: Enjoy the nearby hot-tub as well as the included beach activities. I strongly recommend the VI-Cat Dinner Cruise which departs from the hotel's dock.
The Marriott Morning Star is a series of multi-room villas right on the beach. Just walk down some stairs and you’re in the sand. While convenient to the beach, the first-floor beachside rooms have mostly a view of bushes and lack privacy. If you’re inclined to sit on your balcony, you’ll see loads of folks walking by on their way to the beach or the restaurants. We were assigned a first-floor room but moved to a third-floor room with an excellent view of the water. There’s a nice pool nearby with a large hot tub. Additional pools are available at the Marriott Resort, just a short walk up from the beach. You’ll enjoy seeing iguanas on your way to the waterfall or to the main resort. The beach is the real reason to stay at the Morning Star. It’s beautiful! It is well tended with lots of chairs and umbrellas. On the beach, you’ll find games for kids as well as kayaking, paddle boarding, jet skis and other beach amusements. Snorkels, flippers, masks, and floats are all included in the resort fee. Our Morning Star sleeping room was adequate. Pretty much a typical hotel room. Bed, desk, small bathroom. The door to the balcony jammed frequently and the bathroom seemed to be overdue for a deep cleaning. Our icemaker was broken as was our neighbor’s but we could fill our ice bucket at the nearby Coco Joe’s restaurant. The room’s air-conditioner sounded like a jet engine so we just shut it off at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Poor reservation experience

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Private beach was nice, the restaurants were really good, but expensive. Breakfast buffet averaged 30 dollar per person, dinner around 50 dollars.
Cons: better communication between reservation staff and the travel agency
Location: Red hook on east island, avoid kioki beach if cruise ships are in port, nowhere to lay on the beach, extremely crowded.
I have 3 children, I had requested a room (Through Expedia), with 2 double beds, when we arrived, we were given a room with one king size bed. The hotel representative denied reserving a room with 2 beds, even though I received an email confirming a room with 2 full size beds. We were provided with a "roll away" bed that was extremely uncomfortable. The hotel staff blamed Expedia for the reservation snafu, when I contacted expedia, they claimed the hotel had reserved the double bed room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Be careful

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Excellent location million dollar views Room had roaches Some of the stuff were very supporting others not so caring We had to changed rooms on day number 3 We also had to pay a reasort fee of 49.99 per day that was not disclosed on our original booking Very disappointed to say the least
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Cons: Need to have early check out
Wonderful But need to have a early Che k out so we dont have to wait for a room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Nice location - great beach

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: Beach access was very good - staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Cons: Better options for food....food and drink prices were very high.
Location: Expensive to take a taxi - per person instead of per car. Red Hook was an interesting location and we used a tour boat {Bad Kitty] that was great.
Room was somewhat small and the air conditioner was very loud....the overall resort feel was good but the variety of food offerings at the restaurants was limited. Overall - it was pleasant and the beaches and beautiful water made the difference