Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago,IL

I have been a repeat customer for years!

Posted Mar 25, 2017
I love the location (Red Hook) very peaceful and beautiful. Private pool is a big plus. Absolutely everything anyone would want.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Very Disappointed!!!

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: not much!!
Cons: New bed, pillows,and stairs out of the pool.
Location: Some decent restaurants but driving there is like taking your life in your own hands with the narrow winding roads that need repair of many potholes.
When we arrived we were told "the power was off but would be back on in an hour or so" This seems to happen quite often due to the type of old power station setup on the island. The receptionist was not welcoming at all and seemed annoyed to help with any assistance asked of her. The young lady that was there the next day was wonderfully professional and helpful though. The pool was refreshing but some rust scattered in sections and tiles loose and falling off with a very old loose ladder to get out with. The bed felt like it was 30 years old with a sink in the middle and awful pillows included. Did love the outdoor private shower! The chickens and the roosters were the most annoying all day long!! They also leave droppings on the walkways so look out! Go anywhere else! It was not worth all the money we spent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Might be a better match for another family

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: The staff The privacy offered by the villas Having a personal pool
Cons: The restaurant hours and menu The overall appearance of the rooms (the furniture is new, but the walls and all need a refresh)
Location: Near Red Hook and several of the upscale resorts and beaches (Lindquist, Coki, etc). Red Hook has several casual restaurants like Duffy's Love Shack.
I think this hotel is probably a great fit with small families with two kids who are say 5 and up. The furniture has been refreshed since the photos on their site and there were two leather couches in the living area that folded down into beds. The king sized bed was very soft. The shower is huge (no tub) but partially shielded and outdoors. The pool is about 22' x 8' and it did get quite deep on the one end, at least 6'. The restaurant (Vicars) listed on their site closed in November 2016 and was replaced by a Lime, which is a tapas bar open 4-10pm and supposedly also offers brunch on Sunday. Overall, the staff were AMAZING and very helpful, but we were traveling with an 18 month old so in the end this wasn't the best match for us. It is close to Red Hook which has ferry service to the other islands and several casual restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Newark, DE

Comfort and Privacy - our own pool!

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Friendly efficient staff. The Lime Restaurant was a bit eclectic, but we enjoyed their tapas menu and Sunday brunch. Nice Happy Hours.
Cons: Our unit was a bit dated, but clean. We enjoyed a nice welcome basket upon arrival.
Location: We had a car and it was an easy drive to Red Hook. We enjoyed morning walks through the hills to the beach. An easy walk to Sapphire Beach.
We returned to Pavilions & Pools after have stayed there 12-13 years ago. The unit and pool were immaculate, but in need of some updates.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Q Nebraska

Posted Feb 18, 2017
I would say it was one of the more decent hotels on the Island. The beach was a little walk and our room had a foul odor. The bugs are awful but overall it was a lot better than what we experienced on the rest of the Island.
5 out of 5
by ryan

Great restaurant on property

Posted Feb 4, 2017 on Hotels
We arrived and the clerk was out. The chef from vicars ( bar restaurant on property ) got it cleared from the owner to serve us !! It was 3 hours before they opened. Just amazing!! Everyone on the property was kind and attentive. Just be aware prices change rim can to cab. I will definitely stay again !!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabams

Nice place to stay

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Very nice Villa's, only problem was the pool was cold Everytime we went to get in. Heater was broke.. other than that everything was excellent
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Love this place. From now on, this is where we will stay when we visit St. Thomas. A hidden gem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place!

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Awesome place within walking distance to one of the nicest beaches on the island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

This is your second home

Posted Jul 26, 2016
If you want your privacy plus closeness to a half dozen beautiful beaches and restaurants, this place is for you. We stayed for 4 nights and even though the place is not fancy, it's perfect in so many ways. It's quiet, you get your own personal pool (if you choose to), there are a dozen restaurants less than 5 minutes away plus they have an outdoor restaurant/bar with exceptional food on the property. Loved it!!!