Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place!

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Awesome place within walking distance to one of the nicest beaches on the island.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

This is your second home

Posted Jul 26, 2016
If you want your privacy plus closeness to a half dozen beautiful beaches and restaurants, this place is for you. We stayed for 4 nights and even though the place is not fancy, it's perfect in so many ways. It's quiet, you get your own personal pool (if you choose to), there are a dozen restaurants less than 5 minutes away plus they have an outdoor restaurant/bar with exceptional food on the property. Loved it!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Excellent destination

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: The combination of apartment and pool gives something special to Pavilions.
Cons: Some of the mosquito nets / doors could do with renovation. The brightness of the room (after sunset) could also be slightly improved.
Location: I hired a car to be able to explore the island and visit other beaches etc. Sapphire beach remains one of my favourites, for the varied sea life.
Our stay at Pavilions and Pools was excellent. The accommodation matched our expectations and the reception staff went beyond their call of duty to welcome us, answer our queries and make our stay as comfortable and idyllic as possible. Sapphire beach is easily accessible via a private road (5-7 minutes relaxing walk). I would therefore disagree with a previous reviewer who mentioned that the accommodation is far from the beach. In Red Hook, at close distance from Pavilions, one can find restaurants, bars, a lovely coffee shop and Moe’s Fresh Market.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Great Honeymoon cottage

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: a little building maintenance is required
Location: Things were easy and inexpensive to get to. You could ride the Shuttle to the beach for $1 each way or go into the capital or Red Hook,for $2 each way
Very romantic, total privacy, great view & pool was especially nice as you could almost roll out of bed into it and there was nobody to notice you. The pool used processed ocean water and was cleaned and maintained everyday by the pool man. This type of water was really great for my skin, almost therapeutic but even better you could use it any time you wanted in total privacy. It was our Honeymoon and exactly the type of place I had always wanted to go and stay.
3 out of 5
by harry k.

ok

Posted May 16, 2015 on CheapTickets
the room we stayed in was just ok. im sure there are really nice rooms at this place
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Nice place, unique setup with Private pools!

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: Location and unique private pool setup. Easy walk or ride to very nice, but NOT crowded, beaches. Made us old married folks feel like honeymooners.
Cons: The hotel has two wings. One wing with smaller rooms is right by the busy road. The wing with the larger rooms is away from the road and quieter.
Location: Several good restaurants in Red Hook, with ferry port to St. John. Uncrowded beaches are either a short quiet walk or a short ride away. (More above)
When we tried to check in we discovered that we were victims of cancelled reservations, but they quietly fixed things by giving us a surprise upgrade us without telling us. It is a special place. Every room has a private pool, as in skinny dipping, right outside your BR or LR. The sitting/sunning area is also private. The rooms are nice and comfortable. The bathroom is outside, but private, also. There is a very nice open air restaurant/bar right at the hotel with good food. There is a 5 minute walk to the wonderful beach, part of a related property. The location is about a 3 minute, inexpensive, safari bus ride to the community of Red Hook, where there are various good restaurants. The nearby ferry to St. John leaves from Red Hook. Other very nice beaches are nearby, but require a rental car, taxi or safari bus ride. (Walking on the narrow, winding road is dangerous since there are no sidewalks or pedestrian paths.) Getting to Charlotte Amalie is best done by safari bus. We had a wonderful time, very relaxing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Dated but excited about private pool.

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: It's privacy.
Cons: Get a back up generator!!!
Location: Didn't have time to find out.
We were excited to experience Pools and Pavillions, but the night we got there the entire Island had a power outage and they did not have a back-up generator. We waited it out one night, but when it didn't come back on, and we had no water to even flush toilets, we left and went to the Marriott, who did have a back up generator. Thank God!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, Tennessee

20th Anniversary Trip

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Clean, comfortable, access to bar/restaurant on sight, private pool...and the staff was wonderful!
Cons: The pool and the interior walls needed cosmetic repairs.
Location: Located 10 minutes from Red Hook and 10 minutes from Coki Beach...and a short walk to Sapphire Beach...food in Red Hook and Bolongo Bay (30) minutes.
Sweet but older hotel Near but not really at Sapphire Beach. It was an easy walk but a little unsightly due to garbage dump. The rooms themselves were very clean and modern but some of the walls were cracked and the pool tile was stained. All that said, we loved the place! From the happy hour and restaurant to the free range chickens out back, we thoroughly enjoyed the staff, the location and the fullly stocked room. We enjoyed breakfast from the complimentary fare in our room and drove to Red Hook or Bolongo Bay for dinner. Easy access to the front desk for information and beach towels. We loved the small saltwater pool outside our glass doors with privacy fence around...great place to relax after a day at the beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Everything you need

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Nice staff room has everything you need pool grill kitchen living area bedroom two Tvs radio etc
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel depending on the room you get.

Posted Jan 29, 2015
We had a beautiful newly renovated room, but some of the other rooms looked a little out dated. Since the are privately owned villas I think it depends on the room you get. the restaurant was really good. The only issue was we thought we had booked a king bed and got a queen bed.