Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Pros: Amazing views
It was a very pleasurable experience! The views from my room were so refreshing and relaxing along with the cool breeze coming in at all times throughout my stay!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Bery disappointed!!

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Terrible service. Hate the moving from room to room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

The VIEW

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: BEAUTIFUL view.
Cons: Bathroom lighting
Location: Grocery store and KMart about 5 minute drive from the hotel. Main Street (lots of jewelry) 15 mins walk. Take a bottle of water.
Short trip but lovely. The Staff were pleasant and helpful. Spent much of my stay looking out at the harbor. The grounds are well kept and its very quite. Breakfast by the pool was really nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland ME

One night

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Visited Charlotte Amalie. Watched the boats and yachts.
We stayed only one night but would of had stayed longer if not for prior commitments. Staff was very professional, attentive when needed, and let you enjoy yourselves. Room was much nicer than we expected with great views, comfortable bed and kitchenette with /washer/dryer - a total surprise. Washer/dryer would have come in handy if this was the middle/end of our trip rather than first day. Extremely quiet and peaceful. Felt safe. Nice thing is that it is on a hill overlooking the bay. Disadvantage to this is that you either have to walk up/down to get to town or take a taxi. We, in our late 50's, walked down and hiked back up which certainly gave us our exercise! We would certainly recommend Bluebeards to anyone looking for a central location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Very nice hotel.

Posted Dec 6, 2014
This is a very nice hotel with comfortable and quiet rooms. The view on the bay is really great. My only critics are regarding the room service that is only scheduled twice a week and the odd location of the office that doesn't allow to drive to To check-in, you need to park at the bottom of the hill and walk to the office.The parking closes to the stair being reserve for the hotel should be reserve for 15 min guess to check-in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place for a reasonable price.

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Stayed there for one night before my flight out of St. Thomas. The room was large, clean, and quiet. The air conditioner was not a in window unit so it was very quiet compared to most. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It's a short walk into town so a car is not needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Central Florida

Easy Check-in, Room better than expected!

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Loved having a washer/dryer to do laundry during a 9 day trip! The views from the room were impressive.
Cons: Not much that I can think of. The rate was great and the room was beautiful....what can be improved?
Location: It is a long walk to town on a rather busy road and limited sidewalks, so plan on taking a cab or renting a car. It is located on a steep hill
The staff at check in were very friendly and helpful. The room at Pirates Pension (Calypso) had a Queen Bed, a Pull Out couch with a real mattress, washer & dryer, a huge bath, a kitchenette with everything you need for light meals, plus an incredible view! I knew this room would be quite a hike up to the pool and restaurant, but an easier walk to Yacht Haven Grande where I had meetings every day. Called the front desk to order a taxi pickup right at my room whenever I needed it, and they were very prompt. The bellhops use golf carts to deliver you and you bags to the room, or to pick you up for check out, so you don't have to lug your bags uphill. Overall, one of my best stays in St. Thomas....I travel there on business quite a bit and I will be returning to Pirate's Pension! Much nicer and newer rooms than the other buildings on the property.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Clean, nice interior

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: clean, nice rooms on a hill with a nice view of the harbour. Cons: drive to the beach Long walk or a drive from reception to the room building. Once we got to the building had to walk 3 flights of stairs to get to the room, not good with 3 luggage and baby. To make things worse, called for help on chek out for luggage and drive to the reception, they sent this tiny old female (with rings all over her body) for help (no more than a 100 lbs). Meanwhile I had to walk 3 flights of stairs with baby, 3 luggage and a stroller with car seat - what were they thinking - had to carry all but the small luggage between me and my wife ). Balcony door would't open (even though they sent maintenance guy promptly), In the morning, good luck with reaching reception through phone, more than 20 minutes of busy line until I got to someone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from V

Excellent Hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
This hotel was perfect! Great views and a pretty good location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice views and central location

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Was pleasantly surprised about the quality, space and location of the Bluebeard Castle hotel. I was very happy with the space and facilities within the unit. I traveled for business this week, but will positively come back here with family.