Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Julie

Convenient and outdated

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
We were in unit B103 - which had not be updated in 20 years. Broken safe, broken hair dryer, no dishwasher, limited glasses and utensils, leaking dehumidier, mold on inside of bathroom door, awful saggy mattress on the pull out sleeper. This unit needs some TLC. There is no lobby to this property. The pictures on the website to do not depict the room that we stayed in. We paid a premium price to stay here over the holidays and did not get our monies worth. I would rate this a 2.0 property. Definitely not a 3.1.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Third time i have stayed there, love it

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Location: Food Center is great for grocery shopping, the beach is right there, good for a morning walk/run, Red Hook has decent food and night life.
we have a child with special needs and the condo-type set up is perfect for us and for him. I love that the location is close to Red Hook and close to a Walgreens etc. The beach is great. You're independent in the setting, it's quiet, easy for long stay and short. Overall a great place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Pros: Not really equipped like a hotel.
Cons: Only bath soap provided-needs shampoo, etc. Coffee maker provided, but no coffee, tea, cream, etc. Seems to always be under construction.
Would be good for small family or week-long stay, but not for overnight. Not equipped like a regular hotel. Set up more for long-term stay where you'll be bringing all your supplies and amenities. We stayed in a Harbor View room and our view was of construction workers working right outside our room cleaning large tarps.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable property and only issue was the furniture in the room. Too large for main floor and patio, but overall it was very comforttable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Desert California

Beachfront stay!

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Cons: The condo was stayed at was great, except for the sleeping, the beds were not comfortable at all. Need to be upgraded.
Loved the stay! Experienced visiting other beaches, Sapphire Beach Condo at the Marina's beach was top notch. Lots of coral reefs to snorkel with beach amenities!. We stayed in a condo on the 1st floor, cute place. Loved the fact that it had a full kitchen, so we didn't have to eat out all the time. The bar had great food and drinks, all outside by the beach also. Staff was wonderful and hardworking. Would suggest Sapphire anytime!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is perfect, hotel is disappointing

Posted Aug 19, 2016
On the beach,dirty rooms,bad beds, abandoned looking grounds and yes UNDER CONSTRUCTION,noise and no public places open, no restaurant on premises, not even a reception area to welcome and inform you .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tampa, Florida

Close to the beach, but rooms were gross...

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: The view of the marina, the beach was very nice.
Cons: The entire building and units in the building we were in need complete renovation. Additionally, at least put a vending machine for water...
Location: Red Hook is the local town. It is nice but a bit sketchy. We took the ferry to St. John and went to most of the beaches on St. Thomas.
The only amenity on the entire site was a grille that was open 9:00 A.M. to 3:00 P.M. Otherwise, nothing - no vending machines, no restaurant, no gift shop. Our first room was so disappointing... it was gross, dirty, and we had no WIFI or telephone service for the first four days, before they finally moved us to another room. The main difference in the second room was at least the phone and WIFI worked. In both rooms, there was rust everywhere, exposed plumbing, exposed wires... I tried contacting Expedia several times but had no service and if it did go through, they ignored it. The view was nice but the unit, and the building, were close to being uninhabitable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is within a few feet from the beach

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Hotel staff was great. Beds were not exactly what were expected. Need updated appliances on kitchen.
4 out of 5
by Bruce from Flower Mound, Texas

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
A group of us stayed here for Boy Scout sailing adventure at Sea Base. The resort was perfect for our needs. The rooms were large enough to fit all the scouts and right next to the marina where we met our boat. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for families

Posted Jun 18, 2016
We had a villa duplex. So the kids stayed downstairs w own bathroom, full kitchen, tv sofa bed and L shaped corner balcony. We had upstairs studio w bathroom and w balcony. What was surprising is that they gave us all snorkel gears and there was no additional per diem fee that hotels usually charge. Sapphire resort is the one of the best we have stayed in the carribean. I wish they had a functioning restaurant, but we went shopping and cooked in. A lot of the common areas are under renovation but it does not stop you from having a great stay.