Ratings based on 805 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from huntsville, al

Quiet hotel with a great beach

Posted Jun 24, 2017
The best part of secret harbour is the beauty of the bay and view from the rooms. The restaurant was also one of the best on the island. Our only complaints were the hot water from the shower and the stiffness of the mattress, minor complaints in a beautiful resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel on a quiet bay

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Great views. Clean rooms. Polite staff. The beach is perfect for quiet snorkeling and sunbathing. There are taxis and buses everywhere so getting around is easy. This resort is also located a short distance from the ferries for day tripping over to St John. We would love to go back to Secret Harbor Resort. If there was only one suggestion I would make is the food from the cafe /bar. One of our fish tacos was bad ( spoiled), it wasn't eatable, and the chicken jerky was very dry. They need to improve for the food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Rough start but we survived, pick your room wisely

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: Beach location and convenience to things
Cons: Some of the rooms and update the outside of the hotel
...Just take the time to read it all before you make your decision...We planned our trip to secret harbor in February. After reviewing the pictures and pricing we felt it was good pick for us. This was our first trip away without the kids. It was my Christmas present to my wife. We rented the studio room because we figured we wouldn't be doing much but sleeping there. Upon arrival we were kind of shocked at the room we were given. Walking up to the room the screen door was hanging off the hinges and from that point we new we were in for a surprise. Upon going into our room we found dirty footprints on the wall, dead bugs n the bed, dirty toilet, the bed was uncomfortable, etc. shocking after what we had seen and read of the place. So we didn't have a choose and extremely tired we stayed 1 night in the room. I was embarrassed really my wife had to stay in that room. THE NEXT MORNING: I went to the office and was getting a better room or leaving. Upon letting the staff know the situation they did accommodate me and gave me another room, although they charged me a large sum per night to switch rooms which I felt unfair due to the circumstances. NOW, moving to the other room it was exactly what we had expected. the room was extremely nice and taken care of. It was exceptional and was such a relief because I was truly worried our trip was ruined. The view was great and the beach is well managed, just get your spot early especially if the ships come in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted May 14, 2017
Cons: need more music during happy hour
Hotel Staff were friendly and courteous and the food was good. Some of the rooms were updated and nice, the room we stayed in needed to be updated. The beach was beautiful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Perfect place to relax with morning coffee

Posted May 14, 2017
Perfect place to relax with morning coffee On our deck or a drink at night all the while listening to the ocean! Beautiful spot for snorkeling too!! Close to ferry at red hook and go to Moes for groceries!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Wonderful

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: Not actually a hotel. More condo style.
Cons: A shuttle would be nice. Transportation to get around is a little pricey.
Location: Nice location nestled in the harbor. You can dive, snorkel, sail board, sail boat, play tennis, swim in the ocean, swim in the pool.
This was our second trip to Secret Harbour and we will definitely be going again. Beach is pristine, all staff is beyond kind, courteous and accommodating. Great place to go if you want to relax and enjoy the beauty of the island. The housekeeping staff is outstanding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

amazing beachfront location

Posted May 10, 2017
Best snorkeling on the island! Beach is beautiful! Near the red hook area with lots of restaurants, gourmet grocery store, and the ferry to St. John. Taking the ferry to St. John is a must!!!! Breathtaking island!! Wonderful trip! We loved every minute!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Excellent vacation spot--cozy and relaxing!

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: On the beach; beautiful views; 2 restaurants and a bar on site; helpful, friendly staff
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Beachfront; dive shop on premises offers kayaks, scuba diving, snorkeling, paddleboarding, and more. 2 restaurants, bar, and 5 minutes from town
My husband I stayed at Secret Harbour for a second honeymoon, and we were NOT disappointed! Our condo was beautiful, and we were literally 23 steps from our patio to the beach (I counted!). The beach had a great vibe...not too busy and everyone was friendly. We were able to lounge beneath our umbrella with resort-provided chairs and towels; a waitress was available to bring drinks to us. The bar and both restaurants were fabulous! Happy hour had great food and drink specials, and we were often treated to live music. We were able to snorkel, kayak, and paddleboard on site and were just 5 minutes away from town where there were many restaurants, bars, and stores. Overall, an incredible stay...we've already inquired about property for sale there!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorado, PR

Great location

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: location to beach and Red Hook/ferry terminal, beach bar area,
Cons: Replace the furniture in unit 214
Location: 5 minute drive to Red Hook/ferry terminal
This hotel was okay. The staff was amazing, our room was awesome in the fact that it was a walkout to the beach on the first floor. VERY disappointed with the furniture in our unit. It was wicker furniture that needed to be replaced a while ago. I didn't feel comfortable sitting on it because it had several stains. The layout of the unit was very nice. The beach bar had a fun vibe. It was very centrally located to get to Red Hook and the ferry. Overall, the hotel was okay, but this unit was definitely not as pictured on the website. Yes, it was literally on the beach, but for the money, it would be nice if the owners would update the furniture. If they did that, it would have been a 5 star place. I would recommend the hotel for the staff and hotel itself, but not necessarily this room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Great location and snorkeling right off the shore. The room was clean and big enough for 2 adults and 2 teenagers with the pullout and rollaway beds also provided. Restaurant on site was fair and convenient. Close to Red Hook for easy ferry access when island hopping.