Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mpls, Mn

The pictures are not accurate

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: I was afraid to venture outside...I should have called a taxi and left but I had prepaid by room on the Internet
Not in good or acceptable condition...unsafe feeling neighborhood..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A room with a view

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is fine for what we needed, one night stay before heading back home. It is located on a hill side and has a great view to the harbor. The rooms are very modest, but clean. The services minimal. Staff was friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from baltimore

Horrible accomodations

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: I hated everything.
Cons: Customer service and housekeeping could be greatly improved.
Location: Hotel located on mountain close to airport
This was the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. My flight was cancelled and we had to find a hotel at the last minute. The entirety of bed linens were covered in weird stains. Comforter was dirty, so I refused to sleep in bed; slept in a plastic chair. Couch was covered in dark stains, and there was no hot water. Bugs littered the floor, so it was clear that they hadn't cleaned. Upon check out, they refused to issue a receipt. They took a photocopy of license and credit card number which was sketchy. When they tried to give a receipt, it was a printout without any numbers. (Showed 0.00) would not recommend to anyone. One of the workers stumbled out of the room behind the welcome desk and she smelled of marijuana. Totally despicable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sunset gardens review

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: The view was nice, it was nice that it has a full kitchen , just would have been nice to know ahead of time.
Cons: Hot water and new shower heads anything to improve water pressure for the showers. At least a snack machine,
Location: Up on the hill makes for a good view but if you don't have a car taxi fare will be a added expese
The hotel was ok, staff was very accomadating , rooms were clean, just don't plan on taking a hot shower, the hot water was nowhere to be found and the water pressure in the shower was a trickle. There is also nothing on site as far as places to eat or even anything to buy for even a snack. So if you want anything to eat at the room make sure you bring it with you You definitely would want to have a car nothing is within walking distance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No where to eat

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Taxis are expensive in St Thomas. With the cost of taxis to dinner and breakfast added your better off staying closer to town. Taxis will cost you $5 per person each way. So for two people that's $20 for dinner and again for breakfast. The hotel itself is typical island. Funky design. Don't expect everything to work.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Erie PA

Least expensive happy-tourist stay in St Thomas

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Great view over St Thomas and ocean. Too-small but very clean pool.
Cons: No significant complaints at all, place is old but cheerfully, cleanly painted.
Location: Rent a car for this place or pay taxis. Everything is $20 away by cab. LOTS of shopping down the hill. Must be 3 dozen jewelers. Eat at Tickles.
Cheerful and helpful manager with pleasing personality runs the place. Cabs are expensive in St T and we got rides from her staff person, paying him maybe half the meter rate. Room had cool shaded small balcony. Two rooms each unit. Bedroom air conditioned. Leave doors open: fresh breezes always. We were happy, stayed twice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't Stay Here

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
Kitchenette. Little outdated but not at issue. Curtains that completely covered the windows would have been nice. 2nd day the septic failed. Couldn't sit on balcony because of the smell. The fix was a pump that ran 24-7 so you got to hear sewage swirling around while on the balcony. Screen doors do not fit right and screens torn allowed bugs in at night. Stayed 7 days and only had room/towel service 3 times. Asked 3 times for new towels did not get them. Be careful on the furniture at the pool it is worn out and you might fall over. The residential house below has a women that screams at her kids day and night. This was overpriced for the condition. Would not recommend this to anyone!
4 out of 5
by Dale from Edmonton

Good for the cost

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels
Great location for watching the activity in the harbour or viewing sunsets. Not very practacle for getting anywhere though unless you rent a car. There are no grocery or restrants nearby or sidewalks to walk on. Taxi fares are $7 per person to get to town. What we really liked was the view from the balcony, the fridge for keeping the bear cold and the BBQ in the pool area. What we didn't like was the doors weren't sealed allowing mosquitos in and there were some ants in the kitchen-typical of most low cost accommodations in St Thomas.
2 out of 5
by Kerry from NJ

Got the job done

Posted Feb 10, 2015 on Hotels
It was just for one night, and it got the job done. It had a lovely balcony overlooking the harbor, but the neighborhood is very far removed from anything you would want to be near, and it's at the top of a very long steep hill so walking to town is not a realistic option.
2 out of 5
by hany s.

not what was expected

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on CheapTickets
cheap worn out hotel despite the effort from the owner to fix what ever you tell her..no guaranteed hot water in the morning because they depend on solar power..you need a taxi to go anywhere even to get grocery ,,only pros is the view and the full kitchen.