Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Mar 29, 2017
This hotel is up on a hill as it's an island. The road to the hotel is very narrow so you have to either rent a car or use the taxi service. There's not pedestrian path. Taxis are per person $10. Plus $2-4. Per bag. If your bag can fit on your lap do not allow the taxi driver to put it in the trunk, because he will charge you for it. To get to the beach you have to drive and also go into the town for food. The hotel itself is more for a short stay or budget travel. Wifi Is in common areas or on the patio. Once you go into the room the signal is lost. I think it has to do with the building layout. Check- in seems to be after 3pm for most places. I was given a room even though I arrived early. The lady at check in was very informative and suggested taxi services and places to eat. Seems to me that activities generally surrounded the arrival of a cruise ships. For my preference the water was warm but not hot.I would have rather the choice of controlling how much heat I needed. There are general sounds of island life like the crowing of the birds early in the morning some are close and some are distant sounds The food prices are the same as anyplace in the US. lunch starts at around $15-20. Buy duty free in the town avoid the airport prices I found them to be more in comparison. Just wrap the alcohol in your clothes. The island is generalIy safe watch your items on the beaches. I would stay again but I would rent a vehicle the second time around Left hand driving.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Quaint hotel with pretty nice view.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Once you settle into this villa you begin to appreciate its charms. Nice pool area and the bed was comfortable. Other accommodations sufficed for those us us who have to travel on a budget.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Deb, Hotel Management
Thank you Sara for taking time out of your busy life to write a review. We appreciate your visit and hope to see you again.
2 out of 5
by Timothy B

Yuck

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
For the price total rip off. We we're there just a few hours since we got in late. The manager was friendly and ordered us a cab for the next morning. The room was yuck, it has a kitchen, but we had 4 people. There was coffee but just 2 cups, 2 everything. Two of us slept on hide a bed. It was broken, no springs at end of bed, our feet flopped on the floor. Very very uncomfortable. There were only 2 towels, we had 4 people. There was a live outlet just above the shower head in bathroom. We looked at the little pool.... full of leaves. View from deck was fine.... that was the best thing going for it. Tim
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Quirky place but overpriced

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Balcony and pool
The staff were great, but the room was quite run down. It was clean, but sort of falling apart. It's the kind of thing that, if it cost $50 instead of $155, you'd say it's funky, but a good deal. But when you pay $155 (high season), you would expect less of that funky feel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2017 by Deb, Hotel Management
Hello Kenny, thank you for taking time out of your busy life to write a review. Yes, we are a little funky. I know the price seems a bit much comparatively in high season, we are still about 1/3 the average price for the island. We are constantly trying to upgrade where we can while keeping the rates low.
1 out of 5
by Ivestus

A place not to Go..NOT A MOTEL/HOTEL

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
This property should not be listed as a hotel/motel as those rooms are for locals getting 1night stands....all the linen on the bed was dirty and had to ask owner to place new sheets..had to go to local Kmart to get sheet sets, when i returned all sheets was replaced by management..NASTY PLACE!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good Day, As mentioned the sheets were changed to a brand new set, I did explain that we were having difficulties getting our shipment of new linens. I am so sorry that you were uncomfortable with our guesthouse. We are geared to the economical and offer tremendous value for the islands. We average 1/3 of the average price per room on island and our repeat guest list is awesome., My team works very hard to make your stay as comfortable as possible, which seemed to be the case as you did stay for your entire trip. I am sad to see such low marks and we will try our hardest do better in the future. Deb
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the positive review! We are working hard at getting it all ready for season. Painting Preparations have been completed and with a few dry days we will have some crisp new paint up. Next year look forward to some room upgrades. We are all excited. Hope to see you again for your next visit to Sunny St. Thomas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Roosters crow ALL day long. Do not book here if willing to sleep in or sleep all day
2 out of 5
by latoya from Miami

St. Thomas USVI

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel needs an upgrade...but then again i guess they will raise the price. It was $130 but with added tax from hotels.com, it was $171. WiFi came with the room. But i didn't get a Chance to use it. One of my pillowcases were stained ..miscolored. No paper products in bathroom. Office reaked of cigarette...the view was the best part...i booked a room but got upgraded to a suite with kitchenette.That was great because we were able to make breakfast the next day. The location was great, only a mile from crown bay marina, but the owner referred us to tickles which had Mediocre food. It was 2 miles from the airport. All said..the location and view of the marina was the best thing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT IT!!

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
So you pull up and there is a guy working on his truck, tires off, on the ground..changing his breaks. Mind there are about 6 or so parking spaces. Once past the torn down car you find yourself trying to park..navigating between the rims, tires and a 4 passenger van seat that sits partially against a wall and a parking space.. The room was interesting. We covered the couch with our own beach towels before we sat on down. The TV was in the living area-the stand did not support the TV and it kept tilting sideways and downward. The shower had old soap in the holder, shampoo caps on the floor of the shower, obviously no one had cleaned the shower.. The "suites" overlooked the industrial, lower income area of Charlotte Amalie...Not the nicest.While sitting on the deck, a guest approached us..He was staying in 2B.. thought someone was looking for him, mentioned that some guys where chasing him with guns and he thought they were coming to get him. We felt so uncomfortable that we left. Run down pool deck area with a random fake Christmas tree and an office chair.One sort of good thing, the lady that checked us in was very nice to us.. Save yourself and your family. This place should NOT be in the Hotels.com network...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a beach hotel but nice and clean

Posted Mar 2, 2016
I traveled down to visit a friend and needed a place to stay for a couple nights. This place was nice and clean. Could use some more lighting but other than that I have no complaints.