Ratings based on 437 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Incredible

Posted May 17, 2017
The ONLY bad thing I have to say is about the yogurt and snack place there. The service was slower than a sloth!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lima peru

If in St thomas

Posted May 1, 2017
Nothing Spectacular. Is a good hotel eith excellent personel if you happen to need to spend a night or more in St Thomas. Wouldnt come specially to this hotel for my vacations because theres not much to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

St Thomas - USVI

Posted Apr 29, 2017
It was a beautiful hotel just like the pictures, however there are lots of stairs (my mom has a sore ankle) so that was kind of hard at times. Staff were excellent & attentive. Food was good! Beds were comfy, although I wish there was a comfortable chair in our room, there was just a table with 2 chairs with the double beds so when we wanted to relax in our room we just had to sit on the beds. There was this huge table lamp between our beds so we couldn't even see each other while we were sitting with our backs against the head board. That was annoying, probably should have asked staff to move it. The pool & beach at the resort is beautiful- Just like the pictures! Lots of water activities to enjoy! The hotel will arrange taxis for wherever you would like to go.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

Club level room, activities, etc.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The property is gorgeous and well maintained. Pool is also just wonderful. Rooms are also very nice. It was nice to have a place to go (club) to chill
Cons: Cardio classes with 3 or more people should be held outside. It gets really cramped and isn't fair to others in that small of an exercise room. Spa=$0
Location: Do St. John, have dinner at XO Bistro in Red Hook
At over $1000 / night during spring break, this property just isn't a value. Drinks should be thrown in for free and this $75 fee/day for use of things one may not use is ridiculous. If the property is going to get me because it's spring break, eliminate that fee during that time period. People should be tipped, and we did. The problem is Ritz really rakes you over for everything, so most people don't tip. One can see it on the help's faces. This just punishes people who get paid probably a similar rate regardless of resort. Be nice to the people who have no decision authority! Positive note: All the restaurants are very good. The excursions are probably worth the cost vs. cobbling it together yourself. Unless one is a big eater, big drinker and/or uses the evening finger food for dinner, the club level access is probably not worth it. Have kids over 12? You'll get dinged again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Ritz prices without the Ritz experience

Posted Mar 24, 2017
The service levels simply were not to my expectations. We spent half our trip at Marriotts Frenchman Reef and the 2nd half at the Ritz. I can unequivocally state that when I return to the island Frenchman's will be the hotel of my choice. I have no issue paying the Ritz premium for service but the staff in St Thomas severely lacked attention to detail and enthusiasm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Had a great time at the ritz in St Thomas. Agree with some of the other comments that hotel does need some refreshing to truly be up to ritz standards especially gym facility and beach chairs. Housekeeping a little behind, there were a couple days my husband and I got back from the pool after 4:00 and room was still not clean but quickly addressed. Room service was wonderful and consistent each morning and lunch at Sails was great. We had to travel about 20-30 minutes by cab to find more interesting and overall better dining experiences but cabs are readily available and convenient. Overall it was a great stay and would recommend.
5 out of 5
by tyler

Two Day Overnight on Way to BVI

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here a few days on our way to the BVI and were quite pleased with the hotel and its staff. Our room was very comfortable with a great view, and all staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating. Recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Beautiful area

Posted Feb 8, 2017
You cannot beat the beach at the Ritz-Carlton and the snorkeling in the area is nice too. What I did not like was the food for breakfast at their Buffet totally overrated. They're medium-priced restaurants the pizza shop was decent however staff was very slow to accommodate you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston ma

Power issues

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Excellent staff, good food, nice room overall very nice but we lost power quite a bit the first few days. This was not just a few minutes but hours at a time. This also meant nothing worked including the showers! We just expected that for the price we were paying to stay at the ritz something would have been done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Beautiful hotel with a beautiful, accessible beach

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Setting in the bay is spectacular.
Cons: dessert!
Location: You don't need to venture off unless you want to. We were content to be on property the entire stay.
Everything was wonderful. Room service is an opportunity to improve. It was my wife's birthday so we ordered a simple piece of Ritz Chocolate cake from room service. When it arrived, it was a dried up brownie. The total charge was in the neighborhood of $50. I should have complained at the time, but it was late. That is the only dark spot on a wonderful vacation. The service was wonderful. Everyone was very nice. When I capsized a Hobie Cat, the crew came out to help me and didn't make me feel foolish (which I was).