Ratings based on 410 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paramus, NJ

Amazing stay

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Pros: The best part of my stay was the friendliness of the staff. I also enjoyed the amenities.
Cons: I didn't like that the Infiniti pool was not functional and it had not been functional for a while now.
Location: I didn't venture off the property because I traveled with a baby.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Amazing staff, views, etc. All that I would have expected from the RC, and more!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great atmosphere and the ocean was right there.

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Incredible way to celebrate our anniversary. Friendly staff always ready to accomadate us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Great service, amenities, on-site restaurants and location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Tired hotel but excellent service

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: The service and free rum punch!
Cons: Please, please please update/remodel your rooms.
Location: Taking a water taxi to St John is a must. Not much to do on St Thomas but St John as more to see.
We love staying at the Ritz but were disappointed when we saw the resort and rooms. The resort pool and main beach were closed. I understand that maintenance is needed during non peak season times but I wish we knew before booking. The rooms were really tired, old and beat up. Time to remodel! Fortunately the service was excellent. Ask for Charles! I would only stay at this resort again if they remodel. That said, the service made up of the tired resort facilities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First timers

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Great work staff, always helpful
Location: There are some great resturants close to the hotel and the ones that are on on the property were good as well.
Our first trip to the Caribbean and we choose St Thomas and the Ritz. Our room was fantastic and the staff was always help full and willing to take care of anything. What a great place to sit back and let them take care of you. The beach was wonderful, and the amenities were 1st class all the way.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Great in name only

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The staff was the best part, very warm and friendly.
Cons: I would have better communication with guests about what is open/closed on the property. The food! It was sub-par for the wickedly expensive prices.
Location: At the far east end of the island so Red Hook is close as is St. John. Other than that get a cab or rental car.
Had high, but not too high, expectations for our vacation at the Ritz. We booked what we thought was a decent value for our stay - cost, dates, hotel room, etc. The day before our departure I called to just double check everything was in order and it was. Saw on the website that the infinity pool and 2 restaurants were closed for remodel - that was a bummer as that was a big selling point. We got over it quick enough. Property is nice and clean, safe and secure and the staff was very warm and friendly. Being the Ritz you would think they would have some good food - well, they didn't. We ate dinner there twice in 7 days. Some of the most expensive bland and boring food you'll ever eat. Go off property to one of the many decent restaurants, you'll be happier. Unless of course you like eating expensive, bland and boring food. What a let down. Weather was great and drinks were awesome. Just get drunk and enjoy the scenery.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Beautiful grounds, incredible service, the pool and bar/restaurant was being renovated and they didn't tell us until the night before which was frustrating but the Residence side had a pool that we could use. Drinks and food were overpriced and I wasn't totally impressed with the hotel being as it was a ritz, however the staff definitely made it feel like a 5 star hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from evansville, indiana

Beautiful hotel with most courteous staff.

Posted Sep 11, 2016
We loved our stay at the Ritz St Thomas but was upset to find that the beautiful infinity edge pool closed one day after we arrived so we had to use the adjacent property's pool. It would have been nice to know that before booking! Also we were told they didn't have our room we booked available yet it was slow season! The manager was able to secure our room after one night. Would go back but pool better be open!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Sep 10, 2016
The pool was closed for the entire week without any prior notice some of the staff was nice and polite but thats what you expect when you go to the most expensive hotal on the island and some was very rude and unprofessional The room was very far from the restaurants and every meal was a hiking experience The rooms are great but we didnt come all that way to stay in the room Beware of the scam they running they will tell you you are getting a $100 resorts credit but then they charged you a daily $75 fee without any nonfiction that was very dishonest and o never expected to be hustled by a major hotal like that. Yet again it happen Overall the rooms are great but that was literally the only good thing i am very disappointed especially since they charge you more then twice from way better hotels i visited on st thomad before like the Marriott or Wyndham even the low price emerald beach resort next to the airport gave me a more joyful experience