Ratings based on 433 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

Club level room, activities, etc.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: The property is gorgeous and well maintained. Pool is also just wonderful. Rooms are also very nice. It was nice to have a place to go (club) to chill
Cons: Cardio classes with 3 or more people should be held outside. It gets really cramped and isn't fair to others in that small of an exercise room. Spa=$0
Location: Do St. John, have dinner at XO Bistro in Red Hook
At over $1000 / night during spring break, this property just isn't a value. Drinks should be thrown in for free and this $75 fee/day for use of things one may not use is ridiculous. If the property is going to get me because it's spring break, eliminate that fee during that time period. People should be tipped, and we did. The problem is Ritz really rakes you over for everything, so most people don't tip. One can see it on the help's faces. This just punishes people who get paid probably a similar rate regardless of resort. Be nice to the people who have no decision authority! Positive note: All the restaurants are very good. The excursions are probably worth the cost vs. cobbling it together yourself. Unless one is a big eater, big drinker and/or uses the evening finger food for dinner, the club level access is probably not worth it. Have kids over 12? You'll get dinged again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Ritz prices without the Ritz experience

Posted Mar 24, 2017
The service levels simply were not to my expectations. We spent half our trip at Marriotts Frenchman Reef and the 2nd half at the Ritz. I can unequivocally state that when I return to the island Frenchman's will be the hotel of my choice. I have no issue paying the Ritz premium for service but the staff in St Thomas severely lacked attention to detail and enthusiasm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Had a great time at the ritz in St Thomas. Agree with some of the other comments that hotel does need some refreshing to truly be up to ritz standards especially gym facility and beach chairs. Housekeeping a little behind, there were a couple days my husband and I got back from the pool after 4:00 and room was still not clean but quickly addressed. Room service was wonderful and consistent each morning and lunch at Sails was great. We had to travel about 20-30 minutes by cab to find more interesting and overall better dining experiences but cabs are readily available and convenient. Overall it was a great stay and would recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Beautiful area

Posted Feb 8, 2017
You cannot beat the beach at the Ritz-Carlton and the snorkeling in the area is nice too. What I did not like was the food for breakfast at their Buffet totally overrated. They're medium-priced restaurants the pizza shop was decent however staff was very slow to accommodate you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston ma

Power issues

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Excellent staff, good food, nice room overall very nice but we lost power quite a bit the first few days. This was not just a few minutes but hours at a time. This also meant nothing worked including the showers! We just expected that for the price we were paying to stay at the ritz something would have been done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Beautiful hotel with a beautiful, accessible beach

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Pros: Setting in the bay is spectacular.
Cons: dessert!
Location: You don't need to venture off unless you want to. We were content to be on property the entire stay.
Everything was wonderful. Room service is an opportunity to improve. It was my wife's birthday so we ordered a simple piece of Ritz Chocolate cake from room service. When it arrived, it was a dried up brownie. The total charge was in the neighborhood of $50. I should have complained at the time, but it was late. That is the only dark spot on a wonderful vacation. The service was wonderful. Everyone was very nice. When I capsized a Hobie Cat, the crew came out to help me and didn't make me feel foolish (which I was).
5 out of 5
by Wendy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jodi

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
I honestly expected more from a Ritz Carlton. My room was pretty noisy, I could hear the people in the room next to me with their conversations and early randeveous. The music at the restaurants seemed to be loud and not very tasteful. The good points were that the food was delicious at each restaurant other than breakfast (the coffee was really good however). I also appreciated the ease of renting equipment like the kayaks. Some of the staff were really great, others were pretty absent-minded and unfriendly. One morning I was literally asked 5 times by 2 different people whether I wanted cream or milk with my coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Excellent hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Very personal Food great Beach clean Very good view
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naperville, IL

Great location and attentive staff

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Friendly helpful staff and great location
Cons: As mentioned above having the pool completed.
Location: Good local restaurants and a 5 dollar cab ride to the ferry.
We stayed 8 nights at this Ritz Carlton hotel and enjoyed our stay. The beach was nice with plenty of opportunities to relax and read a book and have a cocktail delivered by the friendly staff. I especially enjoyed the ability to take a sailboat out in the bay. The location made it easy to take a quick cab ride to the St John Ferry. My only issue was that the pool was still under construction. When we booked the trip it was suppose to have been completed by the time we arrived.