Ratings based on 474 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York

Expensive /OK

Posted Jul 27, 2010
The Westin was conveniently located at the airport to pick up our bags for travel on the ferry and to inform us of the location of our room.After arriving at the resort we were greeted with a drink and the concierge desk provided us with our room keys...but surprise surprise I didnt get the 2nd fl like I was told haha..they gave me the ground level...tried to take a nap..no way..there was alot of noise above my head..i went over to the concierge desk and asked about the 2nd fl..of course they didnt give me an answer..but they politely changed my room to a better location. The beach was disappointing ..very small..not much sand..and the water had a lot of boats...not healthy to be swimming in gasoline water...its better to take the taxis to Trunk bay (the best), Cinnamon Bay . Caneel Bay was disappointing for such a top rated location. The B/Fast was $24. pp at the Beach Cafe..if you dont mind its ok..try the Mango deli for cheaper prices..Cruz Prime is top $$. The people are very friendly..they tried to accomodate in their own way. Taxis range from $10.00 -$15 depending where to go.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from St Croix, VI

Slipping

Posted Jul 14, 2010
I have been very impressed with The Westin in years past but the hotel is not what it once was. The towels are threadbare and the service isn't up to the standards that it once was. I would still go back but for the cost I expect more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2010 on Hotels
Location: The caves/baths on Virgin Gorda excursion was fun filled. The attendant and captain were friendly and very knowledgeable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from MB, SC

Nice vacation for mom and 2 boys (14 & 9)

Posted Jun 23, 2010
When we arrived we were greeted with a drink and escorted to our room. Our first room smelled of mildew and old cigarettes. When the front desk was informed of our request for room change, they were very courteous and responded quickly. We were changed to another room in a flash. The resort was magnificent with well kept grounds.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2010 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2010 on Hotels
The hotel may benefit from renovating their rooms; nonetheless, they are still well kept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from reading, ma

decent hotel with nice pool

Posted May 5, 2010
Hotel was nice and what we expected so no real surprises upon arrival. Only complaint about the room is that it would have been nice to have a window you could open or a door with a screen to be able to get some fresh air. Beach wasn't all that great, but we knew that when we booked it based on the pictures and other people's reviews. Some of the other reviews also complained about high costs (food, drink, etc.), but all the islands are expensive. This one is no more expensive than the others with the exception maybe of the cab rides. We had a lot of people in our party so every time we left the hotel, it was a large taxi fare as they charge per person and not per ride. Anyone traveling to St. John should make sure to visit some of the other beaches on the island, which are absolutely beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

Great Stay

Posted Apr 21, 2010
Nice hotel. Very kid friendly, which was great for us. If we were traveling without kids, I may have been annoyed since there were so many kids around. Great grounds, nice restaurants and pool bar. Beach was very nice. Gym was good and free which was nice. All in all we were very happy and would go back. My kids, 11, 9, 7 loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Westchester, NY

Perfect family vacation

Posted Apr 15, 2010
The Westin is the only resort property on St. John suitable for families. They're gorgeous, huge pool keeps the kiddies happy all day long. They run movies by the pool two nights a week which is a great opportunity for parents to chill while kids are having fun. The deli located on the property is a god-send. You can pick up small meals and snacks without having to order from the hotel restaurants. The hotel is a short open air taxi ride from Cruz Bay where you can find great food with beautiful views and lots of shopping. I only wish the casual restaurant on site offered a less expensive option than a $36 buffet every night and we'd eat at the hotel more often.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Raleigh, NC

the perfect getaway

Posted Jan 14, 2010
We were anxious to get away and the trip was all we hoped for and more. We flew standby and had a great experience on American Airlines. From the moment we arrived on property, the Westin was fantastic. The staff was always congenial and our room was right on the beach. Every person, from groundskeeper to restaurant manager went beyond the pail to ensure we had a pleasurable experience. My husband rested and read. My daughter met other kids her age and had a blast. I enjoyed the beach, snorkeling and yoga class. The only thing I might do differently is stay another day. So, I guess I'll have to do it again next year to get it right.