Ratings based on 453 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Just Right

Posted Sep 2, 2009
Great hotel for our family. Kids had great pool and beach + access to smoothies at pool bar. Not crowded since so much property. Well equipped exercise center (renovating spa while we were there). Scuba, snorkling, fishing, etc. were all available. One downside is that they close the beach rentals too early (4:00 p.m.) so you can't take out a Catamaran in the late afternoon - should probably leave open until 6pm. Would recommend rental car to get you to/from town for dinner and to beaches for snorkling. Staff was friendly and helpful. Easy direct ferry service between hotel and St. Thomas. Would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Fort Lee

What a great place

Posted Sep 2, 2009 on Hotels
I loved it.Clean, great food, huge pool...Can't wait to go back
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

First Time, not last

Posted Aug 26, 2009
Was upgraded to 2 BR w/ loft. Great property. Great pool. Beach was great compared to California, but just okay with other St John beaches.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Kennett Square, PA

The wait staff were friendly, accommodating and gave great tips of places to experience!

Posted Aug 22, 2009
We loved our stay in St. John. The hotel was beautiful and comfortable. Movies by the pool were a hit with great sound and visibility. The water excursions available were outstanding, and relaxing at the pool/beach was a pleasure.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Friendly but dirty

Posted Aug 19, 2009
Had high hopes, all the guidebooks said this was the place to stay. Upon arrival, room was full of ants -- the sugar-ants on the ceiling, but more frighteningly, the hundreds of regular ants pouring out of the baseboards next to the dresser. Staff seemed unconcerned & unwilling to help until we pressed. After being up 22 hours straight on 2 hours sleep w/3 kids, we headed to dinner as they promised they would spray the room while we were gone & fumes would be gone by the time we returned with our asthmatic kids. Of course 3 hours later nothing had been done. Called desk again they said they were "out" of the ant spray, as we watched hundreds more come in. This time my husband went to front desk in person & asked to be put in another room. They claimed they were booked solid (in low season in bad economy, as we had passed by the empty pool & empty beach?? I think NOT!). After threatening to call Expedia, they suddenly "found" another room. This also had dirty bathroom and sugar ants in the bathroom sink, but at least no regular ants and it wasn't located on the first level. Overall, dirty place. Would not stay there again. Also, no warning signs at beach about jellyfish. Daughter was stung four feet from the edge of the water. No one except other guests seemed to care. Pool is nice, but no lifeguards, not supervised, and people leave their food and garbage there and it sits out all night and is not picked up until morning (gee, I wonder why they have ANTS???).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

it's ok i guess

Posted Aug 14, 2009
The front desk and check in at the airport is incompitent. We stayed in an beachfront room w/double beds (kids) and it was over the kitchen for snorkles so we had huge roaches. The beach is terrible for snorkling. The prices for everything are too steep for the quality except cloe's. Nice resort but for a better experiance go to caneel bay. No tv but it's 1st class and has 7 beautiful beaches. Stayed at both and I know where I'm going next time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

The Westin - Needs Some TLC

Posted Aug 14, 2009
Upon checking in we could immediately hear our neighbors, who had also just checked in, trying the door between the rooms over and over and over. Then they were yelling at each other. We went to the front desk and were told there were no rooms until the next night. As the resort was deserted, I found this hard to believe. The room was shabby. The carpet had bleach stains, I am guessing from the bathroom cleaner and the rooms were very outdated. The staff was indifferent to rude. The front concierge was arrogant. Prior to arriving we had received information on rental cars and the information we were given was very different. When I questioned this, he got very snotty and rude. On our last night a waiter talked at us for 30 minutes about economic issues with his family, insulting the work ethics of women in general, not exactly how we wanted to spend our last night at the bar. He was not picking up hints, so we eventually just asked for the check. The people at the Cruz Bay Sports shop were great to work with but we had to wait 3 days to go on our first Scuba Dive trip as they had chartered a boat to a large group, with no back up option for their guests. That was disappointing. The diving was fun and the crew great, once we got to go. They really need to work on their staff, the personalities. They seemed annoyed by the tourists, not great at a resort. Overall, they need to work on their customer service and do some updates.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, Md

Great Place to Stay

Posted Aug 13, 2009
The Westin at St. John was a excellent place to stay. We had an oceanview room and never had a problem with maid service. The Heavenly beds felt great after a long day. There were plenty of golf carts carrying pepole from place to place. We chose to walk around the property. The staff was very friendly and courteous and always made time for conversation. I recommend this hotel and will return again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Definitely needs improvement

Posted Aug 6, 2009 on Hotels
Staff persons who are native islanders can be indifferent if not overtly unfriendly. Most of the staff are very helpful and kind, but too many of them exhibit a need to find another line of work. They don't seem to like people, or at least guests, and only do the minimum necessary to get by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Tired think about Caneel Bay

Posted Aug 5, 2009
Room had a ocean view but window which di dnot open and no balcony This property is in a nice location but getting old.....