Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Amazingly wonderful experience

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Everything. Even the two dogs they have were magical. Our room was the most fantastic!
Cons: No complaints.
Location: It was about a 10 min drive from the more happening parts of town. It's way up in the hills and there isn't much in walking distance, except a beach.
OMG, we loved it here! We had some flight issues, and had to delay and extend our trip and they were so gracious to accommodate us. They even gave us a bottle of rum! We stayed in the duplex room, which was beyond cozy. The view was spectacular. We also loved the privacy the villa provided. And it was a 10 minute drive to the happening parts of town. I highly recommend this place for couples looking for some quiet time together and for the creatives who are looking for some peace. LOVEEEEE!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Charles LA

Great place to stay!

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Will not stay anywhere else when in usvi! Wonderful people! Breathtaking view!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Set us up to have a wonderful week

Posted Mar 1, 2017
My boyfriend and I had a wonderful week at Villa Marbella. Leah and Gunnar are the nicest people and are very accommodating! The Mango Room was perfect for us. We explored the islands every day, and loved coming home to Villa Marbella! The view is breathtaking. Leah and Gunnar's dogs are the sweetest dogs! They love to hang out with people, but only if you want them to! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Like having my own apartment to come home to

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: Everything! The honor fridge, the peace and quiet, the perfect view of the sunset, the owners.
Cons: Nothing, it was great!
Location: It's off the tourist track so you need a car, but there's a resort (Bluebeards) at the bottom of the hill with a restaurant and beach.
This is a great place to stay! It's a nice, quiet place off the tourist track. The owners are warm, friendly people who make you feel right at home. I stayed in the mango room, which is a cozy little room perfect for coming back to after having been out all day. Quiet, clean, with AC that works, and a little "mini kitchen" which was handy. The pool deck is a great place to relax and watch the sun set, and the honor fridge is a nice touch and so convenient. I would definitely stay here again if I'm ever back in St. Thomas.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Hosts, Wonderful Stay!

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Leah and Gunnar were so friendly and accommodating. Rented the Jeep from them too which was amazing and made the trip so much more enjoyable than it would have been without it. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Awesome Time in St. Thomas

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Quiet, small, comfortable, personable & convenient
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Close to restaurants and activities - it seems everything was less than 1/2 hour away if driving.
Awesome stay at Villa Marbella Suites in St. Thomas - it is a quiet, quaint, relaxing place - perfect for some much needed R & R. Close enough to everything to be convenient if you have a car, (we did not walk - no sidewalks). Leah and Gunnar are wonderful hosts and always made sure we had everything we needed for the perfect vacation. The beach is close - a short hike down a hill, and the ABI restaurant there was perfect for a nice afternoon if you don't feel like going to town. It was a PERFECT vacation - we look forward to going back to stay at Villa Marbella ( usually we do not stay in the same place twice).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Gunnar & Leah Watson are AWESOME !!

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: Off the beaten path, but just a few minutes drive into town. You need to rent a car !!
Cons: Hmmmm, we were quite happy with everything.
Location: Abi beach is a short hike from the room. MUST go there. Full service bar and food plus beach chairs.
When we arrived at the airport Gunnar & Leah were there to meet us. Our flight was about 45 minutes late but they were with our rental so we could start our vacation. The room was nice and a bottle of rum welcomed us to the island. Everything we needed was there and more. Beach towels, a cooler to use, beach chairs and even a beach bag were waiting to be used. Very personal place to stay. Incredibly helpful and just the nicest people. Just a few minutes drive into town. The view from the room and pool is amazing. We can't wait until our next trip to the island and we will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

Lovely place with spectacular view

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: The stunning view from my large picture window each morning. Nice fluffy towels and good hot showers. Staff who were always responsive and helpful.
Location: The Marbella had a path directly from the property to Abi beach which was good for snorkeling.
Our proprietors were friendly and helpful. They picked us up from the airport, handled our rental car transaction, and gave us plenty of great advice about local amenities and driving. They seemed to think of everything one could want in their room while visiting, and it was either provided in our room or could be obtained from one of the staff at no additional cost. Some examples: beach towels, beach bag, beach chairs, bug spray, snorkeling gear, room safe for valuables, plenty of outlets for electronics chargers, etc. The room was decorated with great attention to detail and we loved the beach and ocean decor. Many, many thoughtful touches. We had free wi-fi, cable television with plenty of channels, and a beautiful outside balcony with table and chairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Leah , Hotel Management
Loved having you stay with us and hope to see you again real soon!!!! Thank you for the kind words.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, Pa.

Beautiful views of the bay and surrounding areas.

Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Scenic view of the bay. Very private and felt safe there. Very clean and well kept with daily cleaning service. Provided chairs, beach towels, pool.
Cons: More information about the trail to the beach which was steep with a small path with rocks and tree limbs which were tripping hazards. Drive to beach
Location: See experience above.
We were very happy to be picked up at the airport by Leah the owner. While being transported to the Villa she gave us information about where to go on the island, pointed out some favorite restaurants and was able to answer any questions we had about St. Thomas. Rented a car from Leah and her husband Gunner with the car waiting for us at the Villa. Most beaches and other places we received directions on our phone navigation system (Waze). Driving on the roads were stressful given the 90 degree turns with twists and turns while dodging potholes and major cracks in the road while remembering to drive on the left side of the road. Was manageable as there were not a lot of cars on the road. There was a lot of brochures in the room that detailed places to go and what to do. We were mainly interested in going to the beaches and snorkeling. Each beach seemed more beautiful than the next. Coki beach had a number of staff willing to help you. Especially liked Wanda who was our server during the day. Snorkeling was great in each area. Did see rays and turtles at Magen's bay. Large reef at Sapphire beach.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Leah , Hotel Management
So glad you had a nice snorkeling experience. We are so happy you stayed with us and hope you return soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Weymouth/England

Villa Marbella Suites was home from home.

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Location: Visit to Lindquist and Sapphire bays for swimming and snorkelling.The Greenhouse restaurant/bar in town great. ABI Taverna/Beach a must.
My wife and I stayed in the Frenchmans Loft suite at Villa Marbella on St. Thomas for 2 weeks.(October23rd - 5th November) The room was well equipped for indoor catering with a fridge, freezer, Microwave and a Hot plate. Outside was a beautiful swimming pool and a terrace with views to the South West so beautiful for sunsets and all round sunshine. There is also a Barbeque for guests to use. A short but steep path leads down to an almost private sandy beach where there is a Taverna offering drinks and food its called ABI. I would suggest hiring a car from Leah or Gunner (owners). Their prices are very good and the cars well maintained. We Hired a Jeep it was new 2016. Roads on St. Thomas are all left hand driving as are the vehicles, the roads are steep and winding so obey the speeds. Leah and Gunner are lovely people and very knowledgeable about the area and also Gunner is a highly qualified skipper with a boat you can ask him to skipper you to the best bays around for swimming or snorkeling. We were collected by Leah from the small airport and she even allowed us to stock up on basic foods before we were driven to the Villa (so kind of her). The bonus for us were their 3 dogs (Jack was my favourite) all of which love to join you for breakfast (we don't feed dogs) they just wanted some more loving from us. The spiral staircase in the suite was steep and quite narrow but presented no problems to us despite being senior citizens and the lounge area offered a beautiful view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Leah, Hotel Management
So Happy to have you stay with us, I am still drinking your tea by the way :) It is proper tea. Jack misses you and cannot wait for your to return.