Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Nice, quiet and very refreshing place to stay. Beach life all the way. Definitely nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Laura

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 9, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Nice, more than a hotel is a camp

Posted Apr 8, 2015
To shere the bath room with so many people is not confortable, also the smell. If you think is a camp ground is ok
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Unique

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: The views and the laid back atmosphere. They have 2 beaches close by 1 was deserted and the other had lot going on so you have options.
Cons: A small PX/Store for little things so you don't have to go to the main island for little things. However, that was part of the what made it unique
Location: There is a small bar/grill at Honey Moon Beach ...... I only went once and spent the rest of my time at the other beach to snorkel and relax
This place was an awesome of the grid trip. If you really want to get a way from it all and decompress this place is truly for you. It is very relaxed and low key and you move at your own pace. If you want to mingle you can and/or if you want a bit of solitude you can have that too. The people I met were very nice, down to earth, and very appreciative of the whole experience. If you want to hang around a bunch of idiots this place is not for you ,,, and please don't go there and ruin it etc...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Lovely campground with a great view of the ocean!

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Quiet simple beauty
I went alone and found it a lovely place to go and have community and quiet time! The owners were very helpful and kind!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by deb, Hotel Management
Beth, I am so glad you had a quiet, safe and pretty holiday...we hope you will join us again. Sincerely, Deborah
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Water Island campground US VI

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Friendly… Peaceful… Welcoming… Relaxing We hope to return ...just the right amount of vacationing visitors and things to do. The more secluded the better. Might I suggest a raised walking path from the lower cabins up to the communal area…driveway very very steep
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by deb, Hotel Management
Dear Phil and Cheryl, Thanks for your nice review...and the suggestion for a raised walkway. I understand the steep driveway ( for sure!!) but not sure what you mean by a raised walking path..would love to know cause we take suggestions from our guests seriously. If you get a chance. Please do come and join us again. Sincerely, Deborah and Paul
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great eco camp site

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Its Eco which is great for the environment also very quiet
Cons: nothing
Location: Honeymoon beach is a great beach sandy clear water, hiking and biking
Paul and Debbie are great hosts lots of info before and when you arrive and great location all rooms have sea view, and a great experience to sit and have breakfast with an amazing view
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2015 by Deborah and Paul, Hotel Management
Lee and Antoni, Thanks for much for all your reviews...much appreciated that you took the time. I just figured out how to write reviews on Expedia, so you're my first owner response...Do come and see us again Sincerely, Deb and Paul
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Beach-Island Getaway

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: The Campground was clean, but be prepared if you live on flat ground you may want to do some leg workout prior, as everything is up hill (bathrooms, k
Cons: Clean towels and sheets
Location: Paradise
It cold rainy morning here and I’m dreaming of our wonderful vacation on warm sunny Water Island just a week ago. I thought since I can’t do much here I would set and finally write my reviews of the Campground. This trip was for our 15 year Anniversary in which we were celebrating our” first Honeymoon to Honeymoon beach”. It was the first trip without our three kids, so you can say it was way overdue. The first day of arrival was rocky, since we missed our flight from New Orleans, due to the lovely, but friendly TSA. I immediately contacted Sean, and informed him our flight was to arrive at 10:30 p.m., missing the last Ferry to Water Island. Sean insured that we would make it to the Island that night by arranging a boat to pick us up at the Marina. And he reassured me that he would meet us at the dock to pick us up no matter how late we arrived. When we arrived it was night but I could tell this was Paradise, the Taxi from the airport to the Marina was overpriced, I recommend trying to prearrange pick up from the airport just like we did when we left. It saved us $20.00 to prearrange. Gypsy Taxis are overpriced and take advantage of tourist. Once we arrive to Water Island, Sean was there just as he promised to pick up us up. His generosity was one of the best parts of the Campground atmosphere. Sean was helpful and even arranged for us a Sailboat trip to Buck Island, and lobster dinner, which he took some burns why boiling.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by deb, Hotel Management
Carrie, Happy 15th!! Holidays without your kids have given you some other things to worry about. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return. Sincerely, Deborah
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Beautiful cabins with breathtaking views!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The breathtaking views in close proximity to two gorgeous beaches, each offering something unique.
Cons: Nothing. It's perfect!
Location: As we said, it's just a few minutes walk to two beaches. We particularly enjoyed Dinghy's bar and grill located on Honeymoon Beach.
Far better than we ever could have imagined, Virgin Islands campgrounds delivers in every possible way. Sean picked us up from the dock and was very friendly and accommodating. He told us everything we needed to know about the islands.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by deb, Hotel Management
Dear Dane, Sean no longer is with us, but we have amazing staff, so not to worry. your next stay you will also be taken care of. Glad you felt so welcome last time. Sincerely, Deborah
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caribbean

Great for getting away from it all

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Owners, guests, & locals were all very friendly, helpful, sociable.
Cons: For those who are eco-friendly, & want to rough it & get away from it all, this place needs no improvement.
Location: Tour the island ($40 & 3 hours on a golf cart). Snorkel at Limestone Bay. Enjoy lounging, swimming, eating, & drinking at beautiful Honeymoon beach
We stayed in the only suite at Virgin Island Campground. It was really nice, with fridge, sink, microwave, shower, PC, WIFI, but no A/C. The other units are basically wooden tents with screens & a bed. Very picturesque, peaceful, & secure. The common area or pavilion serves all guests & includes fridge, icemaker, cooktop, BBQ pit, microwave, tables, chairs. Small Water Island has no grocery stores, no gas stations, no stores AT ALL. There are a couple food trailer joints on the one INCREDIBLE beach (Honeymoon). They serve drinks, great food, & provide tables, chairs, beach loungers, & a band on Saturday night. There are also a couple of golf cart rentals that work out of the parking lot by the ferry dock. There are also LOTS of mosquitoes. Much of the island is off limits, so that leaves about 1/2 square mile. The locals are very friendly & will stop to offer you a ride in their pickup or golf cart. In your luggage, pack LOTS of mosquito repellent, food, drinks, whatever you can, because.,, If you want to eat out at a nice restaurant, or buy groceries/drinks/supplies, or do laundry, or catch the dive boat, you will pay a $10/person round-trip ferry ride to Crown Bay on St Thomas. The ferry runs frequently from 6 AM to 6 PM. If you want to rent a car to see St Thomas, leave early, pay the ferry, taxi, & car rental fees, & be back at ferry before 6 PM. We should have done more research because, if you really want to see St Thomas (which we did), stay on St Thomas
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by deb, Hotel Management
John, Thank you so much for your review...Water Island is not for someone who for what ever reason, want to spend most of their time on St. Thomas...I tell anyone who ask that Water Island is not for everyone. Reviews like yours will help others who's plans are to spend most of their time on St. Thomas. Next time you are looking for peace and quiet, beautiful views and beaches, come join us. Sincerely, Deborah