Ratings based on 1,354 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel next to the beach

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Room was ok, ac wasn't working too well and no channels were showing at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Can walk to everything.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Clean. You can catch Ferry right across the street.
Location: Took Ferry over to Tortola to swim with the Dolphins for my birthday. It was an experience.
The hotel was centrally located and you can walk to everything or catch a taxi. Only drawback is that the hotel restaurant food is extremely overpriced and the service was too slow. Me and my fiance ordered egg & cheese on bread which is not something that should take 45 minutes to bring out with tea. We wound up walking out! I understand that people have to make a living but it shouldn't cost $30.00 for egg and cheese on a sandwich with tea. Really overpriced!!! Better off finding local spot to eat. The entire area caters to tourist and they seem to take advantage because most people are coming off ships for the day and don't have many other options because they are pressed for time. Unfair.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Limited amenities, no what was advertised.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Location: Location was convenient to downtown Charlotte Amalie.
The on-line information on The Windward Passage Hotel list a lot of amenities that are lo longer open available or limited access. No Dive Shop on site, no Concierge's service, and gift shop has very limited access to the guests.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Terrible hotel, terrible experience.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: The nice ladies at reception. Everything else sucked.
Cons: Where to start? It needs to be razed.
Location: Stay off the streets and get away as soon as you can. If you need a ferry, it's across the street.
While the staff were very gracious and kind, this hotel is terrible. Gross carpets, neglected facilities, sad little bar, with an even sadder little slot machine casino. If you can avoid staying here, avoid. If you're hoping to catch a ferry across the street, check the ferry schedule. It would be a shame to stay here for no reason, because the ferry is the only reason to stay at the Windward Passage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Windward was great.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Unique construction. Excellent bar in courtyard.
Location: The Greenhouse is a good restaurant.
Close to ferry dock and Charlotte Amalie. Far enough away from Havensight to get the "normal" experience (and prices).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bfooklyn NY

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: location, internal courtyard with pool.
Cons: Bathroom was clean but tired- needs renovation.
Location: good restaurants in nearby Frenchtown , a walkable distance away. Easy stroll along the waterfront to downtown St Thomas shops.
Served our need for a one night stay between a sailboat charter and our flight home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
I only had an issue when I first got their.the bathroom wasn't clean l8ke it should have ven, but after tht everything was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA

Not as appeared in pictures

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Food and bar
Cons: Updating the room, checking the AC
Our flight was canceled, so we looked for a hotel close to the airport that was a reasonable price and a decent place to stay. Windward Passage looked very nice on the Expedia page. The hotel staff were very friendly. We were able to check in early. However, the room was disappointing. The room had difficulty getting and staying cool, there were stains on the carpet, and it didn't smell fresh and clean. The bed springs made a loud clunking noise if you moved around too much. There was a window in the bathroom that had shutters/blinds that could be opened. I never felt as if I had any privacy while in there. I am sure that if I would have asked for a different room, they would have tried to accommodate, but I also know that they were almost full to capacity because of delayed/canceled flights due to storms in the States. If you need a place to stay for one night and you aren't picky, this hotel would work for you. I wish we would have known about our flight beforehand and we could have continued to stay at our other resort for less money for the night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run Down Wreck

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: leaving
Location: located in the heart of the city
Upon arrival the lobby and courtyard area were dated. I was looking forward to a beautiful view of the bay at least. When I arrived to my room, overlooking a dirty alley with a hobo sleeping in it and trash all around I was disappointed but more so by the room. Broken tiles in the bathroom, crud all around, and a toilet that didn't flush properly along with a shower that didn't drain. The carpet had more stains on it that I could count. I hotel info book was stuck to the desk and I had a metal rod as my sliding door security that sat in a filthy door runner with dead bugs. Well at least the bugs were dead and it was only one sleepless night. Because when I did doze off I was sharply awaken by a gun shot. On the bright side it sounded like a handgun and not an automatic weapon, so I felt safer. Well the best thing I can say about this place is... I survived.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel has old furniture that needs to be replaced

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Old furniture in rooms, missing buttons on the phone lights in room don't work