Ratings based on 1,359 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Great location if coming from Tortola via ferry

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Restaurant, pool, accommodations.
Cons: Staff at front desk were abrupt and not very friendly.
So convenient to the ferry, shopping and airport. We only stayed one night but would have enjoyed a longer stay. In a very busy area so good for shopping but not a true resort. Restaurant was very good and a very nice outdoor setting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel next to the beach

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Room was ok, ac wasn't working too well and no channels were showing at all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible experience

Posted Apr 25, 2017
We only stayed one night. Upgraded and paid extra online for an ocean view. When we got to hotel it was gated and got nervous. The surrounding area was very busy and surrounded by cars blasting music until 3 am making sleep impossible. The cars were on the road by the water, although there was. Wow it would have been more quiet in another area of hotel. While we ate in the courtyard we witnessed a man have a prostitute ordered, she arrived, they spoke for a few minutes. He ordered 4 bottles of wine and drinks to go. They went to a room and returned 1/2 hour later. They said goodbye and he returned to the bar and proceeded to high five some other men there. We were afraid, disgusted and honestly in shock over the entire experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Can walk to everything.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Clean. You can catch Ferry right across the street.
Location: Took Ferry over to Tortola to swim with the Dolphins for my birthday. It was an experience.
The hotel was centrally located and you can walk to everything or catch a taxi. Only drawback is that the hotel restaurant food is extremely overpriced and the service was too slow. Me and my fiance ordered egg & cheese on bread which is not something that should take 45 minutes to bring out with tea. We wound up walking out! I understand that people have to make a living but it shouldn't cost $30.00 for egg and cheese on a sandwich with tea. Really overpriced!!! Better off finding local spot to eat. The entire area caters to tourist and they seem to take advantage because most people are coming off ships for the day and don't have many other options because they are pressed for time. Unfair.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Limited amenities, no what was advertised.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Location: Location was convenient to downtown Charlotte Amalie.
The on-line information on The Windward Passage Hotel list a lot of amenities that are lo longer open available or limited access. No Dive Shop on site, no Concierge's service, and gift shop has very limited access to the guests.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Terrible hotel, terrible experience.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: The nice ladies at reception. Everything else sucked.
Cons: Where to start? It needs to be razed.
Location: Stay off the streets and get away as soon as you can. If you need a ferry, it's across the street.
While the staff were very gracious and kind, this hotel is terrible. Gross carpets, neglected facilities, sad little bar, with an even sadder little slot machine casino. If you can avoid staying here, avoid. If you're hoping to catch a ferry across the street, check the ferry schedule. It would be a shame to stay here for no reason, because the ferry is the only reason to stay at the Windward Passage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Windward was great.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: Unique construction. Excellent bar in courtyard.
Location: The Greenhouse is a good restaurant.
Close to ferry dock and Charlotte Amalie. Far enough away from Havensight to get the "normal" experience (and prices).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bfooklyn NY

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Pros: location, internal courtyard with pool.
Cons: Bathroom was clean but tired- needs renovation.
Location: good restaurants in nearby Frenchtown , a walkable distance away. Easy stroll along the waterfront to downtown St Thomas shops.
Served our need for a one night stay between a sailboat charter and our flight home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
I only had an issue when I first got their.the bathroom wasn't clean l8ke it should have ven, but after tht everything was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from GA

Not as appeared in pictures

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Food and bar
Cons: Updating the room, checking the AC
Our flight was canceled, so we looked for a hotel close to the airport that was a reasonable price and a decent place to stay. Windward Passage looked very nice on the Expedia page. The hotel staff were very friendly. We were able to check in early. However, the room was disappointing. The room had difficulty getting and staying cool, there were stains on the carpet, and it didn't smell fresh and clean. The bed springs made a loud clunking noise if you moved around too much. There was a window in the bathroom that had shutters/blinds that could be opened. I never felt as if I had any privacy while in there. I am sure that if I would have asked for a different room, they would have tried to accommodate, but I also know that they were almost full to capacity because of delayed/canceled flights due to storms in the States. If you need a place to stay for one night and you aren't picky, this hotel would work for you. I wish we would have known about our flight beforehand and we could have continued to stay at our other resort for less money for the night.