Ratings based on 259 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Nice Views

Posted Aug 25, 2017
I enjoyed my stay at Blue Beard's. The decor and architecture are delightful. Having an accessible ice machine was awesome to help cope with the St. Thomas heat. The room was very clean and the beds very comfortable. The front end staff were very friendly and helpful. The one downside was the steep hill that you first had to climb to enter the property. This wouldnt keep from coming again though. The hotel is close to major shopping and a decent driving distance to the closest beach. The chickens were also friendly and helped wake us up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by steve buckley, Hotel Management
Dear Pattu, Thank you so much for writing and for your great review. We look forward to your return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

This hotel is unique

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The views are great and the food at the pool area is decent and cheap! Very friendly bartender whose name I forgot to get.
Cons: Updating all the rooms would really improve this hotel. Also, they should renovate the pool area and make it a large infinity pool
I stayed here for 6 days (I was in town for a wedding). I thought I booked a suite since the description said all rooms come with a sofa bed and invited a friend to join me in splitting the room. When we got there, it was just one giant bed, no sofa and tiny "kitchen" in the corner of a room. I didn't make a fuss about the room situation because another friend who was also staying there was having major issues with the staff and their "rudeness" in clearing up a situation with her room for her and her husband. Luckily my friend and I didn't mind sharing the bed, it was rather large, so we just went on with our vacation without a worry. Also, our room was right in the castle and we had a little balcony that had a fantastic view of the island. Basically the best part about the room. Oh and the AC leaked onto the table the whole time. Ah well. Anyway, hotel is cool, it's old but has FANTASTIC views all around of the island. The exterior is maintained really well. Staff is OK. Not super friendly but not rude. Just know this hotel is very old and not state of the art so if you just need a decent room to crash while you explore then this is your place. The restaurants have decent food. Pool area is ok, very deep tho so watch out! haha. Walking distance to the downtown area but it's a rather steep hill to get back so keep that in mind. All in all I would probably come back, I was out doing stuff every day so it was nice to come back to a decent place to lay my head every night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by steve buckley, Hotel Management
Dear April, Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the room accommodations received. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Nice view

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Overall good experience, would come back. Nice view, excellent space for a family of four. Bathroom, Kitchen a must.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2017 by steve buckley, Hotel Management
Dear Juan, We really appreciate that you took the time to share your positive impressions and experience at the Castle. Please come back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great!

Posted Jul 24, 2017
I like this hotel because I was able to get to other beaches easily. The supermarket was right down the block. I had privacy. The drinks by the pool side was fabulous! I'll stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean Room/Nice View

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Cabana bar - Happy Hour!
The room is clean with nice view, comfortable bed with many of pillows. Reception staff OK, a smile would be nice. The bar & restaurants staff are friendly. The hotel is spread out, a lot of walking which I don't mind at all, actually it is kinda nice.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NV

Do Not Stay!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
This is place is terrible and Expedia is as much to blame as the hotel. Cons @ Hotel: 1. Zero HSKP in 6days at resort (no DND on door) 2. Forced to room move for another guest to have our room in middle of stay (no compensation) 3. 1 pack of coffee grounds for 6 days for 2 people 4. Keys made improperly (Ving ASSA system so not a decactivation issue) 5. AC very noise unable to sleep more than 2hrs in 6days 6. AC would not go below 72f and hold temp for over 6days 7. Views of worst housing projects in the USVi. Thank heaven no stray bullets while we were there. 8. Waterfall not working in pool 9. No outside telephones to contact staff for emergencies and lockouts 10. Mattresses older than 8yrs old 11. Security never posted in guard house 12. Poor lighting 13. Mismatched items in room 14. Resort management company has never responded to emails for arrival to date of this posting. Cons about Expedia: 1. Emailed Expedia within 1hr of arrival with issues and opened two claims. Neither has been responded to as of this posting. Videos and photos attached for review when emails were sentz 2. Spent 9hrs with Expedia SM and was promised a follow up and resolution. At the time of this post no responses. 3. Spent over 1hr on phone with Expedia supervisor without Expedia being able to get anything done with the resort on the phone. Pros: Located on St Thomas
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Posted Jul 3, 2017
This Hotel had Every that we expected location staff , view , cleanness thanks to the employees that make this possible
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by Steve Buckley, Hotel Management
Dear Leo, We appreciate you taking the time to post a thoughtful review of your experience here at Bluebeard's Castle. We look forward to your return. Thank you
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VI

Pretty Good

Posted Jun 30, 2017
No issues well rested stay at hotel. better internet service had issue where it cut out a few time but besides that its a pretty good stay with amazing view of st.thomas
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver. CO

Rooms spread out, up hill walk. Nice view

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Rooms are spread out and alot of up hill walk. No problem at all on the walk, except when checking out. No one help pick up the bags, so got to carry heavy bags all the way up. Cabana bar staff are nice and friendly, good food & drinks. Room is clean and have nice view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Budget with a view

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Historical sights within walking distance. Entertainment nearby.
I was happy to spend two nights in a clean, ready, room with a view. Tv, fridge, and microwave were well used. Bill tight and tidy....