Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Island favorite in the process of a facelift

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: The rooms are largish and offer great views and plenty of privacy. And the staff is wonderful. I strongly recommend trying Bluebeards.
Cons: There's room--as of September 2017--for a lot of facelifting, but it has been started and their plans sound great.
Location: A perfect spot for views, but a difficult walk--it's on a mountainside--for all but the most fit. You'll need to rent a car or take taxis.
Bluebeards has been around for a long, long time, settled on the mountainside overlooking Charlotte Amalie, and that view is not going away. The hotel itself is showing its age, but the owners are in the process of renovating the whole place. Still, even with the work only partly done it remains a great place to stay while visiting St. Thomas.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PR

Great view

Posted Aug 5, 2017 on Orbitz
The hotel has a great view , staff very helpfull , food in the pool bar excellent. We stay on a condo room and was great with a nice view to frenchtown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Steve Buckley, Hotel Management
Dear Ema, Thank you so much for your terrific comments. The view is truly spectacular from the Castle. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to write.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Spacious room with kitchenette...pool is nice...great views
Location: Hill top hotel...so if walking be prepared to walk back up the hill!
The room had a beautiful view of the bay area. ..the city lights at night were amazing! !
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Steve Buckley, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous Guest, Thank you so much for writing and for your great review. We are so pleased that we were able to provide a great stay on St. Thomas for you. We hope that we will see you again!
2 out of 5
by Anne

You can do better.

Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
Given the fact that they are currently GIVING AWAY timeshares, I think that says it all. Discourteous front desk staff, moldy smelling rooms, rare housecleaning, and very, very steep for any folks with accessibility problems. Poolside cafe staff was very nice though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017
Dear Anne, I would like to offer our sincere apologies for the deficiencies in service during your recent stay. Please understand that providing excellent service that is gracious, personalized, and attentive is our top priority. Steve Buckley
5 out of 5
by Emily

Great location near city

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay in St Thomas, and easily walkable to Charlotte Amalie. Beautiful view of the city from our room. The pool is refreshing and relaxing. The poolside bar has great service and drinks! Our room was very comfortable. I loved the patio, where I started and ended every day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elmont NY

A secret gem

Posted May 31, 2017
I stayed at the Bluebeards Castle Villas hilltop 1 with my two boys ages 22 and 16. We arrived on Friday May 26. The staff was very friendly and the check in process went smoothly. The hotel itself is located on a hill, so there's a lot of walking involved. Transportation was usually waiting right out front. It's a time share so the rooms are cleaned once a week. They have a pool side restaurant with decent prices, however it closes by 5 pm. The conceirge lady was not very helpful and seemed like she just wanted to make a commission. Food is very expensive at the other two restaurants on site. We ate at the Cabana Grill and ate from the happy hour selection. I highly recommend Coci Beach. The water at Coci Beach is beautiful and they pass out free samples of rum smoothies. The hotel over looks the pier and you'll get to see the cruise ships coming in on mondays and Tuesday's. The property is clean and well kept. There is s store on site where you can buy snacks, however it is very expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US Virgin Islands

Better than expected

Posted May 20, 2017
Overall it was great experience. I enjoyed the living facility and pool. My only problem was that they had a hot stove and not an actual stove, but perhaps trust was a detail I overlooked when booking
5 out of 5
by Tamara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Martin

Coming back next year.

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
Great place to stay. Incredible views from the room balcony and pool area.