Ratings based on 1,004 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Flowood, MS

My hotel room had an excellent view of the ocean

Posted Aug 30, 2017
My hotel room had an excellent view of the ocean with easy access via the pool. The hotel staff was great courteous and friendly as well as helpful my only complaint is that the hotel drinks being local rum drinks were very expensive which I found to be the case throughout the island. This was unlike my previous experiences on Saint Thomas where the drinks and food was moderately priced especially when purchasing local rum. The rooms and bathroom were very very nice and clean. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BVI

Gorgeous Beach/Nicely situated Next To Airport

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Its Gorgeous View/Beach
Cons: Get an elevator/escalator/bell boy especially for those persons being assigned rooms on the upper floors.
Location: Excellent Location Next To Beach & Airport.
My only draw back with this hotel was having to carry luggage up three flight of stairs to our assigned room. And when travelling with luggage for vacation in excess of fifteen days the luggage was somewhat heavy and cumbersome to maneuver up stairs. I don't recall there being an elevator nor a bell boy (at least not at the time when we checked-in). Fortunately for me my sons were travelling with me on this occasion and so were able to assist. It also by appearance is in need of some renovations that would make the rooms more attractive/appealing to the seasoned traveler.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Perfect Beach Front Paradise

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Everything!
The rooms are wonderful and comfortable, the view from the balcony into Lindberg Bay simply stunning and the staff make this the perfect island paradise. The food at Caribbean Fusion was simply amazing - from breakfast to dinner. Paul, my sister and I cannot thank you enough for your kindness and taking such good care of us! And to all the staff - thank you! We will be back!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Extreme lack of communication!!!

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Cons: Communication between Expedia and Hotel.
Location: Near the Airport.
Booked this non refundable hotel w/ Expedia when our flight was cancelled. After I booked the airlines decided to offer vouchers. Now it is too late because I booked non refundable. When I got to the hotel they didn't even have me listed nor the non refundable room I had reserved. I ended up with a king vs two doubles for three adults. I have paid twice for this room. Currently neither the hotel nor Expedia has made this right for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Nice hotel on the beach. Staff was very nice. Rooms are nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Four PM Check-in Is Too Late

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Convenient Location to the airport
Cons: Earlier Check-in Time. Four PM is too Late .
Location: Convenient to the airport.
Had to wait until 4 pm to Check-in. When on vacation, that is too late to check-in to a resort hotel. In the lobby there were several guest complaining about the late ( 4 pm ) check-in time. Hotel offered access to the pool / beach & a drink coupon at the bar as compensation. Drink coupons were previously printed and readily offered, so in the past I guess many other guest had complained about the late check-in time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Beach - Not the Best Service

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: The convenience to the beach
Cons: Service, Food menu, customer service
I recently stayed at Emerald Beach Resort, as a request by my Nisky native grandmother due to wanting to be on the beach. The hotel restaurant are very slow with service and their menu is limited. The cleanliness of the room was below standard. Overall my stay matched the cost, but it can improve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RI

Great location and Beach

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Cannot beat Emerald Beach's location by the airport and near downtown CA - plus one of the best beaches on STT. Also has great cell coverage and WiFi - which should not be taken for granted (ever stayed at Morningside?). The news however is that EB has a new young chef who is really trying to make his mark. And Pauline has taken over the front of the house and service is REALLY improved. Between the 2 there is now a reason to stay for dinner. And breakfast won't take an hour - unless of course you want it to.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Affordable with kind staff

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: The staff (with the exception of one bartender) was extremely kind and respectful.
Cons: Upgrade the plumbing. The showers seriously need major work.
Location: Close to the airport with planes coming and going but this is not disturbing. You have to take an expensive taxi to go anywhere.
Hotel was very close to the airport with kind staff. There were several problems with my room (broken toilet, shower didn't work, wifi in room didn't work, key wouldn't open the door and had to be replaced seven times). The staff were responsive to my complaints about these things but were only able to fix the toilet. The food at the restaurant was expensive and only fair. There were limited options on the menu and the advertised buffet with band never took place (I was later told this was because it was "off season"). Be prepared to pay for taxis that charge ridiculous rates to do anything off site (and there are limited on site options). The concierge does not work for the hotel and took a 10% cash deposit. You will also need cash to rent kayaks, paddle boards, etc. No big deal, but I was unprepared for the amount of cash I needed. The gym looks nothing like the picture on the website and is not very good. Also, be prepared for an influx of cruise people on the beach. Overall, you get what you pay for and the price was right for what I got.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burleson, TX

Nice room, wonderful staff, beautiful beach

Posted Jul 29, 2017
The Emerald was a very nice place to stay. It is not the Marriott, so if you are in to spending that kind of money you should go there. This place has the easiest, most convenient access to a fantastic beach of any resort. Don't be concerned about how close it is to the airport, the plane traffic is pretty light and they don't have flights coming in all night long. We had a problem with our AC and they moved us to another room, I don't hold that against them. We had no bugs, the bathroom was nice, the bed was ok (we prefer softer, but it was close) and the view from the balcony was spectacular. The staff was very nice and helpful. We rented a Jeep from Discount Car Rental and went everywhere. A car is not a good option if you are going to drive to Mountain Top or to St. John.