Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando Florida

Kicked out in the storm

Posted Sep 6, 2017
My family was trying to evacuate from approaching Hurricane Irma. No luck with flights or boats. We had to find a hotel and someone suggested Mafolie. We made a reservation and took a cab from the ferry dock. Our room was down 3 flights of stairs outside, which we had to carry all our bags in the rain.No air conditioning in the living room of the $250 suite, only in the bedroom. Then they told us we had to be out the next day so they could board up the hotel. They suggested a shelter....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

brilliant view!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
terrific team, lovely rooms, view-to-die-for, excellent food!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Paul

Night at the Mafolie!!

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
A beautiful view of the harbor! Room was clean and sufficiently large. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Gorgeous view!

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: View! Staff.
Location: Up the hill. Most things are a taxi ride away. The view is worth it.
We loved our lanai and the view it provided. Although the hotel is up the crazy hill, the taxis got us to and fro. Staff was friendly. Bed was comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 11, 2017
We had a short but lovely visit and the service was friendly and prompt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic view owner Charlotte Amalie harbor

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Quaint hotel with the spectacular view, little pool and bar also overlooking the whole bay. Rooms small but comfortable and clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
Maybe other rooms are nice; however, I was given a room with rusty railings on the balcony that was right on the road and above the noisy bar. Room was not clean -- cobwebs on lamps, dirt in bathroom. It was not possible to walk to town because of the narrow road with no sidewalks and their front desk discouraged it. The breakfast was not good. Not sure when the pictures on the website were taken--place seems run down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Great View but far from the beach.

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: The VIEW. its what you pay for.
Cons: The staff could be more friendly.
Location: Didn't feel like there was anything close. We felt a bit far from everything.
The view from the Mafolie was great but everything else was just Meh. The staff wasn't very friendly and the exact same breakfast is provided every morning. Paul was the only staff member that stood out. He was very helpful when our key cards wouldn't work late in the night and brought us a slice of chocolate cake one night at dinner for our engagement celebration.
2 out of 5
by AC

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Run down outside and in. Very helpful front desk young man, and the restaurant is great.