Ratings based on 459 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from long island, NY

Hurricane Irma - RM 225

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Although I am blessed to be off the island and the Ritz Carlton staff was able to assist with the extraction, I was disappointed on how they handled the storm to me and my family. I traveled with my husband and 10month old baby to celebrate our 10 yr anniversary. i felt we were forgotten about and not informed of what to expect or what would be in place. Other Guests were receiving notifications via phone calls as well as paper notices of how to prepare. I didnt receive neither other than a form to fill out of who was in the room which a staff member called my cell phone to receive back. Other than that, nothing else. When the storm approached I had to hear from other guests of a curfew and their rooms changed to safer grounds. Day of the storm no calls. I called operator &explained at least needed milk for baby. Again No heads up on what to do if island was to go under. my husband took it upon himself to go out into the storm & unplug the balcony as a ft of water rose ready to come into our room. I made desperate calls to other rooms by just dialing praying someone would answer. I was informed each building should have security. Didn't know this and by luck was in contact with Tachel who helped tremendously n got security to go to building C to help us. Only then did they know we existed. We were moved from our room to a rm only 2 doors down. Hot as a sauna and weren't moved till next day only because of our complaints of having a baby! Protocol & procedures are needed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlottesville, VA

Best Service Experience of My Life

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Our experience at the Ritz St. Thomas set a new standard for top-notch, individualized service. The staff was a well orchestrated, guest-oriented ballet and we felt like royalty. Our every need was met from start to finish, even those we merely suggested. I've done a lot of international travel and stayed at amazing resorts, this is one of three I would return to without hesitation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Absolutely Wonderful...

Posted Sep 4, 2017
A fabulous hotel and wonderful place to stay. We had a wonderful time, but the breakfast buffet is overpriced. Please do not get it. Thirty five dollars per person. Best taxi cab van to get on the island is Forgive with Shelby Potter. What a lovely woman who gave us all sorts of information about the island. We love Shelby! Great vacation for my son, Jarod and I!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Best in St Thomas

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: The resort feeling
Cons: Mattresses
Hotel was great for being in St Thomas. The only downfall the food is way over priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Williamsburg, VA

Great Vacation Spot!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Everything; accommodations, restaurants, food, staff! None better anywhere!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: They have everything you want to do "right there"! Water sports from Catamarans, wind surfers, snorkeling. Casual and more formal restaurants.
We had a wonderful vacation at the Ritz-Carlton in St. Thomas. We never left the "complex" or grounds. They had everything we needed; i.e, restaurants, room-service, great beach and servers, great beach chairs with awnings to protect you from the sun. I would recommend this hotel to anyone interested in going to St. Thomas for a "splendid" vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Best hotel we have ever stayed at! The bed was so comfortable and the staff were wonderful to deal with. Very clean! They have thought of every detail to make it a truly pleasurable experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with beach and great amenities

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: On the beach and quiet. Servers on beach to serve food and drinks. Access to paddle board and snorkeling gear
Cons: Drinks terrible and overpriced, you will pay around 70 bucks for two people for lunch. To be expected at the ritz but drinks not worth it.
Location: Take St. John ferry for dinner and shopping, only 15 min ferry ride and 5 minute cab ride to ferry. Recommend booking the Virga Gorda to the caves
The ritz needed some upgrades, property little run down . The room was beautiful, room cleaned timely with plenty of towels and turn down service. The service was excellent. We called for golf carts to take us to the lobby every evening and they were there within 5 minutes abs already called a cab for us. Cab rides are $5 per person to red hook to great dinner spots, only 5 minute ride too! We loved the infinity pool but spent most our time in the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Italy

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Nice experience, but not a luxury resort. Quality standards for luxury resorts are higher.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, texas

Posted Aug 15, 2017
It was a very.nice place. Everbody was very nice and helpful. The hotel staff told us where to shop and how to get to the air port. The hotel staff told us where to go when we went to st John and get where to get the ox tails. We may plan another trip.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Very Low End Ritz

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Cons: Get better management and train the staff to live up to the normal Ritz-Carlton standards.
Location: The hotel is very isolated from other things to do on St. Thomas.
I have stayed at several different Ritz-Carlton's before. This hotel seems more like a low end Marriott, than a Ritz-Carlton. Hotel service over all was painfully slow. Food service on the beach was almost non-existent. If you wanted something on the beach you would have to walk to the restaurant and order it. At the "restaurant" called Sails, the staff would stand together and talk while our drinks sat on the counter next to them. They were slow taking our order, getting drinks and bringing out food. The restaurant staff seemed to be inconvenienced by the customers. The food was very expensive for what you get. Seem like most of the food came out of box or a bag. Food quality was below average. The condition of the hotel is sub par. The hotel has a large swampy area in the middle of the property. Most days this smelled awful. We paid for an ocean view room but we could not use our balcony at all because of smell from the swamp. The Beach was a major disappointment. The beach is very pretty from a distance. If all you want to do is sit in a beach chair then this hotel will be fine. If you actually want to get in the water then please bring water shoes. The beach is very rocky and is really hard to walk on. Our kids spend almost the entire week playing in the pool because the beach hurt their feet. This hotel made our vacation at St. Thomas a major disappointment.