Ratings based on 450 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Best hotel we have ever stayed at! The bed was so comfortable and the staff were wonderful to deal with. Very clean! They have thought of every detail to make it a truly pleasurable experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with beach and great amenities

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: On the beach and quiet. Servers on beach to serve food and drinks. Access to paddle board and snorkeling gear
Cons: Drinks terrible and overpriced, you will pay around 70 bucks for two people for lunch. To be expected at the ritz but drinks not worth it.
Location: Take St. John ferry for dinner and shopping, only 15 min ferry ride and 5 minute cab ride to ferry. Recommend booking the Virga Gorda to the caves
The ritz needed some upgrades, property little run down . The room was beautiful, room cleaned timely with plenty of towels and turn down service. The service was excellent. We called for golf carts to take us to the lobby every evening and they were there within 5 minutes abs already called a cab for us. Cab rides are $5 per person to red hook to great dinner spots, only 5 minute ride too! We loved the infinity pool but spent most our time in the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Italy

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Nice experience, but not a luxury resort. Quality standards for luxury resorts are higher.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, texas

Posted Aug 15, 2017
It was a very.nice place. Everbody was very nice and helpful. The hotel staff told us where to shop and how to get to the air port. The hotel staff told us where to go when we went to st John and get where to get the ox tails. We may plan another trip.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Very Low End Ritz

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Cons: Get better management and train the staff to live up to the normal Ritz-Carlton standards.
Location: The hotel is very isolated from other things to do on St. Thomas.
I have stayed at several different Ritz-Carlton's before. This hotel seems more like a low end Marriott, than a Ritz-Carlton. Hotel service over all was painfully slow. Food service on the beach was almost non-existent. If you wanted something on the beach you would have to walk to the restaurant and order it. At the "restaurant" called Sails, the staff would stand together and talk while our drinks sat on the counter next to them. They were slow taking our order, getting drinks and bringing out food. The restaurant staff seemed to be inconvenienced by the customers. The food was very expensive for what you get. Seem like most of the food came out of box or a bag. Food quality was below average. The condition of the hotel is sub par. The hotel has a large swampy area in the middle of the property. Most days this smelled awful. We paid for an ocean view room but we could not use our balcony at all because of smell from the swamp. The Beach was a major disappointment. The beach is very pretty from a distance. If all you want to do is sit in a beach chair then this hotel will be fine. If you actually want to get in the water then please bring water shoes. The beach is very rocky and is really hard to walk on. Our kids spend almost the entire week playing in the pool because the beach hurt their feet. This hotel made our vacation at St. Thomas a major disappointment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Virtually everything.
Cons: Nothing
Location: St. John, snorkeling, boating, red Hook bars and dinner, the beach.
Incredible is all we can say. We were upgraded to a fantastic suite. It had the best staff of any hotel we have ever stayed at. It was a beautiful location with a lot to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: The ocean and also other islands are a ferry ride away
This hotel is beautiful and the scenery is gorgeous! Great trip!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 9, 2017
It wasn't what we were expecting for a Ritz Carlton. Would not recommend or go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Amazing resorts from the minute we got there till the minute we left super wonderful staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lakewood, CO

Beautiful property, tiny room issues

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Beautiful locale, greatest staff- genuinely friendly, helpful. Highlights include Yoga with Katie, stamp from Claudette, all the bartenders at Sails and The staff at Espenza.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Marco Ortlam , Hotel Management
Dear Liz-thank you so much for your wonderful review! I'll be sure to pass your kind words along to Katie, Claudette and our Sails and Essenza teams. We hope we'll get to welcome you back soon!