Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Great experience

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Tamarind had a great location , very friendly and accommodating staff, restaurants had very good food , the room was very large and right on the water , beach was in good condition , and they arranged a great boat excursion with a man named angus as the captain who was great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mke

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Very nice personable staff, went out of their way to help us with specific needs. Rooms have screened/ shuttered windows, very unique. Great catamaran snorkeling tour and good island tour by van. Fresh coconuts for coconut water regularly cut down for us by the beach crew
4 out of 5
by Anita

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by ANDREA from Long island

Fairly happy visit lots of down time

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
Staff ,food, were great But everything was broken for activities Dive boat sun fish no snorkeling either But our room was great on ocean so you get lulled to sleep listening to ocean threw loitered screens with AC on No music for happy hour and no town really
4 out of 5
by marc

Romantic

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Idelic romantic hideaway. Remote from town. Right on the beach, surf was a bit noisy at night, no glass windows, just luvers and screens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

20th Anniversary Trip

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Pros: We loved that the resort was small and quiet. Very relaxing and peaceful.
Cons: Our suite had one air conditioner in the sitting room. I would suggest that that air conditioner be in the bedroom or adding stand up fans to help air
Location: there are a couple of other beaches to visit but no need when you have the beach that this resort has!
My husband & I traveled to Canouan for our anniversary trip. After searching every island in the Caribbean we kept coming back to Tamarind because we loved that it offered the rooms on the beach and it seemed to be a quiet & relaxing atmosphere. We were not disappointed at all. We loved everything about our stay from being the only people on our beach a few days in a row, wonderful food & a staff that was attentive to our needs and took the time to get to know us as we did them. I only gave the room comfort a 4 because all the rooms are louvered & the one air conditioner in our suite didn't seem to keep us cool enough as we slept. But we loved being able to hear the waves crash all night long. I would suggest the catamaran day trip to Tobago Cays & Mayreaux. It was so much fun to see the Cays & snorkel with the turtles. Canouan is a beautiful island and the wonderful staff at the resort will take care you! We can't wait to return!
4 out of 5
by Paul from Rosamond, Cailfornia

Beautiful place

Posted May 4, 2015 on Hotels
Everyone was super friendly and the beach was wonderful. Hope to make it back.
5 out of 5
by Richard from Devizes

Utterly amazing service!

Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Hotels
We had a superb week at the Tamarind Beach Hotel. The service was wonderful. Felix from the restaurant, Rosita, Floyd and numerous others made our stay truly special. I cannot help but feel concerned for the hotel'sfuture, as it falls between two stools. Historically this must have been THE luxury hotel in Canouan, nowadays surpassed by the islands newest resort. I'm relieved we chose as we did. Whilst the rooms may be slightly tired, they are more than adequate, and this is more than made up for by the position, staff service and opportunities to engage with local residents. Unlike larger gated complexes, the staff at Tamarind are happy to explain were that night's entertainment is to be found. Wednesday is Casablanca del Mar, a small choice from the bbq and a bar til early hours. The Mangrove is open all week but has live music Friday evening. Tiptoes is saturday night, though we didn't get there. Ask reception and they'll ring "Scoopy", the local taxi guy. He'll take you anywhere on the island and back for EC$20. Try it, the island is great and full of good people. I feel the Tamarind Beach Hotel's future lies in making the most of the islanders hospitality, and visa versa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nichols Hills, OK

Great hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: nothing
Location: On the beach. Golf available on island.
Could not have been better. We had a suite with two full baths.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C.

Prepare for a more rustic experience than the phot

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Well, they provide mosquito repellant in the rooms if that's a hint. The beach is lovely and the island is very small so this is probably the nicest option on the island, but it is a basic hotel that is older and could really use some basic upgrades. The toilet didn't flush, the tub had rust stains, and the king-sized bed was two twine pushed together. I kept falling into the crease between the two mattresses. I could have ignored the old linens and whatnot, but we spent a lot of time in the room because it rained a lot while we were there. If you will only sleep there, this is ok but not worth the resort price.