Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very mordern rooms. great stay.

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: The food was great.
Cons: The entrance to get to the receptionist area.
Location: volcano is a must .
Food was out of this world, it was buffet for all meals. Some of the restaurants like Jacks and the Italian restaurant was closed. but the bay restaurant made up for it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel but very poor service!

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Unfortunately, during our time at Buccament the majority of staff was on strike. However, the few that were there did an amazing job doing everything. The food was a big disappointment and 2 of their resteraunts a were not open, the steakhouse and the cafe. Therefore, every meal was eaten at the beach club. For a five-star, all inclusive resort, this was truly a disappointment and I will not return nor recommend this resort to anyone until all of the management issues have been resolved.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Very disappointing. Advertised as a 5 star. I'm sure it was when it was built. There are so many problems that need to be addressed. We were never sure where we were going to be eating dinner. Had to check each afternoon because only one or two of the restaurants were open. Breakfast and lunch were the same buffet with limited lukewarm choices every day. The bar closed 2 evenings when we were there at 6:00 p.m. leaving nothing for guests to do. No entertainment. Very dark, needs more lighting at night. No activities at the hotel. Beach towels never available, ended up keeping ours for the time we were there just to make sure we had one. One of the pools was closed for 5 days because it was green. On an upbeat note, the staff, when they were there, because they were striking, were very friendly, and went out of their way to help. Unfortunately for the wonderful people of St. Vincent, I can't imagine the resort functioning and receiving guests for much longer unless something is done.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

Well-kept facility

Posted Dec 3, 2016
We booked this place for our anniversary based on the positive reviews we got from friends and family who stayed here before. We heard about the great steaks at Jack's steakhouse which increased our anticipation and the dessert and ice cream palour. When we got there and attempted to make a reservation for the steakhouse we were told due to a flood the country suffered back in 2013 the restaurant was closed to facilitate repairs. After hearing the disappointing news we attempted to reserve at the Italian restaurant but was told that was also closed at the moment but should be opening soon. Fast forward, we had to eat dinner at the main restaurant which was okay. The second night we got the option to dine at safran restaurant where had a pleasant experience. Amid the dessert and ice cream palour remains closed and the staff seemed very surprised when we enquired. The staff seemed demotivated execute their duties with little or no enthusiasm. The guy that does the BBQ works hard and should be given a break in between. Orenzo at the front desk was also very welcoming and went the extra mile to make us comfortable. The facility was well-kept, housekeeping came daily, items in the mini refrigerator was replenished often. We enjoyed the plunge pool, the beach and the villa itself. I am not sure if I would revisit this place again or maybe until the what seems to be financial issues have been sorted out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario

Beautiful Resort but Major Problems

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Set amongst the mountains right on the beach.
Cons: Staff the restaurants so they are opened for the guests.
Location: Gorgeous snorkeling right from the beach.
The resort is absolutely beautiful but having financial difficulties. The restaurants were often not open leaving the buffet to handle all the guests. The explanation from the manager was that the Staff did not show up to work. Upon further questioning, the staff said they hadn't been paid since September. The ones that were sticking around were hoping for a take over so they still had job. The pool was going green and the general maintenance was falling apart. It's too bad because as I mentioned the resort was beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint John NB

Beautiful Resort with Mountain and Beach views

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: The ocean and lush mountain views
Cons: More grounds staff, when one walked towards the garden villas of the resort the grounds needed more attention.
Location: Sunset cruise every Friday night and sea caves just around the corner.
This is a beautiful resort with spectacular views of the lush St. Vincent foliage. Some of the best food we've ever eaten in the Caribbean. The beachfront villa we had was very spacious, clean and well laid out. Our villa was the only private 2 bedroom beachfront, with a private plunge pool. It was on the main path of the wait staff, so there was no running dry while being in your private pool on the beach. All in all the resort was just fantastic and a real hidden Caribbean gem! Now the bad.... After arriving we find out that Harlequin is going into receivership. We did notice and had some minor issues during our stay. We did have to make adjustments on a few occasions. However, the issues we had were not staff related and it was out of there control. Buccament Bay Resort has some of the best staff we have ever come across during our many years of travel. At the end of the day with all the hiccups, we had a fantastic trip and loved the resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

My 2nd Experience did not match my 1st Experience

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: The staff at the hotel was nice and friendly, notably the manager and an employee at the Safan restaurant were very accommodating.
Cons: Towel shortage at the pool/beachside. HQ cafe was often closed & Bay restaurant had a limited menu, no longer offered pizza and cutters during the day
Location: This hotel is approximately 45 minutes from town. When to get to town you can get a ferry to visit Bequia, Mustique or Tobago Cays.
This was my second time visiting Buccament Bay. I went there in January 2016, and I enjoyed it soooo much, that I recommended it to a number of my friends and also decided to visit it another time myself . I must say I was disappointed. The quality of the product being offered declined significantly from January to November 2016. There was a decrease in the variety of drinks and the quantity and variety of food. My expectations based on my previous experience was not met. Despite the disappointment, I still enjoyed myself, but compared to the first time the change was noticeable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TT

Loved the place, loved the people, loved the food

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Free upgrade to a Deluxe Garden Villa, luxurious rooms, spa-like bathroom, private plunge pool, LaVazza espresso machine in room, well-stocked fridge
Cons: The restaurants closed sporadically, even with reservations. The coffee shop was closed for a whole day. There were times when you couldn't get a bite
Location: The drive up to the hotel is a little scary. There's not much to do nearby. Tours are pricey but you won't want to leave the hotel anyways.
The hotel is about 30-45 minutes from the airport. The drive is scenic but the entrance to the hotel is a bit scary. It's a busy place for locals including fishermen. It almost feels like a back entrance but it's not. The reception was lovely and we were upgraded to a Deluxe Garden View Villa (from Elaenia Suite) for free. We were 'driven' to the villa on a small golf cart. The room was super luxurious and very clean. We enjoyed a private plunge pool. The bathroom was spa-like. The shower area contained a rain shower with jets and loose pebble floor topped with a wooden crate for draining. The room also contained a Lavazza espresso machine (and lavazza coffee pods) of which we made full use. You're provided with milk, shandy, pepsi, sprite and bottled water in the fridge - replenished frequently. The resort is beautiful during the day. The place could do with better lighting at nights. The service was great throughout. The food was great and when the coffee house was open, their offerings were superb. The one downside we found was that restaurants closed sporadically, even with reservations. HQ (the coffee house and one place to get snacks outside of meal times) was closed for a full day without prior notice / alternative arrangements. The kitchen at The Bay (the only other place apart from HQ to get a snack) was also closed without notice on that same day. Guests were left without meal/snack options for a window between lunch and dinner that day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad W.I

Breath taking view, magnificent location

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: I must say that the location of this Resort is fabulous. The hotel is surrounding by the beach on one side and green majestic mountain on the other. There are four restaurants situated in the resort which provide a wide variety of food to suit everyone needs. Tours can be arranged very easy and you can walk to your room or get carried with the assistance of a cart. There's not just one but three, two gigantic pool {to state how big} and a kids pool. There is enough beach chairs as well as pool chairs.
Cons: Though not much not to like but I must say that one service was on a scale of 3 {1-5}. I reported two separate problems in my room and it took two day each to fix. I believe that room was supposed to be checked before arrival. Also room was dusty on arrival, in my opinion it wasn't swept and to strengthen my case on the days I saw the cleaner and when she came to our room she never came with a broom to sweep same, even when we were leaving the room and the cleaner was cleaning it for new guest she didn't even have a broom to sweep and no it wasn't outside I looked. The plunge pool in the room wasn't clean at all, it was still dirty. Have to buy an adapter to use electrical ports from reception. I believe that it should have for each room and not the guests to buy. {Only $5 US for one}
Location: Nothing real nearby but a few salesmen who sell fish and souvenirs. Anew health center is being built and almost complete. That is basically it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from r

Miss-selling this hotel as luxury

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: Beach and sea other than that nothing here but boat trip to other islands at extra cost was nice the people of st Vincent are warm and frendly. the hotel there was nothing to like!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The senery is lovely but saying that does not make up for a shoddy hotel with health and safety issues that other travel agents have recognised so much so they don't sell this resort
Cons: This hotel has a serious health and safety issues. Reheated leftovers form night before for breakfast and lunch. Some days no breakfast lunch left 1 hour after venue opened and no daytime snacks most days. Dirty beds bedding left for 14 nights not changed lack of towels. Make a booking for evening food venue days before and wait 2 hours to be seated or the venue just closed without notice no sports or activities as avertised. No security real issues here !! Place is falling to bits. Screws falling out decking cutting feet mould round plunge pools. swimming pools closed due to filter probs Real issues with this resort I have emailed Expedia about the miss-selling but no reply !!!!
Location: Other islands