Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2016
es war schön aber die Heizung hat nicht funktioniert und das zimmer war klein
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

TV Control

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: Frontal approach to Hotel and building impressive. Lounges were adequate.
Cons: A local street map pinned to a public area wall would have been useful. Say, a large and small scale of streets and Stoke-on-Trent area?
Location: Obviously excellent for taxi-rank and station. Notice of location of taxi-rank perhaps on public wall.
Only there for 1 night. A list of TV & Radio channels would have saved a lot of frustration. And some simple instructions on how to access Text (Red Button) on BBC channels. Room could have been a little cooler, but that requires A/C (expensive I suppose). Room 104. Noisy Air blower just outside window. Could not have open window at night. A notice highlighting the zones of Wi-Fi were operating. (Bar & Lounge).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Very old hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Shabby chic.
Cons: Some refurbishment would help.
Location: Train spotting and pottery shopping.
The parking lot has deep pot holes and the building shows its age. It opened in 1849! However, it appears to be popular and is very busy with seniors, perhaps on budget tours. it is across the street from the train station.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel town not far away walk at all

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Stayed one night everything you needed in room paid good price
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Kath from Nuneaton

Hotel did the job but very poor breakfast experien

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
Don't bother with the breakfast if you're a veggie. Also it was hard work, there were no trays so you had to make continual trips to and from your table. Tea cups were tiny too and no teapots. It just felt really poorly thought through and cheap although £7.50 per head. Wish we'd had breakfast elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by MARIA from Yeading

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Breakfast was quite expensive for what you had, they were advertising continental. There was toast and tinned fruit. Room view was the back of a building. Room was quite old and dated.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cornwall

Poor, so dissapointed

Posted May 12, 2016
I had the worst 2 nights sleep off my life, the constant noise of the air conditioning units right outside our window were running all day and night that was all i could here. The matteress was worn out lumpy and so uncomfortable I was in agony in the morning. The bath was a good size and had a jacuzzi setting that didn't work, was gutted after seeing it and looking forward to jumping in. One sugar and hardly any milk so couldn't enjoy a cup of tea. We had s meal on the night we got there which was not good my partners couldn't eat her lasagna as it was tasteless and gristly meal. My mix grill was not even a patch on a wetherspoons breakfast!! Such s shame as it could make a lovely hotel with some updating and care.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't bother.

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
Got there to no parking. So had to pull over and give the hotel a call. They were really unhelpful and couldn't care in the slightest. Then when I eventually made it in and got to the room. The bath and shower were absolutely vile. It's very outdated and I wouldn't bother with it again. So many better cost hotels out there. Very convenient for train station though.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worth returning

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
My comments relate to the North Stafford Hotel in comparison with others of similar type and age. The carpets are in need of replacement, but wear is from customers' continuous foot traffic. I was most impressed by the helpfulness and courtesy of the reception staff.