Ratings based on 460 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice small hotel close to the Stamford and Darien

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: The friendly charm of the desk personnel and the staff, their interest in making your stay with them very confortable adding to this old world flavor.
Cons: I am not very technical when it comes to manipulating the TV clicker...others may find it perfectly natural...assistance from the staff was immediate.
Location: Quietly located off the busy street behind the Taco Bell on the corner, walkable to convenient shops in one direction and busy Stamford in the other.
This is my third visit, it is smaller than the larger hotel chains but maintains an old world charm. It is close to the Railroad station and the city of Stamford and very near the Town of Darien.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Nice clean hotel. Great place to stay for a short trip. Really enjoyed my time here. Would definitely think about staying here again in the future. Quick check in as well. Good staff. Amenities are kind of lacking but I didn't intend to use them. Yupppppppppppppppppp
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: close to where to my destination
Cons: upgrade to the room and will be good. room looks old. but good thing is the room is clean and the hotel overall looks clean.
Location: close to the mall and to everything.
stayed only for a night. checked in with no hassle. check in was quick and i was able to get to my room quickly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

On a budget hotel close to downtown.

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Price and location.
Location: City center 10 to 15 minute walk away.
Clean rooms and courteous staff. Facility is old and a bit tired. Ample parking included. Breakfast was included but a bit sparse in selection and variety. Short walk to downtown center. Half the price of 'brand name' hotels close by. Bargain if you need a place to sleep and you are on a budget.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

No iron in room cable not working

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Go to another hotel was not what was expected service subpar, no vending machines, ice not readily available
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad location Very rough area of Stamford.

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Location: Bad location in the roughest part of Stamford. Not seen as a nice place by the family.
I Went to Stamford to visit a sick uncle and to accompany my aunt whom wanted to see her brother alive. We arrived at the Amsterdam at about 4 p.m. We left our luggage and went immediately to the hospital. We returned a two hours later. When we arrived we noticed an argument outside the hotel and we noticed that the area was definitively not safe. I went and got my luggage and went to the desk and advised them of my departure. The staff was very professional and polite and not to be to blame. This hotel is situated in a very rough area of Stamford. This information was confirmed to us during the week after speaking with family member. I am sorry but Expedia did not do their homework on this one. In the past Expedia has always been right on. I have never had any problems in the past. This time however I was very disappointed in Expedia. Yesterday the minute I arrived in Montreal my first call was to Expedia and advised them of my experience. I feel that Expedia should reimburse me in full I have advised them and I await a favourable reply. I would appreciate a call back soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2016 by Sales Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir We are actually not in a rough area of Stamford at all. The hotel 4 minutes walk to Stamford center the Mall and some of the best restaurants in Stamford. We are also adjacent to the Sheraton hotel and around the corner from the Marriott hotel. So we are very surprised that you did not feel safe. But we do appreciate your feedback. Regards DR Gray Sales Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Good hotel, close to restaurants and train

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Proximity to NY and restaurants 10-15 mins walk away
Cons: Install fans in washrooms to get rid of the moisture
Location: already said
Had a nice saty, very useful if you want to be close to NY and not having to travel to the city. The hotel is good but the bathrooms need a fan, the moisture builds up really fast and tough to get rid of.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Easy to find

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Worst bed we have slept in in a long time..If you like hard mattresses, this is your stop. Breakfast consists of coffee & doughnuts. We went next door to Taco Bell Did find an amazing Mexican restaurant within walking distance for dinner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Great deal in Stamford but not for all .....

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Rate and convenience
Cons: Needs updating all around but then the $ will hop up also
Location: Central Stamford ......did not have time to explore
Hotel was fine .....basic and clean but on the old-style side. Perfect for what I needed and would use again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

decent place, a bit pricey and below par breakfast

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
overall it's decent, apart from breakfast