Ratings based on 551 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ct

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Older hotel, clean, very nice staff, close to the train station
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax NS Canada

Up and coming

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Staff were lovely - very helpful.
Cons: Update the décor. New wall paper, bedspreads, drapes would make a big difference. At he moment it is very old fashioned and dated.
Location: The location is perfect, very accessible from the highway but the rooms were quiet. Restaurants, liquor store, pharmacy all within walking distance.
The hotel is on the cusp of being great - BUT at the moment it is rather "shabby chic". The décor is dated and there are some glitches in the system (elevator at first did not go above the 3rd floor, air conditioner did not work in the room)). When we asked to be moved to a lower room so we wouldn't have to walk up the extra flights and would have a working AC, the staff was cordial and accommodated us immediately. They are trying very hard!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Cheaper than near by Convention hosting hotels.

Posted Oct 18, 2017
At near by conventions, I usually sleep on the floor with a camping matt while sharing a room with at least one person. Couldn't get a roommate this time so I stayed here to save about $26 a night after tax and fees compared to the convention rate(non convention rate would have been about $45 in savings) for the hosting hotel. The bed was not much better than sleeping on the floor with the camping matt I bring for such. On the bright side they have a simple but free breakfast, something you can easily take on the go. The convention hosting hotels charge about $20 plus tax and tip for the hot breakfast buffet. This place has no hot food but I was able to super quickly grab an apple and banana to take with me as a snack later, and grab a bagel or muffin with some orange juice. All at no extra charge, not only did it save me the money for such food bought elsewhere, it saved me the time to go shopping and/or hassle of having to bring my own food to the hotel, or pay $20 for the hot breakfast buffet at the convention hosting hotel. I will consider staying again but would also consider trying hotel Zero Degrees near by for the first time. If this hotel has a bed just as bad next time, I have to strongly consider going else where,even if at an extra cost. If I had someone else who wants to split the cost, in that case, sleeping on the floor again with a matt would make the bed quality irrelevant. Do not think you will impress a girlfriend by bringing her here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jamestown NY

Great find

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Located hotel while driving; great find at the end of a long, tiring day. Clean, comfy, friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Old hotel but clean and comfy

Posted Oct 14, 2017
The hotel is old but the room was clean and comfy. The staff was very friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stamford, CT

Needs updating

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Very1970s, convient downtown location. This place needs updating desperately.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable and a great value.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Although the building and furnishings are older, the hotel has a very classy, classic feel. Room was clean and comfortable, staff was helpful and price was right.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing, accommodating friendly staff!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Such a friendly hotel staff! Room was neat & tidy as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by DRG, Hotel Management
Dear Sir or Madam Thank you so much for your comments. We look forward to seeing you back D R Gray Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from stamford ct

I checked in and window ac was not working

Posted Aug 21, 2017
The ac filter was clogged and smelled like smoke. Lavatory sink clogged Bath tub was clogged , and no drain plug so they replaced it and tub worked for one day. Then clogged up again. The shower /to tub function was hard to operate as it was needing to be oiled. The staff lied and made it seem like it was my issue. And I broke my nails trying to pull it out. I told them it needed to be oiled with WD and they finally listened to me and it was repaired. After I asked multiple times. The phones were static and inoperable. The owner or manager double charged me as I booked through Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milford

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Small and dated rooms Clean Nice staff Close to downtown