Ratings based on 214 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Absolutely fabulous stay with wonderful staff!!!

Posted Aug 26, 2015
We loved our stay at the J house. Reasonably priced luxury. Wonderful location. Walk to Balduccis, dry cleaners, nail salon. Best of all the staff made us feel so welcome. If you are traveling with a pet, the outside rooms make the experience so easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Twice I requested wake-up calls at 5:00 AM and both times they were NOT made. Fortunately, my wife and I awoke early enough to NOT MISS OUR FLIGHT. What if we awoke too late and missed our flight out of Westchester airport? Would the hotel have reimbursed us? Howard C. Bedford
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Renovated Howard Johnsons in a great way!

Posted Aug 3, 2015
The redesign of the hotel includes all the modern conveniences done in a hip comfortable style. The manager brings his A game as did the wait staff. Front desk staff left a lot to be desired! Food was very good, if a bit pricey. My room was not made up once during my 3 night stay and the tv in the bath did not work, none of those did I bring to the attention of management as this was a business trip and a tv in the bath that didn't work was made up for by a WC that did everything but talk to me. The WiFi was terribly slow which did put a damper on working in my room. The hotel staff reported that this was being addressed. All in all a great first impression that left me feeling just a little disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Allentown,PA

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2015
This is an excellent hotel with state of the art amenities. The bathrooms are amazing and the rooms are spacious and very comfortable and everything is controlled at your bedside. The hotel staff is so kind and cannot do enough for you. They have a cafe inside the hotel as well as a beautiful dining are.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Very chic hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2015
We had a great time staying at the J House. The staff was super friendly, even making conversation with us. The rooms were spacious, comfy and clean. The lighting was soft and great for our kid. No complaints here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Worcester, MA

"Urban-Esque" decor,modern minimalisticstyling

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: The urban feel - very modern, clean, simple.
Cons: iPad controls everything in the room & provides vital guest service info, should be checked daily by housekeeping to ensure iPad is properly charging
Location: Conveniently located right off I-95. Onsite restaurant & lounge are pricey, but trendy. Hotel does provide shuttle for local shops & restaurants.
Made our reservation and prepaid thru Expedia. Only one employee at check-in desk so we had a short wait to check-in as he was assisting another guest with scheduling shuttle service and pointing out shops, eateries in the area. Very nice upscale hotel; grounds, hallways, common areas all very clean and staff were very helpful and polite. They upgraded us to a suite when we checked in and explained an iPad in our room would allow us to control all the lights, shades, order room service and other guest services we might need. Unfortunately, the docking station for our iPad was not working and the battery was pretty much dead which made adjusting the lights challenging as well as the shades, and since there is none of the 'usual' guest service info in the room we had to walk down to the front desk to get a menu - and then call the front desk so he could place our order. For a hotel so reliant on modern technology for just about everything, they need to have a better system to handle guest service needs when the primary system (in room iPad) fails. The desk clerk did offer to send a maintenance engineer to our room as soon as possible to replace the docking station - but my husband was ill and trying to rest so that was not an option for us. Despite the major inconvenience it was still a very nice hotel, with a very clean, minimalistic, simple style so our room was very spacious, uncluttered, and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great decor... Terrible service

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Decor
Cons: Service
Maybe I stayed at a bad time but could not get service at all. Invited five to seven friends to join me for drinks and I had very poor service in the lounge. I could not get the attention of the bartenders either of the two times we gathered there. In addition, even though I prepaid through Expedia , they left another room charge under my door for a different figure. When confronted on this they said it was a mistake and apologized for the second bill. I am not sure the staff are experienced in the hotel industry . The rooms and facilities were very nice but the service Fell very short....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Business overnight

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: I liked the modern aesthetic
Cons: Everything in the room was supposed to be controlled by the iPad. However, the interface on the iPad didn't function but I was comfortable anyway.
The room was comfortable and clean. Check in and out was efficient and fast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Very cool vibe, great staff and comfortable & spacious rooms!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from l

Posted Jun 6, 2015
super,nice location,nice staff,nice room, would come sgain