Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford, England

Just fabulous

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The traditional feel of the place.
Cons: There was nothing we disliked about this hotel.
Location: Stanhope is beautiful and peaceful. It is located so close to New York and yet feels a thousand miles away! Great restaurants and friendly locals.
What a wonderful B&B! This was just a great experience staying in a traditional American house. The house was beautiful with an amazing atmosphere. The rooms cozy, clean and well equipped and the host wonderfully friendly. Breakfast superb (as was the sherry)! We can't wait to return one day.
4 out of 5
by Timothy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Kathy from New Jersey

B & B get-a-way.

Posted Dec 10, 2015 on Hotels
We used this to stay after our granddaughters first birthday party. We were going back to our daughter's the next day and didn't want to make the drive back and forth. Very nice place to stay. Breakfast was excellent. It was so good I got the recipe for it. We will be staying there again I am sure.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Charles, La

Posted Oct 26, 2015
This one lived up to it's billing. Clean rooms, and the breakfast Sunday morning was excellent!
5 out of 5
by Frank

Delightful!

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed at the Whistling Swan for our High School reunion. We were greeted warmly by the owner who made us feel very welcome! Our room was very quaint, quiet, and comfortable. The breakfast was homemade, prepared fresh every morning. Delicious! We would definitely return and recommend the B&B to everyone!
5 out of 5
by Louis from New York

Our Favorite B & B

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
This is the third weekend that my partner and I booked at the Whistling Swan Inn and each stay was comfortable and relaxing. We made use of the Jacuzzi in our Walnut Valley Suite as well as the Inn's common areas where we enjoyed tea, coffee and snacks. Every breakfast that we experienced was tasty and all the offerings were fresh and nicely presented. Beyond the Inn itself, there are several fine New Jersey State Parks within a few minutes driving and the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area about 30 minutes west. My favorite local spot in Steven's State Park on Waterloo Village Road. If you prefer the bright lights and big city, the Swan is only a hour from New York City all that it has to offer. I find little fault with The Whistling Swan, the Innkeepers, Tom and Ros, the food and accommodations. I recommend it highly.
5 out of 5
by Kenneth from Washington Twp., NJ

Nice Surprise

Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels
What a pleasant surprise. It was a warm, inviting inn. A beautiful double decker pond with beautiful fish in the garden. Staff were always helpful and pleasant. Owner very personable. Amenities galore in this B&B. There is a buffet server that always has snacks, homemade cookies, homemade brownies available. There is also a keurig for coffee and tea available all the time. In addition there is a small refrigerator stocked with drinks for guests. Breakfast was great...an inviting buffet along with one entree that is made to order. We got the cheapest room, but don't let that deter you. The room was very comfortable. We peeked in other rooms and all were very nice. Would definitely recommend this B & B
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A true Gem

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels
This place is charming, and the room lovely and the inn keeper nice!
5 out of 5
by Robert from St. Louis

Whistling Swan - Great choice

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels
Great food, great atmosphere,excellent service. Roz and her staff make everyone feel at home. Great change of pace from staying in the hustle and bustle of hotels.
3 out of 5
by E.K.

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels