Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2018
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 8, 2018
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Perfect

Posted Apr 29, 2018
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Perfect location for Beamish.
This is our second time staying at the hotel, from booking in at reception to our evening meal & breakfast the next morning everything was absolutely perfect, the staff couldn't be more helpful & the hotel was immaculate .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Well placed hotel.

Posted Apr 13, 2018
Very handy for visiting Beamish Museum and the locale. Splendid building in good condition and very clean. Nice and arm in all rooms. Food is very good - try the annexed Stables Restautrant. Value for money booking through Expedia.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small rooms and a bad bed

Posted Apr 9, 2018
The photos look great, but the room was tiny, the bed looked like an orignial feature and the mattress came with the original house. The staff are nice, ni complaint with them. The "malfunction" of the fire alarm that miralulously went on for 15 seconds was suspicious to say the least. Conveneinet to get all the hungover wedding guests up for breakfast. And for a hotel attached to its own micro brewery to serve off beer and not have a replacement keg on had is very poor indeed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

A lovely situation

Posted Apr 8, 2018
Pros: The setting, the character and the elegance of the foyer. The bedroom was comfortable and clean and the staff were friendly.
Cons: An indoor route to the Stables Restaurant would be good. And the inclusion of cold meats and cheese in the continental breakfast selection.
Location: The setting is very rural, and there does not seem to be anywhere else to eat or drink nearby. It is ideally situated for Beamish Museum, however.
The hotel is beautiful. In a perfect rural setting,it is very convenient for your visit to the Beamish Museum.The rooms are of average size, clean and comfortable, in an olde worlde style. I am unsure how anyone with mobility problems would cope, however, as there seems to be very restricted lift availability. I would stay in this hotel again, but have a couple of negatives. The breakfast is quite expensive for a very limited continental selection, and very expensive for a cooked breakfast. Also a disadvantage is that the Stables Bar and Restaurant is situated behind the hotel, reached via a walk around the outside of the hotel. A very pleasant stroll on a fine evening, but we had to do it in pouring rain and our smart evening clothes were soaked!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newcastle upon Tyne

Posted Mar 11, 2018
Birthday surprise and loved everything, food , staff and room all fabulous we will definitely be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sunderland

Brilliant hotel great staff

Posted Mar 4, 2018
I stayed at this hotel for 2 night for a wedding I was bridesmaid for the first night was freezing although the staff did provide a additional 2 heaters it still didn’t head the room however with the horrendous snow we had I can’t blame the hotel they did try there best 2nd night was lovely a warm :). The hotel provided the perfect service and also assisted people driving home who were unable to get up the bank due to snow by towing them up in there landrovers would happily go back only downside is it was abit pricey
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Winter festival

Posted Jan 29, 2018
Had a great time at the festival hotel staff brilliant so friendly. Only problem we had there were not enough places to sit....
3 out of 5
by Barbara

View to see John

Posted Jan 5, 2018 on Hotels
We were given a small room when our daughter had booked a deluxe room we got that sorted and found the heating which included the towel rail not working. The manager came and gave us a bottle of wine which was very nice .We found the staff very helpful