Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lancashire

The hotel looks great from the outside

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: The only thing was the fact it was an old building and had character , from the outside.
Cons: The bedrooms need updating and modernising . A deluxe room should be deluxe not the fact that it's bigger...which it wasn't.
Location: Beamish museum.
We booked a deluxe room for our ruby wedding aniversary . To say it was basic was putting it mildly. When I asked if we'd been given the wrong room, they said no as a deluxe room just means it's bigger. Well it wasn't. No items you usually get In a deluxe room..dressing gowns, slippers, fridge etc. Was thoroughly disappointed and it spoilt our night. Wouldn't stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Lovely wedding venue lovely rooms beautiful location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Hotel in quiet countryside location

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Every member of staff that we met had a smile on their face. It is a 'happy hotel'. The quality of food was excellent in the Stables and Eden Room.
Cons: Anyone with mobility problems should ensure the location of their room. To reach ours many steps both up and down had to be negotiated.
Location: Durham, Newcastle, Sunderland are all within easy reach. The coast is 20 mins away. Weardale and Teasdale, are close by. Beamish Museum next door.
Beamish Hall has a country house atmosphere with décor to match. If gyms/swimming pools are a pre-requisite this is not the place. It has a quiet dignified atmosphere set in a parkland environment with extensive parking facilities. It is within easy reach of many places of interest, in fact the access road passes through part of the Beamish Museum complex. For those wanting a quiet, relaxing break in pleasant surroundings, with quality food, we would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newmarket Suffolk

Very good Hotel ideal for a weekend break away.

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: Very nice grounds and the hotel looks good one of the nicest Best Western Hotels in the group.
Location: We selected this hotel as it was close to the Beamish out door museum which is only 2 or 3 minutes away.
An excellent hotel located in well kept grounds. The hotel has an excellent restaurant but best to book a table as it gets quite busy most evenings. Attached to the Stables restaurant is the "Micro Brewery" I have to say they had 7 or 8 different beers on tap and they were some of the best I have tried in a very long time. Of course it would be rude not to try them all! Really friendly staff in all areas all were keen to make our stay an enjoyable experience. One thing that you have to look out for is the lift, it's quite small when you have suitcases with you and beware of the inner door. When it closes as it has a bite worse than "Arkwrights" till in Open all Hours! Once you know you can keep your elbows in. :-)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Beverley from Liverpool

Weekend away

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
Relaxing stay with good service
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Time for new beds?

Posted Feb 15, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely staff- fantastic area. Great Staples Bar - excellent choice of micro brewed beers. However the bed was too spongy and consequently affected the sleep quality unfortunately- my partner far more than me- felt like she had been battered! The room and bathroom were not the largest we have been in- a small quadrant shower and you couldn't get the kettle under the small sink & tap- says it all really. Didn't eat here since breakfast was a mere £12.50 each! Nice joint would visit again if in the are - fantastic scenes in the gardens and also in the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jeanette

Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for one night. Had a lovely meal in the stables restaurant and a couple of quite drinks next to log fire. Couldn't fault a thing with this hotel. Would definitely go again.