Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely stately house hotel but needs some tlc

Posted Jun 4, 2017
We stayed here for a family wedding, as the reception was being held in the hotel, too The hotel itself, and its grounds, are beautiful. An old Manor House - very grand and in an idyllic location. The room where the reception was held was lovely, too. The staff were brilliant and the room we stayed in was spotlessly clean, if a little tired (though that kind suitedthe style of the hotel, being in a grand old house). Breakfast, too, was good. What let the hotel down were the following: - problems with the wifi. It was intermittent and was only available in certain parts of the room (I could connect in the bathroom, but not in bed). As the hotel is in the countryside and hasn't got much in the way of 3G or 4G, not having reliable wifi was really inconvenient - no aircon. It was a muggy couple of June nights and the room was freakin' boiling! A fan was provided but was pretty ineffective - cold shower. On our last morning there was no hot water! Unforgivable! Especially given what we'd paid for the room (£200 for the Friday night). In fairness, though, for the price we paid, we did get an absolutely massive room, but for me that wasn't enough to compensate for its deficiencies. All in all, while hotel was nice, there were too many factors that let it down. Especially given the price tag for the room, which is on a par with higher end hotels in London, where such issues wouldn't be considered at all acceptable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Quiet relaxing time

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Large room clean great breakfadt
Cons: Carpet on stairs little tired looking
Location: Pleasant location golf course nearby lovely surroundings
Facilities were very good excellent hotel for quiet weekend plenty walks in surrounding area easily to find would visit again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, UK

Lovely hotel in stunning grounds

Posted May 13, 2017
Attended a wedding and stayed the night. Reception staff could not be more friendly or accommodating. Beautiful setting and characterful building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.

Comfortable and well sited

Posted Apr 23, 2017
On arrival we were greeted by a friendly and helpful receptionist. Our room on the first floor was spacious with a well appointed bathroom. Comfortable beds added to enjoyment of our stay. The Stables restaurant provided a superb dinner whilst a tasty breakfast was enjoyed in the Eden morning room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochdale

Very pleasant stay

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Very friendly & helpful staff. Room was spotlessly clean with large bathroom & plenty of hot water for bath or shower. Only downside was the bed- not very comfortable and quite small. Very nice food in Stables restaurant, great service & pleasant atmosphere. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Lovely hotel in the country, with beautiful views

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Quiet and secluded
Cons: Suited our needs
Location: Close to Beamish Museum
Enjoyed our stay, our room was very comfortable with plenty of tea and coffee. Beautiful scenery and lovely walks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Close to Beamish Museum

Posted Apr 13, 2017
A very comfortable hotel with restaurant and bar meals. Very convenient for Beamish Museum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from durham

Nice hotel very worm and helpful staff

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Very friendly staff very nice hotel breakfast was fantastic would definitely recommend this fantastic place
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Staff were helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was good.The room was satisfactory but the bathroom very small especially the sink which was tiny. The hotel has the feel of one geared towards weddings and conferences rather than for occasional guests. Perfect location for visiting Beamish open air museum.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very noisy and uncomfortable

Posted Mar 2, 2017
A nice hotel with lovely grounds and excellent staff. The food was excellent unfortunately it was very noisy all weekend and the bed and pillows weee very uncomfortable. The lack of sleep took the shine off the weekend which was not expected considering the price of the room.