Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelso Scottish Borders

Very nice hotel with great bar and restaurant

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Loved staying here the rooms were very clean and comfortable. The bar and restaurant are amazing. It's only a 15-20 mins walk to beamish museum which is a must visit if your staying here. Overall had a great experience staying at the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lincoln

Character hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: location and surrounding grounds and character of the building.
Cons: Signs on the ancient trees saying how old and what they are. Information as to how old the building is and who was there before. Larger beds
Location: wonderful for beamish museum and not far from durham city
charming hotel and grounds with antique furniture and nice quiet bedrooms. Bed was a little small and soft, but little touches (eg weather of the day and info on printed paper sheet delivered to rooms)/toileteries were great. Dinner in the evening was amazing and the best meal we have ever had in a hotel - well done chef. Could have had complimentary peanuts or grapes or something small whilst we had to wait for our meal as we waited for nearly 45 minutes. Drink prices were very good as was the food. Will definitely come again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Beautiful hotel and location

Posted Jul 2, 2017
The hotel is a beautiful large house that has been converted into a hotel. The rooms are furnished with antique furniture and have everything that you need. The bathrooms are modern and spotlessly clean. The breakfast is impressive and the Stables restaurant and bar serve good food at reasonable prices. Excellent beers made in the brewery went down a treat
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location central for sight seeing

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: The staff.
Cons: The dining room needs updating and A much better menu for residents who wish to celebrate occasions.
Location: Location very close to the beamish museum and golf club and various other places in the area.
Lovely historic building with extensive grounds. We reserved a delux room which had a very nice bathroom, but the bed was very small and furniture old and in need of updating. Good breakfast in hotel dining room but all main meals were from a restaurant outside of hotel building and pub food on menu. The bar in hotel was only open for events and not for residence. The lounge was situated in the reception area and had no inviting atmosphere. The staff were great, friendly and informative.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from N.Lincs

Manor House turned into a very pleasant hotel.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: The peace and quiet plus the excellent staff who certainly looked after you.
Location: Beautiful parkland,Beamish Museum virtually on the doorstep plus Durham a short drive away.
Very nice quiet hotel set in lovely grounds with a well recommended Stables restaurant serving excellent food plus beers from their own micro brewery.Set in parkland but only a few minutes drive from Beamish Musuem and not to far fromDurham.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Lovely hotel Great food in the stables restaurant Friendly staff Great place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Lovely setting. Close to Beamish museum.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: The proximity to Beamish suited us. It was comfortable and provided good facilities.
Cons: There was not enough electric points in the bedroom to charge devices and use tv and kettle at the same time.
Location: Counryside location. Ideal to visit Beamish.
We had a lovely stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely stately house hotel but needs some tlc

Posted Jun 4, 2017
We stayed here for a family wedding, as the reception was being held in the hotel, too The hotel itself, and its grounds, are beautiful. An old Manor House - very grand and in an idyllic location. The room where the reception was held was lovely, too. The staff were brilliant and the room we stayed in was spotlessly clean, if a little tired (though that kind suitedthe style of the hotel, being in a grand old house). Breakfast, too, was good. What let the hotel down were the following: - problems with the wifi. It was intermittent and was only available in certain parts of the room (I could connect in the bathroom, but not in bed). As the hotel is in the countryside and hasn't got much in the way of 3G or 4G, not having reliable wifi was really inconvenient - no aircon. It was a muggy couple of June nights and the room was freakin' boiling! A fan was provided but was pretty ineffective - cold shower. On our last morning there was no hot water! Unforgivable! Especially given what we'd paid for the room (£200 for the Friday night). In fairness, though, for the price we paid, we did get an absolutely massive room, but for me that wasn't enough to compensate for its deficiencies. All in all, while hotel was nice, there were too many factors that let it down. Especially given the price tag for the room, which is on a par with higher end hotels in London, where such issues wouldn't be considered at all acceptable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Quiet relaxing time

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Large room clean great breakfadt
Cons: Carpet on stairs little tired looking
Location: Pleasant location golf course nearby lovely surroundings
Facilities were very good excellent hotel for quiet weekend plenty walks in surrounding area easily to find would visit again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, UK

Lovely hotel in stunning grounds

Posted May 13, 2017
Attended a wedding and stayed the night. Reception staff could not be more friendly or accommodating. Beautiful setting and characterful building.