Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darlington

Wedding guests

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Location, ambience, style, food.
Cons: Better pillows and air conditioning in the bedroom.
Location: We were attending a wedding so didn't go out and about but being relatively local we know there are lots of things nearby to see and do.
We recently attended a wedding and stayed overnight at Beamish Hall. The Hall is an impressive building, in pretty, well-kept grounds and the hotel itself is nicely decorated. The room used for the wedding reception was beautifully dressed and the staff were very attentive, pleasant but not over-fussy. Our bedroom was very nice with a good-sized en-suite. It was however, very warm. A fan had been provided so the hotel are obviously aware of the issue but it really was hot! The bed was very comfortable but would have been even more so if we'd had regular sized pillows, the cushion sized ones were a little odd!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wedding Party

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: setting was amazing.
Cons: Incorporate the room cleaning for wedding guest who are staying overnight into the wedding package so they can be guaranteed their room. Pass message
Location: Beamish museum is close but we just went to wedding then home
Lovely setting and lovely hotel. Staff in reception not the best. Was told wedding was in wrong room. Also buttonhole was left with reception for me and was not told. Did not know until the day if we could be into our room to get dressed for wedding. Not good but they did manage to get our room ready in time unnecessary stress. Wedding was lovely couldn't fault it. Drinks very weak for the price. Rooms very hot no air con just a noisy fan in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well placed for Beamish

Posted Aug 4, 2015
My wife and I took my mother here for a 3 night stay to celebrate her 80th birthday and we all enjoyed the experience. The staff were very friendly and helpful and they changed the room right away to one that suited my mother better. The restaurant in the stables was excellent and the beer from the micro brewery was superb. I think the wine was probably ok too! Breakfasts were great as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Quite clean and comfortable. It's a little on the pricey side thou
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jason from Staffordshire

Exceptional rural hotel half hour from town

Posted May 10, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed here for meetings inhadnin Sunderland but preferred a rural location so I could fit in some running and cycling either end of my working day. It's located within walking distance if the Beamish museum and has a number of bridle ways and disused railway tracks now open to walkers and MTB bikes with excellent road cylcling routes too (4+ national cycle routes nearby). Rooms very comfortable, staff helpful and friendly, great affordable restaurant - (scollops starter and seared tuna main less that £20) did I mention it had a micro brewery on site wih 5+ ales?! All less than half an hour drive from Sunderland. Perfect for my trip in every way, thanks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Good hotel next door to Beamish Museum

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Very interesting grade 2 listed building.
Cons: Less furniture in a small room.
Location: Ideally situated if you want to visit Beamish Museum
Very pleasant hotel, room a little small but adequate, staff very pleasant especially in the restaurant. Food good and not expensive, breakfast cooked to order and a good selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anthony from swansea

great country hotel

Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels
GREAT STAY
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convenient for Beamish

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Have stayed at this hotel several times, but this time was disappointing. I feel they are not up to date with modern amenities. No Wifi in rooms. Room was very small and needs updating. Stayed here because of proximity to Beamish Museum but would look elsewhere. The Stables restaurant is great but closes too early at 9pm. There is no option for a late evening menu which is difficult for business travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Staff were very helpful and polite. Nothing was too much trouble.