Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

A really lovely stay

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: The food and the cleaniness of the room
Location: The Beamish Open Air Museum is literally a stones throw away and Beamish Wild which is a treetop rope adventure course is next door.
My husband and I stayed overnight and what a pleasant night it was. We were greeted with the friendly lady at the check in desk who arranged a booking in the restrurant, the room was cosy and very clean and the bed was really comfortable. The hotel itself is beautiful both inside and out. Our meal at The Stables was delicious and our waiter was so helpful and super friendly, he even told us about the history of the hotel as we'd said we'd been to the Beamish Museum earlier that day and he gave us a little tour of the beer making process they have on site. I couldn't fault anything with this hotel and I would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Beautiful building in an impressive setting.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Staff, style of the place.
Cons: Option of dinner in the dining room in the main house.
Location: Beamish museum is nearby but not walkable. Durham city centre is worth visiting.
The staff are professional and friendly and couldn't be more helpful. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the antique furniture fits with the theme. Breakfast is in the main house in a very nice dining room overlooking the gardens. However dinner is in a pub/ old barn place behind the main building. Not as stylish or 4 star. The courtyard between the barn and hotel is very busy and noisy and we had to negotiate small children running around playing football around the outside tables. Overall we would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Like staying over a Wetherspoons! NOISY!!

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: The room was very attractive, very clean and the over all setting, grounds and the decor were all stunning.
Cons: NOISE!! - deal with the noise as outlined above -this is easy and essential to resolve. COMFORT- the Pillows are just not good enough - period
Location: Lots to do - we spent all our time in the Beamish Museum which is incredible value for money There is also Tanfield Railway - fascinating
Overall the hotel and room were very clean and nicely presented with friendly staff and lovely grounds. Beautiful to look at? Yes. But did we sleep well? Nope.Not at all! 1) NOISE! NOISE! NOISE! The room looked down on the entrance/Exit to the Bar area and as such it was noisy until nearly 1am in the morning with patrons shouting, and swearing loudly. It was worst between 11 and 1 am when they congregated in the area beneath us (on their way to the car park/home). Upmarket and restful it was not! Then between 3am and 4am the staff kept us awake emptying away lots and lots of bottles, rumbling out bins and slamming outer doors (there is a fire door "short cut" used). 2) HARD LUMPY PILLOWS & no cushions on the straight backed bucket chairs The pillows were a real surprise and not a good one. They were hard, clumpy/lumpy, basic fibre pillows. We expected luxurious high quality pillows you'd melt in to in this calibre of Hotel. I enjoyed unpleasant neck ache rather than the "comfortable" nights sleep as the website promises. There were no cushions on the chairs either - I had to use a pillow! 3) Minor niggles The supply of toilet rolls in the bathroom, and sugar with tea and coffee was minimal (thankfully I had brought my own, of both!) There was no flexibility on pricing for breakfast. Whether you wanted a full Continental or just a coffee and a slice of toast it was £8.50. 4) VEGANS & VEGETARIANS not catered for. Hence we could not eat there! Disappointing!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arundel

perfect wedding venue let down by poor rooms

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Wedding organisation, friendly staff
Cons: Good mattresses in every room, proper duvets, good quality pillows, towel rails in the bathrooms a fridge.
Location: Lovely setting next to Beamish Heritage Museum
As we were travelling a long way for a family wedding we decided to stay 3 nights and upgrade to a Superior room. The staff were very warm and welcoming and as helpful as circumstances allowed. The wedding was superb but our room was truly awful. it was obvious from the start that the bed would not be comfortable as the mattress was very poor and covered with a slab of foam (not foam rubber!). The "duvet" was a solid synthetic covering in a duvet case and the pillows seemed to be filled with cotton wool balls - I did request a change of room at the outset but was told there wasn't one available and in case all the beds were the same - this isn't the case as the Operations Manager confirmed to me. The room was very noisy as a result of a fault in the plumbing which made it sound like a steam train rushing through the room any time that the toilets on the floor above were flushed. Amenities that you would expect in a superior room were not supplied. The staff were lovely and very sympathetic to our plight and indeed reduced the bill but this was no compensation for lost sleep. If you are going to a function at Beamish Hall my advice would be to stay somewhere else, go to bayberry Hollow Tea room for breakfast and use the money that you save on taxis
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Beautiful hotel very helpful and friendly staff. Had a meal in the stables bar which was superb And again in beautiful surroundings. Just wish we could of stayed longer
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk UK

Brilliant location for visiting Beamish Museum.

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: Lovely old 17th century pile with loads of character. Although large it was quite homely.
Cons: Converted to a hotel some time ago and carpets are showing distress in some areas. Room was adequate with plenty of storage but very creaky soft bed!
Location: Attractive location in the bottom of a valley adjacent to the Beamish Outdoor Museum. Stay was specifically to visit the museum.
Check in was very quick and simple and we booked a table for dinner at the same time. We were offered assistance with our luggage which was not required. After getting unpacked and making use of the tea/coffee room facilities we returned to reception for a more detailed explanation of the hotels facilities. A good idea not giving info. overload when you arrive! We went to the pub/ restaurant which is housed in the old stable block. Large semi enclosed outside seating area, all very nice.On site micro brewery can be viewed from this area and tours are available. Seven ales available and should be something for all tastes. Good choice of food at reasonable prices and very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast in the main building accompanied with discrete 50s and 60s popular music. Excellent choice including smoked haddock and kippers as a slightly more healthy option than the "Full Lancashire" ! Staff equally efficient and friendly as in the evening. Had considered going out to a local hostelry for an evening meal but with only a 3 night stay we still had plenty of choice on the menu. A very enjoyable stay and will try to get back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denny


Posted Aug 17, 2016
Spacious bedrooms in this converted manor house and very comfortable. If you like real Ale the onside brewery is fantastic with the beers selling for £3 a pint. A very peaceful setting about a mile from Beamish museum and what looked a lovely golf course. The meals were reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Enfield, UK

Delightful hotel in beautiful country surroundings

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Location: There's a nice 25 minute walk to The Black Horse pub, and it's also walking distance to Beamish Museum. Just 10 minutes drive to Chester-Le-Street.
I can't recommend this hotel enough. They were very helpful with a late check-in and I was able to store my luggage having arrived several hours before check-in. They provided a number for a taxi when I was stranded in the middle of nowhere without a bus or taxi in sight. Great service at breakfast and a tasty one to go with it. Reasonable selection of food. The room rate is on the expensive side but it's well worth it for a special occasion (I was attending a good friend's wedding). The room itself was very comfortable and I only wish I had stayed longer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lancashire

The hotel looks great from the outside

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: The only thing was the fact it was an old building and had character , from the outside.
Cons: The bedrooms need updating and modernising . A deluxe room should be deluxe not the fact that it's bigger...which it wasn't.
Location: Beamish museum.
We booked a deluxe room for our ruby wedding aniversary . To say it was basic was putting it mildly. When I asked if we'd been given the wrong room, they said no as a deluxe room just means it's bigger. Well it wasn't. No items you usually get In a deluxe room..dressing gowns, slippers, fridge etc. Was thoroughly disappointed and it spoilt our night. Wouldn't stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Lovely wedding venue lovely rooms beautiful location