Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bradford

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Lovely rooms and fantastic views - stable. Bar in courtyard well worth a visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Beamish museum

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Pros: Staying close to the museum we had spent all day at😊
Cons: Wheelchair access to breakfast room
Location: Beamish museum
Lovely room excellent breakfast and eve meal at the stables restaurant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Cons: soundproofing between rooms could be improved, had to ask for a transfer because of noise of plumbing adjacent to bedhead!
Location: excellent fro Beamish Museum and Durham
It is a good hotel ,with good staff but rooms were noisy. Breakfast was OK.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: nice location and grounds
Cons: mattress too soft and very uncomfortable we both had a sleepless night.
The bedroom was cold when we arrived the electric heaters had not been switched on. Went for a meal on monday night in the stables bar, sat for ten minutes, no one came to take our order. We decided to get up and go somewhere else South Causey hotel where the service was far better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North East England

Beautiful location, friendly staff & lovely room

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Made it extra special staying when the Christmas decorations were up, stayed the weekend the christmas fair was on so was very busy but that did not impact the quick check in and attentiveness of staff. Beautiful building/arcitecture and furnishings in rooms add to the character of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrogate

Lovely hotel

Posted Nov 16, 2017
We had a lovely couple of days, the room we had chosen was super. Food in the restaurant was amazing and very good value. All the staff we came across were warm and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Peaceful and relaxing time just what we were looking for
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Beamish Hall lovely period hotel.

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Location: Remote location. You need a car unless you like a lot of hill walking. Beamish Museum is totally unique and well worth the £19 per person entry fee.
Beamish Hall is set in rolling farmland and looks fairly impressive - great wedding venue. Every mouthful of food we ate over our two night stay was excellent and very well priced. The internal fabric of the dining room was in need of some TLC from the Decorators, but everything was exceptionally clean. A few of the internal corridors had a damp smell, but not overpowering but certainly needed either some ventilation or the source of the damp to be diagnosed. Every member of staff was extremely friendly, even when we asked to be moved out of our first bedroom, because the bed was very, very uncomfortable and barely meets up to the size specifications of a modern double bed. That was probably because it was a beautiful Victorian mahogany bed. That situation further compounded by the fact that I am 6ft 4ins tall ! However, the staff soon had us moved into a more spacious room with a smile. The whole building has some fantastic period furniture. There was bags of hot water and superb quality towels in abundance, Thank you Beamish Hall. Visitors, make sure you spend a day in the Museum, that was a great day out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south Shields

Wedding

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Lovely place really nice staff couldn't do enough for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south Shields

Kelly's wedding

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Really lovely venue staff couldn't do enough for you it was really nice