Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Quiet relaxing time

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Large room clean great breakfadt
Cons: Carpet on stairs little tired looking
Location: Pleasant location golf course nearby lovely surroundings
Facilities were very good excellent hotel for quiet weekend plenty walks in surrounding area easily to find would visit again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, UK

Lovely hotel in stunning grounds

Posted May 13, 2017
Attended a wedding and stayed the night. Reception staff could not be more friendly or accommodating. Beautiful setting and characterful building.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.

Comfortable and well sited

Posted Apr 23, 2017
On arrival we were greeted by a friendly and helpful receptionist. Our room on the first floor was spacious with a well appointed bathroom. Comfortable beds added to enjoyment of our stay. The Stables restaurant provided a superb dinner whilst a tasty breakfast was enjoyed in the Eden morning room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochdale

Very pleasant stay

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Very friendly & helpful staff. Room was spotlessly clean with large bathroom & plenty of hot water for bath or shower. Only downside was the bed- not very comfortable and quite small. Very nice food in Stables restaurant, great service & pleasant atmosphere. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Lovely hotel in the country, with beautiful views

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Quiet and secluded
Cons: Suited our needs
Location: Close to Beamish Museum
Enjoyed our stay, our room was very comfortable with plenty of tea and coffee. Beautiful scenery and lovely walks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Close to Beamish Museum

Posted Apr 13, 2017
A very comfortable hotel with restaurant and bar meals. Very convenient for Beamish Museum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from durham

Nice hotel very worm and helpful staff

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Very friendly staff very nice hotel breakfast was fantastic would definitely recommend this fantastic place
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very noisy and uncomfortable

Posted Mar 2, 2017
A nice hotel with lovely grounds and excellent staff. The food was excellent unfortunately it was very noisy all weekend and the bed and pillows weee very uncomfortable. The lack of sleep took the shine off the weekend which was not expected considering the price of the room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Expensive poor nights sleep

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Staying for a wedding at the hotel we paid £135 for a few hours in a noisy and uncomfortable room getting no sleep at all. We arrived before check in and did not expect the room to be available but hoped reception would maybe take our name and/or payment saving time later when we would be at the wedding. But we found the reception staff stiff and unhelpful although polite. Housekeeping were very helpful showing us the way round the maze of corridors levels and steps more than once. The age of the building means the layout is awkward and floors slope, stairs are winky. The room was of reasonable side with small but modern bathroom. But the bed was tiny and the mattress rock hard. There was constant banging through the night from the window and we had no sleep whatsoever. We didn't pay the extra for breakfast as were warned it was awful by fellow guests. We had lunch it the stables which while nice was basic, overpriced and took a very long time for what it was. Not really sure what we actually got for all that money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Lovely relaxing stay

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Really friendly staff. The room was comfortable and clean. We had an amazing time.