Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Lovely relaxing stay

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Really friendly staff. The room was comfortable and clean. We had an amazing time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south shields

This is a lovely relaxing get away beautiful

Posted Dec 17, 2016
This was our Christmas get away before its starts we had a fab time will go back soon
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel but with accessibility issues.

Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel and immaculate clean room. Antique furnishings may not be to all tastes. Accessibility would be an issue if not able bodied. Lifts only to parts of building and lots of steps! Also even though in a deluxe room the bed was only 4'6" a tad small for two adults!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Brilliant Great hotel and superb surroundings You won't be disappointed
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

A really lovely stay

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: The food and the cleaniness of the room
Location: The Beamish Open Air Museum is literally a stones throw away and Beamish Wild which is a treetop rope adventure course is next door.
My husband and I stayed overnight and what a pleasant night it was. We were greeted with the friendly lady at the check in desk who arranged a booking in the restrurant, the room was cosy and very clean and the bed was really comfortable. The hotel itself is beautiful both inside and out. Our meal at The Stables was delicious and our waiter was so helpful and super friendly, he even told us about the history of the hotel as we'd said we'd been to the Beamish Museum earlier that day and he gave us a little tour of the beer making process they have on site. I couldn't fault anything with this hotel and I would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Beautiful building in an impressive setting.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Staff, style of the place.
Cons: Option of dinner in the dining room in the main house.
Location: Beamish museum is nearby but not walkable. Durham city centre is worth visiting.
The staff are professional and friendly and couldn't be more helpful. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the antique furniture fits with the theme. Breakfast is in the main house in a very nice dining room overlooking the gardens. However dinner is in a pub/ old barn place behind the main building. Not as stylish or 4 star. The courtyard between the barn and hotel is very busy and noisy and we had to negotiate small children running around playing football around the outside tables. Overall we would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Like staying over a Wetherspoons! NOISY!!

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: The room was very attractive, very clean and the over all setting, grounds and the decor were all stunning.
Cons: NOISE!! - deal with the noise as outlined above -this is easy and essential to resolve. COMFORT- the Pillows are just not good enough - period
Location: Lots to do - we spent all our time in the Beamish Museum which is incredible value for money There is also Tanfield Railway - fascinating
Overall the hotel and room were very clean and nicely presented with friendly staff and lovely grounds. Beautiful to look at? Yes. But did we sleep well? Nope.Not at all! 1) NOISE! NOISE! NOISE! The room looked down on the entrance/Exit to the Bar area and as such it was noisy until nearly 1am in the morning with patrons shouting, and swearing loudly. It was worst between 11 and 1 am when they congregated in the area beneath us (on their way to the car park/home). Upmarket and restful it was not! Then between 3am and 4am the staff kept us awake emptying away lots and lots of bottles, rumbling out bins and slamming outer doors (there is a fire door "short cut" used). 2) HARD LUMPY PILLOWS & no cushions on the straight backed bucket chairs The pillows were a real surprise and not a good one. They were hard, clumpy/lumpy, basic fibre pillows. We expected luxurious high quality pillows you'd melt in to in this calibre of Hotel. I enjoyed unpleasant neck ache rather than the "comfortable" nights sleep as the website promises. There were no cushions on the chairs either - I had to use a pillow! 3) Minor niggles The supply of toilet rolls in the bathroom, and sugar with tea and coffee was minimal (thankfully I had brought my own, of both!) There was no flexibility on pricing for breakfast. Whether you wanted a full Continental or just a coffee and a slice of toast it was £8.50. 4) VEGANS & VEGETARIANS not catered for. Hence we could not eat there! Disappointing!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grand but comfortable

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is down a narrow lane near the Beamish open air museum. Its setting is very grand with lovely gardens. The rooms are in the large Hall and the main restaurant is in the old stables. The grandeur is reflected on the inside of the building too. For my taste there were a few too many (fake) paintings in the hallway, and the furniture was too big for the room, but I appreciated the comfortable bed and spacious clean bathroom. The menu in the stables is surprisingly reasonable for the quality of the food. It's a place where I would consider eating even if I weren't a guest at the hotel. I liked the fact that local families were eating there, and not just the usual business travelers and tourists like ourselves. I would definitely return.