Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beamish

Beautiful hotel, beautiful food. Lovely grounds.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The mattress, but hey, that was just me!
Location: We only stayed for the wedding!
Enjouyed the Stanbury wedding at this location. Had a really lovely stay. Breakfast was lovely! Didn't care for the bed. Too low or me, but everything else was wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

All round quality with a capital Q

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: everything. When wife mislaid her bank card and driving licence the staff could not have been more helpful
Cons: nothing to comment upon
Location: Proximity to Beamish Museum a bonus.
Simply the Best (Western) Meals at The Stables bar and restaurant were copious and delicious
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sunderland

Staff appraisal.

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Found that all members of staff we had contact with on our stay were brilliant. Would stop here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kelso Scottish Borders

Very nice hotel with great bar and restaurant

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Loved staying here the rooms were very clean and comfortable. The bar and restaurant are amazing. It's only a 15-20 mins walk to beamish museum which is a must visit if your staying here. Overall had a great experience staying at the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lincoln

Character hotel

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: location and surrounding grounds and character of the building.
Cons: Signs on the ancient trees saying how old and what they are. Information as to how old the building is and who was there before. Larger beds
Location: wonderful for beamish museum and not far from durham city
charming hotel and grounds with antique furniture and nice quiet bedrooms. Bed was a little small and soft, but little touches (eg weather of the day and info on printed paper sheet delivered to rooms)/toileteries were great. Dinner in the evening was amazing and the best meal we have ever had in a hotel - well done chef. Could have had complimentary peanuts or grapes or something small whilst we had to wait for our meal as we waited for nearly 45 minutes. Drink prices were very good as was the food. Will definitely come again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Beautiful hotel and location

Posted Jul 2, 2017
The hotel is a beautiful large house that has been converted into a hotel. The rooms are furnished with antique furniture and have everything that you need. The bathrooms are modern and spotlessly clean. The breakfast is impressive and the Stables restaurant and bar serve good food at reasonable prices. Excellent beers made in the brewery went down a treat
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location central for sight seeing

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: The staff.
Cons: The dining room needs updating and A much better menu for residents who wish to celebrate occasions.
Location: Location very close to the beamish museum and golf club and various other places in the area.
Lovely historic building with extensive grounds. We reserved a delux room which had a very nice bathroom, but the bed was very small and furniture old and in need of updating. Good breakfast in hotel dining room but all main meals were from a restaurant outside of hotel building and pub food on menu. The bar in hotel was only open for events and not for residence. The lounge was situated in the reception area and had no inviting atmosphere. The staff were great, friendly and informative.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from N.Lincs

Manor House turned into a very pleasant hotel.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: The peace and quiet plus the excellent staff who certainly looked after you.
Location: Beautiful parkland,Beamish Museum virtually on the doorstep plus Durham a short drive away.
Very nice quiet hotel set in lovely grounds with a well recommended Stables restaurant serving excellent food plus beers from their own micro brewery.Set in parkland but only a few minutes drive from Beamish Musuem and not to far fromDurham.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Lovely hotel Great food in the stables restaurant Friendly staff Great place
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Lovely setting. Close to Beamish museum.

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: The proximity to Beamish suited us. It was comfortable and provided good facilities.
Cons: There was not enough electric points in the bedroom to charge devices and use tv and kettle at the same time.
Location: Counryside location. Ideal to visit Beamish.
We had a lovely stay at this hotel. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.