Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Graham from East Morton

Bahco

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
On business with colleague. Unfortunately weak mobile phone signal in the hotel & grounds. Overall a lovely hotel. Although the restuarant got our order wrong twice in the day the food was good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for Beamish Museum

Posted Oct 16, 2015
Pros: Nice staff.
Cons: A bar in the evening.
Location: Beamish museum. Park and ride into Durham about 5 miles away.
Our first room was ok but we could hear the people next door using their bathroom several times during the night and then showering at 6am the next morning. The next room was brilliant. Much bigger and quieter. There wasn't a bar to sit in the evening as the Stables restaurant closed at 8pm but we did find a quiet lounge to play cards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Comfortable country house experience

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: big and grand sense
Cons: The decor seems a bit old and faded and in need of a good refurbish.
Location: Great location if you just want to get away form it all and travel about the area.
This was a good place to stay for getting around the region.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Murder Mystery Evening

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: The hotel is a stunning old building. The meals provided were very nice. Breakfast was very good indeed, the quality of the food and the helpful staff
Cons: The hotel is a very old building and there are many levels and stairs. The free wifi could do with a being a bit faster.
Location: A lovely setting, with plenty of free carparking.
My friend celebrated her 40th birthday at Beamish Hall, it was a murder mystery evening, we stayed overnight too. I received a warm welcome to the hotel, the staff were very friendly. The rooms are well appointed, with bottles of water provided, the windows opened for fresh air. The bathrooms were clean with plenty of shampoo etc, the showers provided plenty of hot water and pressure. Although the toothbrush glass was precariously balanced and there was fluff in the extractor fan.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sharon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Generally good hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: Friendly restaurant staff
Cons: hotel reception information / guidance
route to rear most rooms can be a chore, due to stair cases and age/design of Hall / Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2015
We spent an enjoyable evening at the hotel after spending the day at the Beamish Open Air Museum. The room was fresh looking and clean. The grounds are spacious and we had a good walk around. They have outdoor pursuits but they were closed. We dined in the Stables Restaurant where we had a lovely meal and the staff were very friendly. We breakfasted in the Eden Room which is a lovely big dining room. Once again the staff were very friendly and the food good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darlington

Wedding guests

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Location, ambience, style, food.
Cons: Better pillows and air conditioning in the bedroom.
Location: We were attending a wedding so didn't go out and about but being relatively local we know there are lots of things nearby to see and do.
We recently attended a wedding and stayed overnight at Beamish Hall. The Hall is an impressive building, in pretty, well-kept grounds and the hotel itself is nicely decorated. The room used for the wedding reception was beautifully dressed and the staff were very attentive, pleasant but not over-fussy. Our bedroom was very nice with a good-sized en-suite. It was however, very warm. A fan had been provided so the hotel are obviously aware of the issue but it really was hot! The bed was very comfortable but would have been even more so if we'd had regular sized pillows, the cushion sized ones were a little odd!