Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice retreat good bar ambiance

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
Place was very good but food a bit disappointing - good quality pub food but I'm a bit of a foodie and was expecting more
4 out of 5
by beryl from Hertfordshire

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent little hotel, friendly and very helpful staff. Great friendly atmosphere Very cosy bar area - log fire comfy sofas. Good selection at the breakfast buffet. Comfortable but slightly dated decor in the bedroom. Fab powerful shower and large bath. Would stay again
3 out of 5
by Ian from Upminster

Nice hotel let down by lack of maintenance

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
Booked a delux room with hot tub for a 1 night stay. The hotel itself is very nice and very busy. What let it down was the lack of maintenance in the room. The hot tub produced a scum on the surface of the water as soon as you turned on the jets, the TV in the luxury bathroom didn't work, the free wifi in the room didn't work and one of the steps down to the outdoor hot tub was loose and very dangerous ( a previous repair had been bodged ) We were given 10% off but I booked a luxury room for a reason.
5 out of 5
by Gemma from Chester-le-Street

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for a wedding & it was fantastic. Hotel is truelly stunning & cant wait to stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stayed here several times - great place!

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels
Love this hotel for the food alone. Rooms are a little cramped, albeit clean, and the service is excellent. Would highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
by derek from Durham

wedding bliss

Posted Feb 22, 2015 on Hotels
we went there because we had an invitation to a evening reception to a wedding that was held there that afternoon. The hotel staff were very efficient and very friendly the room was extremely warm and comfortable ,those that were at the wedding said the food was excellent we had roast beef in very large buns with wedges or fries the beef was rather tough but the fries and gravy went down well. The breakfast was delicious and we would not hesitate to pay another visit in the near future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by brent from south shields

one night stay

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels
having been to a wedding at another venue close by, we were not in the room for long! the room was fab and we would definitely stay here again!!!
5 out of 5
by Gordy29 from Plymouth

Traditional friendly English Hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels
South Causey Inn is a lovely place I have stayed in quiet a few hotels, with plenty disappointing but this one certainly didn't. All the staff I encountered were very friendly. Better yet after my sister in law took too long to get ready for a wedding and was going to be late the owner volunteered to drop her and 3 others off. Never been to a hotel where they would do that. The rooms are great with old fashioned oak furniture but with a modern en suite. Food was great and there is an amazing open log fire downstairs in the well furnished bar.
4 out of 5
by Spannerman from Somerset

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels
Staff very friendly - location great for our visit to Beamish - evening meal and breakfast very good. Only negative was the loud disco music coming from a function.