Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
63% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire UK

Comfortable

Posted Oct 17, 2017
I arrived late and was able to eat after 10pm which was pleasing after a long day. The Airport shuttle is very convenient and runs through the night. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Overall a pleasant stay for an early morning flight.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Felt like a drug den

Posted Aug 22, 2017
This hotel looked like it had been plucked straight out of a Mexican Durg Cartel movie. Dirty rooms, odd smell and overall just unpleasant.
2 out of 5
by Peter

OK hotel for plane spotters

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was OK. I was in an "Executive Room" which didn't seem to be very "Executive" at all. In fact it was an "accessible" room so everything was on a low level and the bathroom was a wet room. The worst aspect of the hotel is that it is basically at the end of the runway for Stansted Airport and so you have roaring engines and planes flying over until midnight and then again from 6.00am! There was no mention of this on the website or by any other reviewers This was coupled with a guy strimming the grass in the hotel grounds at 6.45am!! Would definitely not stay again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aiken, SC

Don't check in LATE at night

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
It took a LONG time to get them to answer the call to come pick us up. I don't know how many times I called....it just rang out. The whole experience was sort of substandard. Would not stay with them again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

Pit stop

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The shuttle.
Cons: The bathrooms.
This was essentially a six- hour rest between trains and planes. The shuttle was convenient - 10 pounds each way - but the hotel staff was minimal to the point of non-existent. They picked us up at the Radisson Blu - may have just stayed there for the extra hours sleep. de Salis is located further from the airport than expected and the facilities were a little dated but for the price, about right. Once again, this was a pit stop, not a stay, so a longer time may have led to a better review. OH - no AC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

close to airport

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The distance from the hotel to the airport and the reasonable transfer price
Cons: The heat in the room.
Location: The hotel is in the countryside and has lovely surroundings
The hotel is ideal for flights from the airport and for £5 per person they will transfer you from the hotel to the airport. The rooms are ok. Very stuffy and needed the fan on all night as no fresh air. The bed is against the wall so not great for space. We ate at the hotel restaurant and it was nice food but very salty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: availability of twin rooms and location
Cons: weeds in car park & garden
Location: very convenient for Stansted Airport
convenient location to airport, efficient staff, ample parking
4 out of 5
by Sarah

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
Staff friendly and couldn't have helped us more - room was nice - a very unusual place to stay but such a chilled atmosphere
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Airport Hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
Very good location for travelling to London Stansted Airport, the airport shuttle that they provide is good value for money, I would recommend using the shuttle bus rather than booking a taxi as the taxi service at the airport is ridiculously expensive for a 5 minute journey! The room was clean and comfortable, the decor in the hallways could do with a bit of a makeover. I was staying in one of the annex rooms and wifi/phone signal was non existent in the room, also the remote control for the TV had gone missing but the staff managed to find a replacement quite quickly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Passable for one night airport stay

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here for one night due to early travel from standsted. We got a shuttle to and from airport (picks you up at hotel nearby not actual airport). It cost £20 return and the journey (10mins) was terrible- awful driver/v loud music. Service was terrible - blunt, rude and not very pleasant at counter. The hotel itself is very odd- each section bizarrely decorated with changing schemes but the room itself was just fine (warm+++). The whole place is fine for a night but I would stay elsewhere if cheaper (considering extra £20 for shuttle) and if for longer!