Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Manchester Business Traveller from Manchester

Disappointing

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
The surrounds of the hotel is quite beautiful. There is ample parking and the hotel is on a river. It is quite with an exceptional country feel to the place. Getting here was not so easy, could have done with a few bigger signposts! On arrival, the restaurant was shut even though it was advertised as being open on a sign outside. The receptionist did advise where I could get food locally. There were no towels in the room on arrival either. Ensuite was very small and crammed. Rooms very sged. Lock on door is unsecure. Beds were comfy though
5 out of 5
by John

Tranquility

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
Overnight stop on business - A truly idyllic setting of a c16th watermill with c19th additions close to the River Stort. Unfortunately the chef was ill, but I was directed to a more than adequate eatery and inspection of the Old Mill's menu, (come and have a look at what you could have won!) had a good selection including vegetarian and gluten free options. The only blot was the constant drone of aircraft approaching Stansted, but it didn't affect a good night's sleep in a recently refurbished room in the adjacent Victorian house - good fit out and very comfortable bed. Friendly host and a personal touch - definitely come again when I'm in the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient & clean hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
Good place to stay as we had early flight next day & is only about minutes from Stanstead.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic quickly little hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Really enjoyed our stay here great family business feel
5 out of 5
by Damian from Mansfield

Tranquil base

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
I used this hotel as a place to chill out in between evening work the location was perfect and peaceful beside the canal a really nice place to just hang around , read a book etc , the bar and restaurant was also very nice
4 out of 5
by Peter

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
Very helpful & friendly owner. Let me check in early as arrived well before check in time.Food great & reasonable.only niggle was bathroom wich was small & cramped. Would stop again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, friendly hotel in picturesque setting

Posted Feb 13, 2014
I was looking for a "cost-effective" place to stay to get me nearer to London/Gatwick airport after a friend I was meant to stay with was taken ill last minute. Knowing that I would be taking Darftord crossing, I was looking at Harlow/Bishop's Stortford area, and this was one of the first hotels that caught my eye on the 'net. After a bit of research I decided to go for Little Hallingbury Mill based on it's quaint description (and exceptionally reasonable price), and was not dissappointed. A little difficult to find in the dark/wet weather (they plan to put up a clearer signage on the junction), I was pleased to see an old C19th Mill, annex and Millhouse converted to rooms, snug bar and dining area. Exceptionally friendly staff/owners made me feel very welcome, discussing the geography and history of the Mill/functioning waterwheel/gearset that is a feature of the bar over a nice cold pint of Stella (Ale and other lagers available). I turned up too late for dinner (I didn't get there til ~10pm), but was offered sandwiches if required. A traditional full English (cereals etc also available) set me up in the morning for my continued drive. All in all, excellent value for money. Would recommend to friends/family.
5 out of 5
by barry from motherwell

Posted Feb 7, 2014 on Hotels
Great hotel, good large portions of food and reasonable priced. Well worth the money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice surroundings, hotel not as expected

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels
First of all, you don't stay at the Mill, you stay at a large house next door. I booked a single room, and it was very small. The room seemed very dated and basic. If it was going for rustic, it failed. The bed squeaked on every movement and there was no headboard, only a picture screwed to the wall. The cupboard in the room fell like it was going to fall apart when I put my clothes in it. Admittedly I slept very well over two nights (apart from someone stomping around upstairs), but that was the best part of it. The bathroom and facilities were very basic. Whatever you flushed down the sink came up the toilet (first experienced when emptying a cup of coffee down the sink...). Choice of breakfast was either full English (£6.50) or continental (£4.50). Continental consisted of toast and/or cereal. Hardly continental! Second day of my stay I ended up going to a local sandwich shop for a bacon butty. I didn't dine at night in the restaurant so can't comment on it. Loungebar was decorated nicely, and still preserves the mills mechanisms, which is a nice touch. Overall, I may have just had the runt of the litter when it came to rooms, but I would not stay again because of my experience
4 out of 5
by White from Guernsey

Posted Nov 9, 2013 on Hotels
Lovely a very comfortable stay