Ratings based on 1,518 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight stop before flying from Stansted

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: It is convenient forairport
Cons: Heating in the restaurant and rooms
We have stayed in this hotel many times. It is clean and comfortable and staff are friendly but the restaurant always feels cold! Our room wasn't very warm either even after altering the heating control.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Easy to get to and from the airport from the hotel. Bus stops right outside. Room was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

A good choice for overnight stay

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: Ease of transport to airport terminal
Cons: Food choice and quality
Easy transfer to airport comfortable nights rest before early morning flight. Restaurant prices a bit high and little choice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

Beds are good

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: 1) Beds are comfortable. 2) Close to airport. 3) Good continental breakfast
Location: Close to airport.
The courtyard room was fairly quiet except for a few jets. Beds are comfortable but bathroom showers are confusing..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Convenient for Stansted and currently undergoing refurbishment to bring the decor up to standard.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Shocking

Posted Jul 26, 2017
We had confirmed reservation with the room guaranteed for late check in. After a late night arrival At Stansted , we were told at the reception that the hotel was fully booked. The Night Duty Manager said that she only realised this late and would look to find alternatives in the area. All a bit suspicious for a hotel of Novotel's stature. It looked like the staff take a chance with late night arrivals and release rooms as this was first time in my travelling experience that one turns up with a confirmed /guaranteed reservation and is turned back. Appalling customer service. and would advise travellers to be very cautious with reservations especially with late arrivals.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Too far from Stansted

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Clearly label the magnetic card so customers know how to open their bedroom door!
I only booked this hotel as it was supposed to be near Stansted. It turned out customers need to take a shuttle costing £3 each way. Besides, the room card did not open my door so I had to go all the way back downstairs to reception at 11pm after a flight and having just 4 hours before getting up again. Staff not as friendly and welcoming as they are in central London. Room furniture is dated.
3 out of 5
by Catherine

Disappointed

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
Had booked the Hilton only to discover that it had been taken over by this group. Havi g stayed before at a number of Hilton hotels was disappointed on arrival. No wow factor to the long. The room was small and had a double bed and also a sofa bed which was unmade. There was no tea/ coffee or shampoo/soap etc. These were provided on request. It appeared that the room wasn't made ready for the next guest. The floor wasn't clean. Overall a big disappointment. Wouldn't stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from edinburgh

Very comfortable but organisation let it down

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Lovely hotel and staff are warm and helpful. Seems to be having teething problems with the room alllocation system tho' we were given a room already occupied - very embarrassing ! And once we got out room we had other guests trying to get in - they had a key for room also !!! Never had that before but have to say the staff were helpful and food in the restaurant very nice. Would come back as i expect the room allocation issues will be sorted soon . mr &mrs johnston.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced but clean.

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
I was detained in the airport at immigration for 2 hours. I called the hotel to make sure they still had my room. They said yes. When I finally arrived at the hotel at 2am, the clerk said he wasn't sure if they still had my room. After waiting some more minutes, he returned and said, yes it was available. The room was clean and the bed comfortable, but some of the hallways and finishings were a bit run down. Not what I expected for 140 pounds per night.