Ratings based on 1,135 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful!!..

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Customer service for a start
Myself, wife and 14 year old son stayed here on the 23/7. we had booked and HAD confirmed a NON SMOKING room. We arrived fairly late and were given our room key (217). Immediately noted that the sign on the room door said "Smoking Room".. We gave it a go but on walking in the room stank of stale smoke, the bed lined smelt as did the carpet and the towels.. I went back to reception to ask for as different room AS WE HAD CLEARLY BOOKED A NON SMOKING ROOM but was told that the room had become a non smoking room 2 days earlier and had been thoroughly cleaned (really??). I was told there were no other rooms available and given (wait for it) a can of Glade air freshener! On top of that the double bed bowed so much in the middle it was like sleeping on a hillside and the air conditioning unit was so noisy it was beyond a joke.. I complained to Ramada saying I shouldn't have to pay for the room but got the usual "we'll be in touch in 7 days".. Got nothing, emailed back reminding them of the 7 days and got an email telling me to ring a number which clearly wasn't in the UK, again I asked which country this number related to so I could add the right code/prefix but not surprisingly have heard diddly squat! My tip for those thinking about using this hotel would be to pay the £15 parking charge and sleep in your car.. You'll get a better nights sleep! (Or try the Days Inn next door)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable, friendly hotel near Stansted Airport

Posted Aug 1, 2017
One night stay. Staff helpful and friendly. Room clean. Breakfast ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Nothing to dislike. The breakfast was brilliant.
Cons: Maybe a bus service into Bishops Stortford?
Location: Location is not ideal as you needed a car to get to nearest town but there are several eateries close by.
We stayed at the Ramada in Birchanger, near Stansted Airport both before and after our holiday. The staff were most helpful on both occasions and kept my mobile phone safely for me during the holiday - as I had left it there by accident after putting it on charge!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cornwall, UK

Want Be Going There again

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything. Room for a person with mobility problems should be large enough to take a wheel chair, have grab rails. Social skills updated.
We booked a room for one night requesting a room suitable for a disabled person that has limited mobility on ground floor only if no lift available. The room was on ground floor, it also had a walk-in shower. That was about the only good thing. The room was so cramp it was just as well I could walk that day as the doors were normal width which would have made it difficult for a wheel chair to get through. The bed was so soft and lumpy it was amazing it was still being used. Every time we turned over trying to get comfortable you heard PING and then another lump could be felt. No or very little sleep that night. We used the dinning room for dinner the food was edible, but nothing special. The service was terrible. waitress wanted to remove our plates even though we were still eating. This happened at least twice during our meal. The shower had no grab rail, shower head so high it couldn't be reached, all soap machines did not work or were empty. In the corner of the door were small brown pellets, I didn't get down on the floor to investigate further,(I couldn't even if I want to) but they looked like rabbit droppings.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Overnight

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: It's OK
Cons: Signing of the building. See above.
Location: Not much. It's a motorway hotel.
Findiung the Hotel in the service area is difficult as the signs round and on the hotel face away along the aisle in front the building. Just stop infront of the Welcome Service area building and look to your left over your shoulder. Otherwise this place is OK for the market it serves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jakarta

convenient location by the services shops.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
convenient location by the services shops on the motorway (obviously must have own transportation to access). clean rooms and spacious. good for overnighter. only drawback was the beds (mattresses) are a bit sagging .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Stayed here for an early flight from Stansted the next morning. Generally good hotel, our only complaint was that the air con in room 223 kept making a noise every 5 mins even after it had been turned off
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Convenient for airport

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Good basic service for a reasonable price. Room was very basic but ok for one night. Breakfast was better than expected
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Closer

Posted Jul 14, 2017
We had not been informed the services were closed at night so there was a 45 minute detour and you had to be escorted to and from hotel Very inconvenient when you are travelling and expect easy access
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Service station motel...

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: Staff were friendly and this did what were wanted - a place to crash before an early flight.
Cons: rooms could do we a revamp.
Hotel is basic. No TV control and were given a smoking room which smelt like someone had smoked 1000 in. No options for changing room as they were fully booked.