Ratings based on 505 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

WSuper vakue

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Value. Location and staff
Location: Close to airport.
Great value if you need a place close to Stansted. staff were very helpful, room was comfortable and facilities well cared for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from France

Very pleasant hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Efficient staff - helpful
Cons: The billing process
Location: Very close to Stansted airport
Very nice traditional Manor hotel. Only thing that marred the stay was that they insisted on charging my son's card with a GBP 20 holding fee, even though I had paid for the room in advance. When he queried this they did not really explain why that was necessary.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by GHM Reception, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. The £20 "holding fee" is actually pre-authorisation which covers the hotel against incidentals. Full details are available on our website. This is company policy and every guest staying at the hotel has to provide pre-authorisation. We are sorry if this was not explained adequately to you .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

On the Stanstead airport flightpath

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Nice hotel, nice staff, didn't sleep at all because the planes were only quiet between 11.30pm and 6am; also there was no A/C in the room and the duvet was a high tog one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burntwood

Poor location

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Not a lot
Cons: Soundproofing the windows, restaurant service (staff not attentive eneough), Breakfast, ( two snotty poached eggs yuck!! )
After complaining twice about the non existant wifi signal in the the room i had been allocated, i was offered a change of room to a seperate "barn style" block a short distance away from the main building (room 2). Upon entering the room it was clear that this room had not been made up ready for guests. The cleaners who were by the room, quickly came into the room to try and get it ready. Although i was happy to wait while they did this, as they did not speak english i could not communicate this to them. Someone must have informed the reception staff as a short while later the receptionist came into the building and suggested i use the room next door (room 3) as this room was ready. Although this room was imuch larger with a large bathroom/shower area, i encountered the following issues.The building is directly under the flight path for the airport and on this evening the planes were taking off in the direction off the hotel, therefore the noise was terrible. As there was no air conditioning/fan in the room, i had to keep the windows open and this only made the noise worse. The windows were of the skylight type and had no blinds, therefore very early the next morning, not only was i woken up by the planes taking off, i also had sunlight blazing through these skylight windows with no means of shutting the sunlight out. Futhermore the room was not clean, the flooring (wooden) had an unacceptable amount of collective dust, as well as the skirting and wall sockets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Great location.

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Great location, clean and pretty hotel.
Location: Perfect location to the airport (that was all we required/investigated).
The hotel is in a great location for Stanstead and had late check in which was perfect for us. It was clean, tidy and perfect as a base for the night before heading to the airport. Check in and check out was swift and efficient. The hotel is lovely to look at and the personal touches such as a letter from the manager in the room were appreciated. You can hear the planes but this can't really be avoided as the location is so close to Stanstead. The curtains however were effective at blocking out light.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by GHM Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again

Posted Jul 27, 2017
My friends and family came from all over the world to meet up for a local wedding. * don't expect a sleep in past 6am as the hotel is moments away from the end of the airport. From 6am the flights start and there is poor or lack of sound proofing. you can also hear everything occurring in neighboring rooms. *TV remote and TV didnt work * Wifi didn't work in our room. * very rude and unaccommodating staff. we had troubles from check in through to check out. * while we arrived before the 2pm check in they wouldn't allow us to leave our bags anywhere (and where very rude about it). * while we were paying customers of the hotel there was another wedding on during the day at the hotel. this meant the restaurant was off limits for lunch. where were we meant to eat? after a discussion with the General Manager he agreed to provide food. We waited over an hour and our food still hadn't arrived. we cancelled the food as no one would tell us when it would be ready. the General Manager was rude about the situation. Customer service at this hotel is the worst i have every experienced. do yourself a favor and do not stay here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Faulty Towers revisited. Avoid at all cost.

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: The gardens were lovely.
Cons: Nearly everything could be improved.
Location: The location was convenient to the wedding venue but the wedding planners / decision makers who recommended this hotel should be sacked.
Very basic rooms in former stables across the road from the main building. Directly under and close to the flight path from Stansted airport meant the aircraft noise was unbearable from very early till late. Breakfast was a calamity with next to no food, minimal staffing, no cutlery, inadequate dining tables and chairs, Butter and margarine were in a single bowl next to the single toaster and had melted in a yellow mixture. There were two wedding parties in house and much confusion as to ability to have lunch served. Our group missed out entirely. Bar tabs were confused and incorrect. The number of irons available to the entire guest complement was impossible to identify but we guessed from 2 to 6 only and no management of where they were being used so had to wait while staff tracked one down. Although there was a near new state of the art coffee machine for quality coffee in the bar area there were no coffee beans. Other guests complained loudly about poor check in and next to no luggage storage.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Very convenient for Stanstead

Posted Jul 24, 2017
A pleasant hotel close to Stanstead that offers pretty much all you need on site provided you are not looking for 5 star quality service. The room was smallish but ok and you are of course right under the Stanstead flight path but that is an inevitable consequence of a nearby hotel. This was our second visit and would be happy to use it again.
3 out of 5
by Chris

Gt. Hallingbury Hall July 15

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
Small room this time (was bigger last time for the same price) Breakfast coffee awful and no water. Dinner good.
5 out of 5
by Steve

Nice stay

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
Warm friendly welcome