Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent uk

Very nice one night stay,

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: Bed needs replacing and a duster around would be good.
Location: Lovely village. Not sure about things to do as we were only passing through.
Very good Landlord and staff were very nice. This I would say is a PUB and not a Hotel. Food and beer very good . Breakfast Excellent!!!. Overall a good stop.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston & London

Country Inn in Picturesque Village

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Clean rooms with character in a village pub. Pub is situated in a picturesque village on a quiet country lane. Lots of free parking, good WiFi and superb cooked breakfast. Very near airport but still in a lovely rural setting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely cosy hotel close to Stansted

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Lovely cosy hotel close to Stansted... easy to find, friendly staff. Quaint place in a lovely small village. Room as described, comfortable and clean.
4 out of 5
by graham

the swan

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly place
5 out of 5
by Bernard

A Pleasure

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was great. The Inn is quirky and we loved it
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely breakfast and polite, friendly staff.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: I liked the staff and the breakfast.
Cons: The noise levels from the plumbing.
The Swan Inn is a lovely 15th century building. The rooms are approached via an external iron staircase, so are not suitable for anyone who is a bit unsteady. The room and en-suite bathroom I occupied were very clean with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. The bed was very comfortable - initially I found the room a little cold, but then realised the radiator had been turned off. The breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked with a wide choice of breakfast foods.The reason for my 3 star rating is the plumbing. My shower was fine -plenty of force and hot water, however, as the building is old, some bathrooms have a macerator to prevent blockages. After the initial shock of flushing the loo for the first time (the macerator sounds like a plane taking off) I wasn't bothered. However, after being woken at 1:25, 2:25 and 3:30 during the early morning by the macerator in the next room (amplified by vibration through the floor and wall) I really felt quite frazzled and am unlikely to stay again even though it is very convenient for visiting my relatives. I'm pretty sure the noise would penetrate ear plugs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly pub hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Very friendly pub hotel great rooms Very close to stansted in a very pretty village
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Swan at Great Easton

Posted Jun 29, 2016 on Hotels
Simple but comfortable rooms above a 15th century pub in the village of Great Easton. Close to Stansted so perfect for a short stay before a flight. Rate doesn't show but does include an excellent breakfast ☺. Well worth a visit if you have had enough of the big chain hotels and fancy something different.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will go again

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Great service, fabulous staff, food superb. Room and bathroom a bit tired but overall, worth a stay.