Ratings based on 342 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary Alberta Canada

Close to the Old Town and Square.

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Access to the hotel by car was not easy with all the road construction and closures. Luckily the hotel has a valet service which not only parked the car for us but brought the car to the hotel when we could not find the way. Within walking distance of all the inner city attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Lenka, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Madam thank you very much for your review. Best regards
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Silver Spring, MD

Outdated but great location

Posted Sep 15, 2017
The hotel itself is pretty outdated but is clean. The location is awesome. We walked everywhere in Prague from here. They have breakfast buffets for a reasonable additional cost. Very practical, but would not recommend for a luxurious stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Lenka, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Madam thank you very much for your review. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Excellent hotel in a great location. Staff were very helpful. The room was lovely. Would highly recommend and hope to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Lenka - hotel manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Madam thank you very much for your nice review. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA

Quaint Hotel with Real Charm

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Close to everything but tucked away behind the main square.
Cons: I could have a permanent room there.
Location: Centrally located and Metro within walking distance. You're in the heart of Prague.
Had I known the Cerny Sloan was so wonderful I would have booked an entire week! The location is great but that's not what makes this stay so nice. The staff is helpful, friendly and very accommodating. The breakfast! It was amazing, featuring local cuisine and specialties as well as more traditional fare. The bar has seating outside and the rooms-so clean and it has an elevator!!!! Can't say enough good things about Cerny Sloan, I certainly don't understand anyone rating it less than a 5!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by Lenka - hotel manager, Hotel Management
Dear Robin, thank you very much for your so nice review. Best regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Great Location. Clean small hotel. Very helpful. We had a great stay and look forward to returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by L, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Madam thank you very much for your nice review. Best regards Front Desk
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Nice hotel right in the center and affordable

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: the room was beautiful with the high painted ceiling. Bathroom, very nice. breakfast, generous and very good.
staff was helpful. everything was perfect but you might need earplugs if you have a room on the street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by L., Hotel Management
Dear Ms Suzanne, thank you very much for your nice review. Best regards Front Desk
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

very good location

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Restaurant was great. Pork knuckle and leg of lamb delicious. House wines good value. Also good breakfast.
Cons: There are no fire extinguishers, no signs and no fire excluding stairs so be sure you have an exit plan. Czech must not have any fire regulations!
Location: Great location. Only 50 m from main square
Be sure to avoid room overlooking the square. No a/c so need the Windows open, hence very noisy with revellers all night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Charming and very well located

Posted Jul 6, 2017
This hotel is charming and the location is great. It is right in the middle of everything. Cons: it is a bit loud, and the room my friend and I got was pretty small. The bathroom was large though. It had been years since I slept in a twin bed, but if you are alone or a couple I'm sure you'd get a queen size bed. Breakfast is okay, not super fancy or varied but convenient. Pros: Staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is old (historic!) but the plumming works well. If you have a lot of luggage I would recommend you request a room in the lower floors because the elevator won't reach the third floor and for me it was a bit of a challenge! Overall, I would recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by L., Hotel Management
Dear Andrea, thank you very much for your nice review. Best regards Front Desk
4 out of 5
by Corey Christopher

Great hotel in the heart of Prague

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
My friends and I spent three nights at the Black Elephant in June during our two week trip to Eastern Europe. The hotel was perfectly situated in the shadows of the Old Town Square. The service was exceptional. The team at the hotel did an excellent job in communicating with us before and during our stay, helping us to arrange transport to and from the main train station, and in organizing some local tours for us. The wifi was great and the free breakfast nice. I would definitely stay here again if in Prague.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017
Dear Mr.Corey Christopher thank you very much for your nice review. Best regards Front Desk
1 out of 5
by John

Never again

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
No A.C. no concern unsafe 96 degrees too bad for us. This is a tragedy waiting to happen.