Ratings based on 752 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Perfect Hotel Perfect Location

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: Our suite was clean, beautifully decorated and very spacious. The restaurants were very good and the hotel staff was excellent.
Cons: Nothing to improve upon
Location: The restaurant is near the Charles Bridge, Astronomical clock and many restaurants. We walked everywhere with no problems.
The Smetana Hotel was a great choice for us. It was a short drive from the airport, very centrally located and an easy walk to the Charles Bridge, Astronomical Clock and great restaurants. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurants onsite are very good, even room service was quick and delicious. We actually booked the Charles River Suite and it was perfect. We would definitely recommend this room. It is beautifully decorated, very spacious and the views of the river are amazing. The maid staff was excellent and very attentive. I cannot think of one negative thing to say about the Smetana. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Luxury with the best view in Prague

Posted Jan 12, 2018
From start to finish it was amazing. We arrived 4 hours early and they let us use the room as it was already prepared for us which was beyond our expectations. The view from our river view room was hard to leave. It’s in the most ideal location, 5-10 minutes depending on if you’re strolling or not to the astronomical clock and you can see Charles bridge from the window but crossing over the road would maybe take upto 1-2 minutes. The castle is also in the view from the window from our room so it was all just amazing. The room itself very clean and very comfortable bed. Everything looks so luxurious, it isn’t modern looking but the decor really suits the building/the view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Nice, spacious hotel in a great location!

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Location is outstanding, close to many sights, restaurants.. Very spacious. Nice, attentive stuff.
Cons: Historic building, a few things could be updated.
Location: Nice view of Vltava river and St. Vitus Cathedral. Within short walking distance from the Charles bridge, the main town square and restaurants.
Enjoyed our stay. Will definitely consider returning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Mathieu C., Hotel Management
Dear Irina, thank you so much for your review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the location and the staff. We are looking forward to see you soon at Smetana Hotel for your next journey in Prague. Best regards, Smetana Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax VA

Great location and Responsive Caring Staff

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: Location is great. The front desk staff is superb!
Cons: Anything I say here would be nitpicking -- so nothing!
Location: The Charles bridge is literally around the corner. Ground transportation (Tram 22) to the castle is very convenient to get to.
I don't usually write reviews....but feel I must. On a bit of a whim, my Aunt, sister, and I took a somewhat last minute mini-vacation to celebrate our birthdays. When I made arrangements for a transfer from the airport, I inquired about the room we were booked into (through Expedia). I had booked the hotel specifically because I could confirm the sleeping situation (two king beds) - - I didn't want to be sleeping on a roll away cot! We were originally booked into the Casanova Suite, but I noticed, while spacious, the suite only one King bed. The staff quickly reviewed the situation and moved us to the Letitia Suite--a two bedroom two bath suite that was VERY comfortable and spacious. This was just the first of many gestures that the management/staff made during our stay. The Front Desk personnel were very responsive and accommodating throughout our visit, but when an emergency occurred, they were OUTSTANDING in providing assistance. My sister broke her ankle very badly and they helped us find the hospital she was taken to, make arrangements for a driver to take us to and from a second hospital, found an office chair to act as a transport chair in the middle of the night (when we first returned to the hotel) and found us a wheel chair to use the next day. They were there whenever I needed anything but did not hover or intrude -- a balancing act for sure. I hope they will read this review and truly understand the depth of our appreciation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2017 by Wendy, Hotel Management
Dear Nicole, Thank you very much for your recent stay at Smetana Hotel. Thank you also for your time to share your nice words here on Expedia. I am very happy to hear that your Birthday Celebration stay in our hotel was an enjoyable experience and that the service provided by our team has met all your expectations. I will be very happy to pass your review and all your comments to all of my colleagues. We will be very happy to welcome you back in the future! Should you plan another trip to Prague, please do not hesitate to contact us directly or visit our website for the best deals. I am wishing you Happy New Year! Wendy Guest Relations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Comfortable hotel in great location

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Everything about this hotel is excellent; large, comfortable room, great location, friendly staff, good breakfast. The only problem was that we didn't have any hot water for the first two days. We were told this was because the boiler was old & often didn't work. In fact the hot water arrived on the third day but by then we were fed up with having to take cold showers
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 6, 2017 by Mathieu C , Hotel Management
Dear Jane, thank you so much for your lovely review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the location, the staff and the breakfast. We are taking your feedbacks into consideration regarding the hot water to increase guest's experience. We are looking forward to see you soon at Smetana Hotel for your next trip in Prague. Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Very nice staff, but the building is tired.

Posted Nov 21, 2017
The staff did everything in their power to make sure our stay was enjoyable and it was. They reached out to me the day after I made a reservation to see what I may need (I.e. Transfers). Once at the hotel we were shown our river view room, which was spacious and as advertised. The room, however, had a tremendous foul odor. We reported it and they remedied whatever was causing it. In general the room and its furnishings were tired. They appear not to have been updated in several years. The bed and pillows were awful and the blanket didn't quite fit the bed. The shower was good and the bathroom had a double sink and separate toilet. All nice features. The room held no amenities, not even a bottle of water. It did have an adequately stocked mini bar, so we had to pay for a Perrrier just to take some medication. The hotel is very centrally located and easily served as a home base. Overall the hotel was good, not great, and certainly served our purposes of a clean place to sleep while we enjoy a wonderful city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2017 by mathieu C. , Hotel Management
Dear merritt, thank you so much for your review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the staff, your room and the location. We take your feedbacks into consideration to improve guest's experience inside our hotel. We are looking to forward to see you soon at Smetana Hotel for your next trip in Prague. Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sonoma County, CA

Nice hotel with character and great views

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Location, historic charm, great restaurant.
Cons: Our room could use some minor paint touch-up, and there was a rough caulking repair around the tub fill spout that could be done better. Just minor.
Location: Close to Old Town, shopping, and historic attractions.
We chose this hotel for its historic character and location close to Old Town Prague, and we were not disappointed. It is well renovated inside with modern conveniences but retains much of the charm and feel of its 17th century roots as a palace. Our room was a river view with excellent view of the Charles Bridge and the Prague Castle across the river. The room was spacious and comfortable, and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Easy walking to Old Town square, shopping, and many major attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Mathieu C. , Hotel Management
Dear Doug, thank you for review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay in your river view room. We are looking forward to see you at Smetana Hotel for your next journey in Prague. Best regards.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poorly staffed

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Staff is slow and inefficient. All else with our stay was fine. Rooms are palacial and the have a very nice river veiw, if you choose the rooms located in the front of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Mathieu C. , Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your review. We are taking your for feedback into consideration to improve our guest's experience. Best regards
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Some what disapointing

Posted Oct 13, 2017
The rooms are spacious and beautiful. All else was lacking and disapointing to be honest.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Mathieu C, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you so much for your review. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your room. We take your feedbacks to improve our guest's experience inside our hotel. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Great views of the river and castle complex

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Elegant, charming, and cozy with modern style and classic bones dating to 1628. Impeccably clean hotel. Great views from the two windows. Great staff, friendly, attentive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2017 by Mathieu C, Hotel Management
Dear Jay, thank you so much for your lovely review! It was a pleasure to welcome you as a guest into our hotel. We are waiting you for your next trip in Prague. Best regards.