Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very nice surroundings

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
good food, kind staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient clean and friendly hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
Really good. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. slightly inefficient e.g. beer seemed to be kept in a different location to wine and different to spirits, but a laid back atmosphere where time didn't matter meant it didn't impact. Only bad point of an otherwise great stay for customet service and food (all inclusive offer good rather than a Michelin star type restaurant - the food was great value for what we paid) it was quite noisy at night. We could hear next door having phone conversations at midnight, and probably heard every door on our floor shutting as people went to bed. Otherwise this place is fab and in a great location.
4 out of 5
by Ivan

Great family option

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel, right at the waterfront, just adjacent to a national park. Amazing service!!!! Very attentive staff. All-inclusive is quite a good deal for the money (five meals a day + open bar). Ideal for families with small kids: outdoors pool, children entertainment activities twice a day (two hours each). Hotel beach is some 100 meters away. Decent gym. Good food, with occasional nice surprise. Nice selection of fish. Interesting choice of local liqueurs. Convenience store on site. Pharmacy just a walk away. Free parking provided. Lot of field trip options. Limitations. Rooms are quite basic (okay if you are with kids). There are only two (small) elevators serving the hotel and you should expect to queue for up to 15 mins during peak hours. Indoors pool is just a marketing teaser, so be careful (minors not allowed; admission fee most likely applies, unless explicitly stated otherwise at the time of booking). Popular destination for retirees.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Hotel with family activities

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: Close to the national park and the shoreline; free parking, nice balcony views.
This a a large, bustling hotel in a fairly small town, convenient for mountain activities in Paklenica National Park but with a very different ambience. It seems especially popular with families, who enjoy the large pool area and many organized activities. You can purchase an all-inclusive package that includes all meals (a decent large buffet), free drinks, activities for kids, and discounts on other things. That might be overkill for couples with lower expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poland / UK

Good hotel location, Great staff

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff were absolutely amazing
Cons: Bed mattress are not so comfortable this could be improved
Location: I would recommend this hotel to everyone who is looking for good place to stay as is not far from Zadar, close to Paklenica National Park
We would like to start our review from saying big THANK YOU to such a great people we met. Cleaners, waiters, reception staff was absolutely amazing!!! They did everything that was in their hand to make our stay at Bluesun hotel comfortable. The first night after our arrival was a little nightmare to myself as I’m very light sleeper and every noise would make me awake The bed mattress was so uncomfortable I could feel every spring. First thing in the morning we have requested room change far away from lift and with more comfortable bed. Reception staff did everything to help us to find the best room for us so the other nights were much better. Rooms were cleaned everyday… The food was very good with lots of different choices for breakfast, lunch, dinner… We have used wellness and spa to relax our body. There is pool, Jacuzzi, saunas etc. as there was not many guest in hotel we could enjoy spa facilities even more I would recommend this hotel to everyone who is looking for good place to stay as is not far from Zadar, close to Paklenica National Park The hotel is very busy during summer time therefore I would recommend to go there before pick time unless you don’t mind…
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottingham

Terrible

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Terrible experience. We left after just one night, managing to find an alternative hotel. We paid to stay at this hotel on an all inclusive basis, but this was unfortunately not honoured by the hotel. We were charged for beer and wine on the night of arrival, having been advised that these beverages could not be included because it was 10pm. The next day we went to the restaurant for lunch during the advertised time slot and were met with surprise, confusion, and an empty restaurant. After waiting for the manager to be called, we were offered "fish or beef" (I am vegetarian.) Attempts to acquire any beverage or food during our very short stay were an ordeal - the staff gave reluctant service, making it clear that we were a burden to them. We were informed that the hotel would be closing for the season very shortly, and were told that the normal all-inclusive services were not running. This begs the question of why our all-inclusive booking was accepted. The bed was pretty uncomfortable. The only plus was the beautiful scenery surrounding the hotel. We are still trying to get the refund promised via Expedia, who have also been extremely unhelpful and fail to return the promised call backs. All in all a very disappointing experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good choice for vacation

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
Great location near the beach, good food - buffet breakfast and dinner, friendly staff and very nice wellness (for surcharge). Many supermarkets nearby. We were staying just for one night in late oktober, so the price was really low for what we got. We will come back.
5 out of 5
by Brian from UK

Great value hotel in lovely location

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for 3 nights in early October in room 802, which is an 8th floor corner room with excellent views over both the sea and (partially) the national park, at a great rate on an all-inclusive basis. Very good quality food, with plenty of choice at both breakfast and dinner; packed lunches were also available if booked the previous evening. Very helpful and friendly staff. The hotel is situated between the main road and the sea near a bus stop on the outskirts of Starigrad and conveniently placed for the main entrance to the national park. Can thoroughly recommend.
4 out of 5
by Alenka from Ljubljana

The hotel in which I will come back

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
It was perfect, very kind employees, delicious food, beautifull surroundings. Only a selection of TV programs is very bed. There are mainly German programs.
4 out of 5
by James from Manchester

A good 3 star hotel in Croatia.

Posted Jul 11, 2015 on Hotels
My wife and I traveled around Croatia during a week and stayed in 4 hotels while seeing all the site. We found Hotel Alan a good stop off for the National Parks of Plitvice. The hotel is 3 Star so wasn't expecting anything more. It was exactly that. If your expecting 4/5 star luxury this isn't the hotel for you. But you want a good stop over with pool, beach, games and all inclusive buffet and drinks then I would recommend. Personally there were too many kids for us but that was expected. I would recommend to family's. All in all one of the best 3 stars. To note we stayed in 5 star Le Merdien in Split...and 5 Star Falkensteiner in Zadar so can offer a good comparison. Blue Alan is a very good 3 star!