Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

1.9 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
2.1 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
1.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, AL

Decent place to stay for MSU events.

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: The price was good since I booked the room in June and stayed there in September for the MSU vs LSU football game.
Cons: The outdoor pool was closed. It looked like it was in need of a lot of repairs. its a very old property that could use a lot of TLC!
Location: Convenient to walk to several restaurants and shopping. Close to the MSU campus.
The hotel staff was friendly. The rooms are very old and not well maintained. For what I paid it was a satisfactory place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southaven, MS

MSU College Move In

Posted Aug 18, 2017
All other hotels were booked or charging a car payment to one night's stay, so I had to stay here. Knowing what i was getting into i didnt expect much.But OMG! Stained carpet and bed comforter. No hot water in the shower. It was 100 degress outside so i welcomed the cold shower. The room just felt dirty. I thought something was crawling on me the whole night, even sitting on the chair. I survived and i will not stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

WORSE HOTEL I'VE EVER STAYED. NEED LOT OF TLC

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: NEEDS TO UPDATE EVERYTHING FROM THE FRONT DESK TO THE ROOM
Location: NOTHING
PAID FOR 2 NIGHTS BUT WENT ELSEWHERE TO SLEEP. TOO DIRTY AND UNSAFE
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tn

Roach motel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Location to MS State
Cons: All things
Location: I didn't see much. Was moving my child into college, but when I return wouldn't stay here again
Dead bugs (roaches x 3 and something else) on the floor when I got there; still there the second day after maid service. Inside door handle fell off in hand. For a reserved 2person room....there was ONE bath towel and one towel between hand and bath size (dingy and thin) . Phone didn't work and staff didn't address that when told. Wouldn't consider getting in the pool......looked dirty and cloudy.
1 out of 5
by RICKY

Roach hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
I booked 2 rooms 1 king and 1 double bed. This place was awful! First off the customer service was good but the room was well under living conditions. In the kids room (double beds) there was bed bugs and mold on one bed and on the other bed roachs came poping out when my son jumped on the bed. In the other room I went to put bottled water in the fridge and I found old bacon and oatmeal sitting inside and in the bottom there was old potato salad. In the restroom there appeared to be bowel drippings on the side of the toilet and the plunder as well. After all of this there was NO WAY ME AND MY Family COULD STAY HERE!!! I called hotels.com to tell them what happened and get a refund but they could only offer me half of what I paid and a $30 voucher because they said they could not get a hold to the hotel. My husband went and talked to the guy that checked us in and he got the manager and she agreed to give us a refund she was very understanding and she apologized for our inconvenience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017
Hello, I want to take this opportunity to apologize for the poor service you received during your stay at America's Best Value Inn in Starkville MS. Your hotel experience was not the quality of service America's Best Value Inn stands for. You were promised a clean room and there is no excuse that we failed to provide you with that. The hotel staff strives to provide quality guest service, and we fell short of our goal. Please accept my sincere apologies. Thank you, Nita Patel Manager
3 out of 5
by Steve

graduation weekend

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
The extrerior and the entrances were unfortunate: obvious structural issues were in evidence. The bed was clean and nice (the sheets appeared new); the room was dusty and carpet stained. When booked, it wa "the last room avaiable in Starkvile" and surrounding area
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs improvement

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Not so good. We spotted large cockroaches in the room. Room wasn't at all like the one in the pictures. I tried to make coffee and the coffee maker wouldn't start.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Should have known hotel was lacking as it was the only hotel in Starkville with available rooms.
1 out of 5
by Billie

Brown

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
The service was good room stunk so bad we had to buy Lysol to get rid of smell.