Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
12% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place but watch for the surcharges

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
The setting is great; by the small lake that's great for canoeing, kayaking (provided free) fishing and is safe for swimming. The Inn is 100 years old and has creaks and cracks you'd expect from anyone that old. Our room was cosy but comfy with a good sized bathroom. Food was quite good, service adequate, but what really spoilt the stay for us was they added 15% tip onto everything, absolutely everything, so what we thought was a good value wasn't really. We'll not be back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Inhospitable-

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: The lake
Cons: Everything
Location: We were there to drop our daughter at camp.
This is our second time here. We came back because the owner was kind of nice and there arent many choices on camp visiting days- The room we were given was really the worst place we have ever stayed in. Words cannot describe this place. We barely slept I don't even think this place is legal,there are more code violations here, should anybody bother to inspect it. The room was dusty, moldy and my husband killed a tick. They called it a two bedroom .... I won't even bother describing the actual room. I honestly don't like to leave bad reviews, but I feel I owe it to other people. the owner is pleasant, but she has got to invest if she wants to stay in business. Honestly, the worst part of it all is that it is sold as some sort of decent accommodation and the rooms can go for 200 plus a night! Never again!!!
5 out of 5
by Christine

We love Starlite

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Good energy, nice people and quite different from other hotels. Didn't have the time to enjoy the other things the hotel offered because we were out from early morning until late night.
3 out of 5
by Ruth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In a word -- AWFUL

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Scenery, location
Cons: Virtually everything inside the hotel. Better yet, just knock it down and start again.
I don't generally write negative reviews. If I (or we) don't like a place, the lack of good reviews ought to be enough to steer people clear. I feel I have to make an exception in this case because the room cost SO much ($213 total) and the quality was SO poor, that I feel it's important to set a marker, warning people about what they can expect. We typically travel to this corner of the world during the summer, around visiting day at camp. Due to two night minimums at local inns we almost invariably end up staying an hour away, in Scranton, where decent and clean accommodation can be had with a single night's booking. As we were coming early in the season, however, we were pleased to be able to book a single night at this inn, which we'd heard about several times in years past. (And it's only a couple of miles to camp, which is incredibly helpful to us.) The booking was made through Expedia. We arrived and were very pleased with the setting. The Inn is located on a very pretty lake and you park facing the dock and lake. We grabbed our bag and headed up to the lobby. No one was at the desk, and after several minutes someone else in the lobby (a guest we think?) said, "let me go see if someone's around." That someone was, presumably, the hotel manager and/or owner, who didn't appear all that eager to see guests arriving. She was rather terse when looking for our reservation and, when I asked whether the hotel had WiFi, she replied, "Yes." and that was it. After a pregnant pa
5 out of 5
by Lynn from Lubbock Texas

Fall Foliage Road Trip

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels
The pictures of the lake is what sold me on this place and the view didn't disappoint. The order off the menu breakfast was great and the rustic lobby was really nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Markku

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Good From Far, Far From Good

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The complementary breakfast was good
Cons: Reduce the price, advertise honestly and improve the facilities
Location: I visit this area four to five times a year to fly fish and would recommend looking past this as a place to stay
I booked this Inn and from the images published on Expedia thought I had booked a nice room. When I arrived the room I was given looked nothing at all like the "Cottage Room" I had booked online. The building was in poor condition with buckling wall paneling, broken light fixtures, windows that had rags and towels tucked around them to block drafts and a shower that a six foot person couldn't stand straight in. It got better! In the morning there was no hot water to shower in. I found that two of the beds in the "Sleeping Alcoves" were actually children's beds stuffed into the dormers. Even a four foot child would have a hard time standing in the "Alcoves". The door to the private patio was like something from "Alice in Wonderland", I could barely stoop enough to use the door. There was no phone, internet, hot water and obviously nothing done to "improve" the room in decades. This was the worst room I have ever booked and feel completely ripped off at $130 per night. If there were a cancellation option I would have used it. I can not recommend this Inn and would have been more comfortable sleeping in a tent. A terrible place .....
3 out of 5
by Greg from Syracuse

Nice lake and surrounding area, but rooms are so so

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels
Our stay was nice overall,but the room we stayed in (a separate building apart from main hotel) left much to be desired as it was in need of some updating. However, the main hotel building, Starlight lake and the area was quite pleasant and we took the opportunity to grab one of the canoes available for use and had a nice time paddling around the lake w our dog. We also had fun at the ping pong table in main hotel. Service at the hotel seemed spotty as the owner and wait staff seemed generally disinterested in our being guests there. Our stay did include a decent breakfast. Decent place but for our experience, likely wouldn't go back for another visit. Ps owner was nice enough to mail back some shoes we left in the room...