Ratings based on 731 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great staff

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Room was very clean, breakfast was fresh and refilled frequently.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Vicky Barton- Sales and Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. We are thrilled to see you had an enjoyable stay and hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Very Enjoyable

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Clean and nice stay. Comfortable like home. Enjoyed jacuzzi and heated pool. Delicious free hot breakfast with much to choose from.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Vicky Barton- Sales and Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that you choose us as your home away from home. I'm glad to hear you got to enjoy the jacuzzi and pool as well as our complimentary breakfast. Happy Travels, and we hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Great stay. Friendly staff and great breakfast selection. I would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Vicky Barton- Sales and Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, our friendly staff, and the complimentary breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Friendly staff and good breakfast

Posted Nov 26, 2017
This hotel is convenient to Penn State and was very reasonable. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well furnished but unfortunately the bed was very hard and uncomfortable. I requested an extra blanket and housekeeping left a twin size blanket for a king size bed which was inadequate. There is no exhaust fan or heat source in the bathroom nor a stopper in the sink so my husband had to adjust his shaving routine because he couldn’t fill the sink with hot water. The breakfast buffet was very nice and well presented with lots of choices. Overall a decent place to stay except for the uncomfortable bed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Vicky Barton- Sales and Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. Our apologies that you found the bed to be uncomfortable, and that housekeeping did not bring the appropriate sized blanket upon your request for another blanket. As we have an abundance of spare blankets, I believe it was just a mistake and they grabbed the wrong size. As far as the bathroom sink all of our rooms should have stoppers so I will be sure to fill out a work order for maintenance to look at the room you were in. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and we do hope you will consider giving us another try in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

State college, Near Barnes & Noble

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: The room was fine.
Cons: The service.
Location: State College has a lot of student-life type things to do. I was there for work.
When I was trying to take my luggage into the hotel, they were power-washing in front of the entrance. This was around 3:30pm. I had to stand there and wait until they decided they were done. It was unprofessional. My room was on the 4th floor on the patio side. There were men outside the hotel on the patio until 2am, yelling and having a good time. They even decided to have their car door opened to play music. I complained, but nothing was done. The next morning, these men were in the elevator with me and started harassing me. I mentioned it to the woman at the desk, but she just kind of laughed it off. I didn't expect anything to be done since nothing was done the night before, but I wish the experience would have been better. The room was fine and i am sure that the bad things that happened to me while there were just flukes, but I probably won't stay here again, with there being so many options in the State College area, I have several other options.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Vicky Barton- Sales and Service Manager, Hotel Management
On behalf of the entire staff I would like to apologize for the situations that occurred during your stay. Our staff should of recognized your trying to arrive at the hotel with your luggage and should of stopped power washing. Our staff also should of addressed any noise complaints and definitely the harassment complaint. I do assure you that they did later mention these situations to management and these guests are no longer allowed at our hotel. Numerous noise complaints, and dis respect towards our guests and our female staff members led to managements decision to ask them to leave and not return since they were unwilling act appropriately. I do hope you will be willing to reconsider and give our hotel another try in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could use some improvement.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: location The lady at the reception desk on Friday evening was very nice and made checking in a pleasant experience.
Cons: carpet in room was stained and the room smelled moldy.
Location: 15 minutes from Penn State
woman overseeing breakfast on the weekend was not pleasant. asked for fresh towels on our way out on Saturday and gave room number to the lady at the reception desk and she said she'll take care of it, and she didn't.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2017 by Vicky Barton- Sales and Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. We are sorry we did not meet all of your expectations. I will be sure to speak to the staff about making sure we write things down and follow through with guest requests. We do apologize about the stained carpet, I'll be sure to let housekeeping know so that it can be put on our list to next have the carpets thoroughly cleaned. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. Happy Travels!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

Very clean and quiet

Posted Oct 10, 2017
My room was nice and I had a great nights sleep. Staff were very friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Vicky Barton- Sales and Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. We are thrilled to see you had a great stay and enjoyed our friendly staff. We hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Nice and clean

Posted Oct 7, 2017
We only stayed one night, but the room was in excellent shape, very clean, and spacious. We would choose a BW Plus again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by Vicky Barton- Sales and Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. We are so glad to hear you had a great stay and hope to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Great stay. Clean, quiet, good location, nice staff, quick check-in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2017 by Vicky Barton- Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. We are thrilled to see it was an enjoyable one and hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

A Mixed Impression

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: The staff was very helpful and found us a great place for dinner. The morning breakfast was delicious and we were pleased that everything was homemad
Cons: Attention to mattresses and pillows.
Location: Pens Cave and gem mining
We liked the room and loved the staff who were very helpful; however, the pillows and mattresses in the room left much to be desired. While every room probably is not so needy of update and attention, it left us somewhat disappointed. I must say that the complimentary breakfast was tops.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2017 by Vicky Barton- Guest Service Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay with us. We are glad to see you had an enjoyable stay and had a good experience with our staff and enjoyed our complimentary breakfast. We are sorry to hear the bed and pillows did not meet your expectations. We are currently working on replacing our pillows and have been checking rooms to determine our need on replacing mattresses in the near future.