Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Only reason for a 4 on the facilities is because I had to upgrade to a suite just to get a fridge and microwave. Other than that everything was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2018 by Rebecca M, Hotel Management
Thank you Kevin for your honest review. We are working with ownership on getting those amenities in all guestrooms. We look forward to your next visit here at the Carnegie!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh, pa

Cuteness overload

Posted Apr 3, 2018
So perfect. The staff was amazing. Room was beautiful and clean. Cookies and water in a goodie bag on arrival. The sweet student working the front desk while we were there was so kind and helpful. Was there to visit the college but would go back any time to hang out and utilize the beautiful club house and pool, and spa. Just wonderful! Fantastic breakfast as well!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2018 by Rebecca M, Hotel Management
Thank you Becca for leaving such a wonderful review of your time here at the Carnegie! Our entire staff certainly looks forward to your next visit with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wi

Posted Mar 27, 2018
Beautiful hotel and the staff was friendly and extremely helpful. On all my trips to State College I will be staying at Carnegie Inn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2018 by Rebecca M, Hotel Management
Thank you Lori for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay here at the Carnegie. I am so glad to hear that you will choose us on all your visits to Happy Valley! I will pass this review along to my staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ithaca, NY

we were treated like queens

Posted Mar 26, 2018
I will recommend this place over and over, and will definitely be returning again. We were in town for the night to see a concert and this place made our girls night top notch! The staff were so friendly and welcoming and made us feel like royalty. The Inn is beautiful and so cozy and comfortable. We are already planning another girls weekend here so we can enjoy the spa! They go above and beyond and made our trip so much more fun than it already was!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2018 by Rebecca M, Hotel Management
My staff and I are so happy that you and your friend had such a wonderful stay here at the Carnegie for your concert getaway. We pride ourselves on our property and our service, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to your next visit!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Albany, OH

Visit to Penn State Campus

Posted Mar 6, 2018
Pros: When you stay here not far from the main campus, you can opt for dinner and a splendid menu. I have never seen menus that are backlit like a tablet.
Cons: Only thing missing was one of those multiplug outlets on the writing desk. The front desk that was a good suggestion for businss people traveling.
Location: Ther eis a Spa and Golf course associated with this location
I was really tired of staying one night at State College, PA, in a chain motel and searching for a quiet spot for dinner Somehow I located this jewel of a lodge and restaurant combined. on the inter net . Only twenty rooms but on the par of the Williamsburg Inn and The Jefferson in Richmond. Obviously late February is "Off Season" but the staff was there and I was treated very kindly I liked my room as it was like home with Oriental rug under the butler's table, and a long cushioned window seat with elegant draw down shades.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2018 by Rebecca M, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review David. We appreciate the feedback, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Our staff takes pride in our property and the services we provide. Again, thank you for the suggestion to add another multi-plug outlet to the desk, in addition to the bedside table. We are looking forward to your next visit to Happy Valley, and Penn State's campus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great retreat

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Pros: Everything
Very nice Clean and quiet Excellent food drinks and service Really relaxing atmosphere Informative staff Returned after check out for spa treatment Would recommend to anyone looking for a chance to unwind and be carefree We plan on returning in the future to partake again of all the amenities View from dining area was awesome
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2018 by Rebecca M, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Carnegie Inn. What a wonderful picture you have painted for future guests. Our staff takes pride in our service, and our property amenities, and are so glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We look forward to your next visit with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel to stay in for the holidays.

Posted Dec 29, 2017
We really enjoyed the decorations, the atmosphere, the fireplaces, and dining areas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for the Carnegie! Our staff has a wonderful time decorating for the holidays, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
5 out of 5
by Ed

Very Cozy

Posted Oct 12, 2017 on Hotels
We were in town for a funeral, so we only stayed there for one night. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. Very cozy place. It felt like a B&B.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017
I am sorry for the reason you were in town Ed, but I am glad you were able to relax and be comfortable while here at the Carnegie. We hope to see you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Personalized experience

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Small inn feel with personal touch. Breakfast every morning. A glass of wine at night in the beautiful lounge area and great walks and views of the golf course. I will continue to stay here on my visits to State College
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Rina for taking the time to post such a vivid portrait of a stay here at the Carnegie! Our staff is so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next visit with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lovely Inn

Posted Oct 4, 2017
This is the loveliest inn in which my husband and I have ever stayed. So lovely we wished we could have stayed another day. The staff are friendly and courteous, the lounging areas are beautiful and the food was excellent. The room was beautifully furnished, comfortable and quiet. I would recommend a stay if you are ever in State College, PA.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you MB for such a wonderful review! Our staff takes pride in their service, and in the amenities that we provide. We are so glad that enjoyed your stay at the Carnegie, and we hope to see you back again soon.