Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great retreat

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Pros: Everything
Very nice Clean and quiet Excellent food drinks and service Really relaxing atmosphere Informative staff Returned after check out for spa treatment Would recommend to anyone looking for a chance to unwind and be carefree We plan on returning in the future to partake again of all the amenities View from dining area was awesome
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2018 by Rebecca M, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Carnegie Inn. What a wonderful picture you have painted for future guests. Our staff takes pride in our service, and our property amenities, and are so glad you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We look forward to your next visit with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel to stay in for the holidays.

Posted Dec 29, 2017
We really enjoyed the decorations, the atmosphere, the fireplaces, and dining areas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for the Carnegie! Our staff has a wonderful time decorating for the holidays, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.
5 out of 5
by Ed

Very Cozy

Posted Oct 12, 2017 on Hotels
We were in town for a funeral, so we only stayed there for one night. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. Very cozy place. It felt like a B&B.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017
I am sorry for the reason you were in town Ed, but I am glad you were able to relax and be comfortable while here at the Carnegie. We hope to see you back again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Personalized experience

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Small inn feel with personal touch. Breakfast every morning. A glass of wine at night in the beautiful lounge area and great walks and views of the golf course. I will continue to stay here on my visits to State College
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Rina for taking the time to post such a vivid portrait of a stay here at the Carnegie! Our staff is so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next visit with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A lovely Inn

Posted Oct 4, 2017
This is the loveliest inn in which my husband and I have ever stayed. So lovely we wished we could have stayed another day. The staff are friendly and courteous, the lounging areas are beautiful and the food was excellent. The room was beautifully furnished, comfortable and quiet. I would recommend a stay if you are ever in State College, PA.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you MB for such a wonderful review! Our staff takes pride in their service, and in the amenities that we provide. We are so glad that enjoyed your stay at the Carnegie, and we hope to see you back again soon.
5 out of 5
by Thomas

Posted Sep 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017
Thank you Thomas! We hope to see you back again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Hotel

Posted Sep 8, 2017
We arrived later at night but the front desk clerk was extremely friendly, gave us a tour of the hotel and showed us to our room personally. Because it was a football weekend we also got cookies and a free tote bag from the hotel. It was a pleasant unexpected surprise. The hotel also has a bar that is open until 2am. It was very small but a wonderful place to get a nice nightcap. The room was lovely and clean. They also stocked the bathroom with toothpaste, mouthwash and an extra toothbrush (which was amazing since I had forgotten mine). The most unexpected surprise was that breakfast was included in our stay. The dining room was immaculate and we got to order off a menu (not just a general boring continental style buffet like most places offer. BTW, I had the quiche and I highly suggest it!) All in all, I wish we had stayed for more than just one night!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Rebecca M, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a thorough review! Your experience is the perfect example of how each guest is supposed to feel here at the Carnegie. Our staff prides themselves in personalized service and going above and beyond for our guests. I am glad you enjoyed the football gift and the amenities we put in our guestrooms. I will pass along your praises about breakfast. We hope to see you back again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017
Thank you for your review! We look forward to hosting you next time you are visiting Happy Valley! Rebecca Muller General Manager
5 out of 5
by Maura

Great, comfortable room. Wonderful staff.

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful restaurant. Very pretty grounds. Large room. Colonial décor is not my thing, but very comfortable room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017
Thank you Maura for taking time to leave a review! Our staff takes pride in our entire property - from our guest services, the property grounds, to the fine dining, to your individual guestrooms. We hope to see you back again soon!
5 out of 5
by Robert a.

Nice escape

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017
Thank you Robert! We appreciate the kind words. My staff and I look forward to hosting you again soon! Rebecca Muller General Manager