Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very quiet setting

Posted Feb 1, 2017
A hidden gem. Hotel was really nice, tucked into a beautiful setting. Would stay there again when returning to the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really enjoyed our recent stay here!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
It is quaint and as many other reviews have stated, and felt more like a bed and breakfast. I had the opportunity to have a massage at the spa and we had an excellent meal at their restaurant. We had a bit of a mix up with our reservations due to a private party taking place. The staff went above and beyond to accomodate us...actually setting us up in a private room for dinner. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The bathroom had a large soaking tub and separate shower with great products. A nice surprise was that breakfast was included and was made to order in the dining area. Overall, we would definitely return for another stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by D, Hotel Management
We thank you for your review and are so glad that you were able to experience all of the wonderful and satisfying amenities that are available such as the spa, dining and of course the cooked to order breakfast. Hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cambridge, UK

Great hotel for the S.C. area

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Nice people and food. Nice room size and a large bathroom with bath and separate shower
Cons: The heating units in the room are a bit loud. But everything is warm enough you can happily turn them off.
Location: The local area is lovely for walking and cycling. Lots of nice forest area. You do need to drive / use a taxi to get to the very close shopping areas
This was my first time staying at the Carnegie Inn and I was thoroughly pleased with it. It has plenty of lounging areas outside your room, large rooms, great staff and good food. There are some good shopping areas near by and the surrounding area is great for walking including a foot path through the forest area closer to the highway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2016 by Don, Hotel Management
We apologize for the noisy heater in the room. We have looked at since your visit and corrected. We hope that you will once again choose the Carnegie Inn and Spa when you return to State College.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hospitality

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Dining was superb.
Location: Very convenient to al PSU venues.
Not only is the property lovely, the staff and cuisine are wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Staff was attentive and the common areas were relaxing and comfortable. The breakfast was upscale, relaxing and delicious.
Cons: The room was a bit musty, however, it was clean.
We stayed at this property for a local wedding and were pleased with the staff and comfort of the hotel. The hotel is well maintained and the staff is courteous and helpful. Would like to stay again when I have the time to enjoy the on-site spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, comfortable hotel close to Penn State

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: comfortable, clean, modern, huge bathroom
One night stay while visiting Penn State. Wonderful service, clean rooms, good breakfast, reasonably priced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2016 by Don, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and comments. We hope that in the future you will choose the Carnegie Inn when in the area. Hope to see you soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Audubon, PA

Even better than expected!!

Posted Mar 1, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness, comfort, cozy
Location: Very close to Penn State University, just a short drive away to town and campus.
We were celebrating my significant others 40th birthday. We were a little nervous prior to arriving due to pricing of our room on Expedia from the price the hotel was offering. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we couldn't have asked for a better experience. Hotel staff was very accommodating. Everyone was very friendly, willing to do whatever we needed to make it a remarkable get away. A week before coming to the hotel we tried to make reservations at the hotel restaurant and found out that it was booked for a private party. A few days later the hotel manager called to say that the private party canceled and we could enjoy dinner in the comfort of our hotel. Food was amazing and ambiance was perfect! Overall everything was perfect and we made memories enjoying State College!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2016 by Don, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We hope that you will choose the Carnegie Inn and Spa when returning to State College. If there is any way we can assist please contact us directly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from fairfax, va

Wonderful bed and breakfast

Posted Feb 28, 2016
Pros: Service and location were wonderful.
Can't wait to return to this wonderful place. The service was exceptional, bedrooms lovely, giant soaking tub and shower in room, great restaurant and made to order breakfast in the morning.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2016 by Don, Hotel Management
Our breakfast service is one of the unique features of this property. Our guests love it and we enjoy preparing. Hope to see you when you return to State College.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2016
Very nice and quaint setting. Rooms were large and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2016 by don, Hotel Management
Please consider the Carnegie Inn and Spa when you return to State College. With our luxurious accommodations, fitness center, pool, spa and golf we provide something for everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Wonderful stay, very nice. Staff was terrific and the seasonal decorations added a very nice touch.